Team Kids!

Friday, June 12, 2020



Hello, Everybody, my name is Katiria I've always wanted to do a fundraiser for the less privileged  kids who live on the streets in the state of Florida. I have visited Florida a couple of times when I visit my family members there. I have seen less privileged kids who are struggling on the streets always break my heart whenever I see kids struggle and trying to buy food for themselves and their families. I always give them some money but I always wanted to do something more for them when I leave them but I never got the courage to make a fundraiser for the less privileged kids in Florida. But now with what everything is going on this year with Covid19 the less privileged kids and their families need our help and support more than ever, so I finally got the courage to make a fundraiser on Go Fund Me for them this year.


Your donations would be used to buy food, clothes, shoes, sandal's and books for the less privileged kids and their families on what they need the most. I would like to raise $1000.00 in two weeks but I would greatly appreciate any donations by the end of two weeks. Your support and donations would mean a lot to me because it will encourage me to help more the less privileged kids and their families in the future. I would be eternally grateful for your help and donations in any way you can help.

Take Care, Stay Safe and God Bless!







Read more »

Blog Tour, Review & Giveaway: Camp Kindle by L. C. Rosen

Saturday, May 23, 2020





Title: Camp

Series: Stand-Alone

Author: L. C. Rosen

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, LGBT, Queer

Publication Date: May 26, 2020 by  Little, Brown Books for Young Readers 

Format: E-arc

Source: I received this book by FFBC Blog Tour in exchange for an honest review.


Rating: 















From the author of the acclaimed Jack of Hearts (and other parts) comes a  sweet and sharp screwball comedy that critiques the culture of toxic  masculinity within the queer community. Sixteen - year - old Randy Kapplehoff loves spending the summer at Camp Outland, a  camp for queer teens. It's where he met his best friends. It's where he takes to the  stage in the big musical. And it's where he fell for Hudson Aaronson - Lim  - who's  only into straight - acting guys and barely knows not - at - all - straight - acting Randy  even exists. This year, though, it's going to be different. Randy has reinvented himself as 'Del'  - buff, masculine, and on the market. Even if it means giving up show tunes, nail  polish, and his unicorn bedsheets, he's determined to get Hudson to fall for him. But as he and Hudson grow closer, Randy has to ask himself how much is he willing  to change for love. And is it really love anyway, if Hudson doesn't know who he  truly is?








*** I received this book by FFBC Blog Tour in exchange for an honest review, thank you to FFBC Blog Tour and Little, Brown and Company Publisher for allowing me to read and review Camp! ***


Wow-what can I say about Camp it was an amazing and fantastic book that I thoroughly loved and enjoy reading. Camp had everything that I so love reading in queer books. I loved everything about this amazing book the plotline and concept are fantastic and I think it does show what the  LGBTQIA community is struggling with today's world. The writing style was flawless and very descriptive that I so pictured everything in my mind. I so loved all the diverse main characters and especially all the side characters that their personalities shine so deep and uniquely them through the pages that I couldn't get enough reading about them and their relationships and friendships they all had together. I just could not put this book down. this is the first book that I read by L.C. Rosen and it won't be the last book that I will read by L. C. Rosen. I won't go into details about Camp because I think readers need to read this book and see what they think about it. All and all I loved and enjoyed Camp so much that I will continue reading more books by L.C. Rosen.



















Giveaway

Prize: Win (1) of (2) copies of CAMP by Lev A. C. Rosen (US Only)Starts: May 20th2020Ends: June 3rd2020







Lev A.C. Rosen (Author)




Lev Rosen is the author of books for all ages. Two for adults: All Men of Genius  (Amazon Best of the Month, Audie Award Finalist) and Depth (Amazon Best of the  Year, Shamus Award Finalist, Kirkus Best Science Fiction for April). Two middle - grade books: Woundabout (illustrated by his brother, Ellis Rosen), and The Memory  Wall. His first Young Adult Novel, Jack of Hearts (and other parts) was an American  Library Association Rainbow List Top 10 of 20 18. His books have been sold around  the world and translated into different languages as well as being featured on many  best of the year lists, and nominated for awards. Lev is originally from lower Manhattan and now lives in even lower Manhattan,  right  at the edge, with his husband and very small cat. You can find him online at  LevACRosen.com and @LevACRosen


Read more »

Life Update & Blog Break!

Friday, April 24, 2020



Hello, my lovely friends as the title say this is a life update and I am also taking a blog break. I can't tell you right now when I am coming back to blogging again, but I am hoping to be back by the end of the summertime if I can. Right now my health and my life are my priorities so, unfortunately, reading books has to take a back seat for a moment but I will read and review books for blog tours that I am still on for May and June. Now the beginning of this month has been very emotional for me in every way, there's is a lot that is going on with me in my health and my life right now I won't go into any of the details now. But what I can tell you that my faith and my Heavenly Father Jesus Christ & my Ever Blessed Mother Virgin Mary has opened my eyes completely to them and I gave them finally my full trust and confidence in them. I always love them but I never really gave them my full trust and confidence in them. But my faith and the supports of my close friends and family members I can tell you I left all my worries, anxieties, mental illness and complete health and my life in their pure ever blessed hands because I know they are always with me wherever I go and now I can truly say that I completely love, confide and trust them with everything within me because they have blessed me so many times and they continue blessing me in every way. And I  am truly thankful and very grateful for my Heavenly Father Jesus Christ and My Blessed Ever Virgin Mary for blessing me and for everything they do for me everyday.  Now don't worry my friends I will be back hopefully by the end of the summer but I will be much stronger than ever when I do come back. Much blessing and love to all. Take Care and Stay Safe my friends!



