Review: Kriss: The Gift of Wrath by Ted Naifeh (Author) & Warren Wucinich (Illustrations)

Friday, September 13, 2019


Title: Kriss: The Gift of Wrath  

Series: The Gift of Wrath, #1

Author: Ted Naifeh (Author) & Warren Wucinich (Illustrations)

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Graphic Novel

Publication Date: September 17th, 2019 by Oni Press

Format: e-arc

Source: I received this book through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review


Rating:







For fans of The Graveyard Book and Through the Woods comes a different kind of YA fantasy graphic novel, in which a teen boy's search for his destiny leads him into darkness. 

Lean, ghostly pale, and permanently grim-faced, Kriss has always been an outsider in his small village. Not even his adoptive parents love him. Only Anja, the blacksmith's daughter, brings kindness and friendship into the life of the sullen teenager. But Kriss is haunted by dim memories of his true father, Erikk Iron Tooth, the king of Darkovia. When Anja's mother is killed by a wild sabercat from the far north, the young girl's world is shattered, and Kriss determines to avenge her. Armed with only a pitchfork, the skinny teen sets out to kill the beast, only to learn that it's actually a dark spirit from Darkovia, come to bring him his destiny. The spirit grants Kriss the power to vanquish the mightiest foes, and commands him to reclaim his father's kingdom. But his gift of power comes with a price — uncontrollable rage. And leaving the village would mean leaving Anja, the only person who's always been there for him. Kriss must choose between his destiny and Anja, who needs his friendship more than ever. But his growing power, and the fiery anger that comes with it, threatens to make the choice for him, and burn everything he holds dear.






*** I received this book through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review, thank you so much to NetGalley and  Oni Press for the opportunity to read and review  Kriss: The Gift of Wrath! ***

 If you don't know me by now you know that I love any type of fantasy genre. When I was scrolling through NetGalley I saw this graphic novel was YA, Fantasy and a Graphic Novel I just had to check it out. And I am so glad and happy that I got the opportunity to read and review this amazing graphic novel that I absolutely and thoroughly loved and enjoyed so much. Now I am only going to gush about how much and what I love and enjoy about this graphic novel. I know some readers didn't love Kriss: The Gift of Wrath and that's ok I just think if you love graphic novels you should try giving this book a try. I don't want to go into any details about it because spoiler but I will say they are some brutal and some gore images in this graphic novel. Kriss: The Gift of Wrath gets more and darker the more you read into this book and I just love dark fantasy graphic novels like that too.  The artwork match's perfect for the plotline and aspects of this book and all the characters are amazingly well done and well rounded too. I just couldn't get enough reading about each character yes especially the villains as well in Kriss: The Gift of Wrath. I especially couldn't get enough reading about Kriss who has always felt like an outsider in his small village that he was raised in, but I loved to see and read him grow up in this graphic novel since he was a kid until he was a grown teenager. Kriss has his ups and downs when he was a kid and he was mistreated by his adopted parents but he always had a kind heart especially he was really kind and very loyal to his best friend Anja. When Kriss finds out he has growing power, and the fiery anger that comes with it within him he wants to leave the small village and find out about his true identity and where he truly comes from. But Kriss doesn't want to leave his best friend Anja behind but one day a terrible incident happened for Kriss in the worst way possible that he had to leave the small village that he was raised in for good. Kriss is going to find out the whole truth about what happened to his true family especially his true birth father Erikk Iron Tooth, the king of Darkovia. I know this book is like other fantasy graphic novels but I don't mind reading fantasy graphic novels like Kriss: The Gift of Wrath I quite loved and enjoyed them a lot I just can't get enough of reading fantasy graphic novels like this one. The writing style flowed well and I understood everything in  Kriss: The Gift of Wrath. I am most definitely going to continue reading on this series when the next books come out but it is going to be pure torture wait for the next book to come out though. All and all Kriss: The Gift of Wrath was an amazingly fantastic graphic novel for me that I can't wait to continue and read more in this series!












Ted Naifeh (Author)


Ted Naifeh is an American comic book writer and artist who gained notoriety for his illustrations in the goth romance comic Gloomcookie. Naifeh has since become most known as the creator of the Eisner-Award-nominated series Courtney Crumrin, published by Oni Press.

10 comments:

  1. Great review, I'm not familiar with the book and I have only ever read one graphic novel.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you and thank you so much for stopping by my book blog.

      Delete
  2. Replies
    1. Thank you and thank you so much for stopping by my blog my friend.

      Delete
  3. Replies
    1. Thank you and thank you so much for stopping by my blog my friend.

      Delete
  4. Replies
    1. Thank you and thank you so much for stopping by my blog my friend.

      Delete
  5. I love fantasy. I should try some graphic novels. This sounds great.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you it really was a great graphic novel and thank you so much for stopping by my blog my friend.

      Delete