Read more »

Book Blitz & Giveaway: The Crystal War (Fragments, #2) by Tracy Auerbach

Thursday, April 16, 2020


The Crystal War
Tracy Auerbach
(Fragments #2)
Published by: Parliament House
Publication date: April 14th 2020
Genres: Adult, Urban Fantasy
The line between human and monster is not as clear cut as they once thought.
In the weeks since her escape from the hell of the Eastern Fortress, things have grown more complicated for Kai. She cast her lot with her brother’s self-absorbed boyfriend, who controls the Western Army, but she’s been separated from Finn, the soldier who found a place in her heart.
Finn has defaulted to his signature move: he’s run away; afraid of himself, his new feelings for Kai, and all the terrible truths he’s learned.
Tessa is free in the world for the first time, a force to be reckoned with. She’s gone to the far west and the Dome of Artifacts to seek revenge on the system that ruined her life.
The type ‘A’ soldier who was once a friendly boy named Charlie has been restored to factory settings, a weapon for Aric to use.
The Science Council has unleashed new crystal compounds, more toxic and destructive than anything the world has seen. As Kai and her friends struggle with everything that’s been done to them, they will have to find a way to unite and prepare for the fight of their lives.
CHAPTER ONE:
Bill’s boots gouged through the sand as he was dragged from the vehicle that had stolen him from the safety of his camp; the hands gripping his biceps were huge and rough. A black scarf had been wrapped over his head, covering his eyes, and a gag stuffed in his mouth.
The toes of his leather boots bumped up then down as the sand’s softness was replaced by cement underfoot. The footsteps of those who dragged him echoed and it registered; he’d been taken indoors.
Hands repositioned themselves on his arms as he was slammed backward onto a cold metal table. Struggling, he tried to yell, but no sound got past the gag. Restraints, large and cold, closed over his wrists and ankles. He bucked and kicked before feather-gentle fingers touched his temples, a sensation vastly different from the rough grip that had previously held him.
The scarf over his eyes was lifted away to reveal slender fingers. He blinked in the harsh light, waiting for his blurry vision to focus. When it did, his heart sunk, and he froze. Struggling had been futile. The woman above him was the rumored head of the New Resistance.
Bill stared into the strange, amber eyes of the woman he had heard about. Over the past few months, whispers had traveled throughout the west; rumors of her beauty and cruelty, and above all, her power: his small army of Resistance fighters had been preparing for her imminent attack.
Everything he had heard about her magnificence was true; golden eyes that sat in a perfectly structured face; tan and well-defined, but not too sharp to be feminine. White-blonde hair stood in spikes over her arched brows. Gunmetal-gray hoops in her ears reflected the light of a small crystal fragment set into a dome lamp over the table. She was dressed head to toe in utilitarian black tactical clothing, but he could still tell that her body was a work of art. He couldn’t guess her height; she seemed tall, with beautifully defined curves and a tiny waist.
“Stop staring, prisoner,” she whispered in a melodic voice. “Looking upon me can’t save you.”
Bill was in a lab, but he couldn’t see much. The halo of light from the single crystal above was dim and focused, but beyond the table he where he lay, details quickly melted into shadows. He could barely make out the hulking shapes of the men who had dragged him from his guard post; only the beautiful, terrible woman was clear. He tried to speak, but his lips fought uselessly against the fabric still in his mouth.
“Do you wish to say something?” asked the woman.
He nodded, and she removed the binding from between his dry lips—he licked them before speaking. “I’ve heard of you,” said Bill, awed. “These past couple of months, everything’s changed.”
“It has. I am changing things. And this is just the beginning.”
“Are you going to make me into one of your slaves?”
“I must have your absolute loyalty. I’ll accept nothing less.”
Bill swallowed, feeling ill with the certainty that he wasn’t going to get out of this, and he saw her smile, as if she knew exactly what he was thinking.
“Why me?”
“Why not?” She blinked momentarily releasing him from the power behind her eyes. “You’re a good soldier; I’ve done my research. You’re exactly what I’m looking for right now. You will come and work for me, just as they have.” She made a sweeping gesture toward the men around them.
“Forgive me, Miss…”
“Raven.”
“Forgive me, Miss Raven, but what makes you think you can you ensure my loyalty?”
“It’s just Raven,” she corrected, her expression unchanging. “And the answer is simple. It’s all about consumption.”
“Consumption?”
“Yes. Everyone is a consumer. Press the right button, and anyone’s loyalty can be controlled. Even yours, soldier.”
“My name is…”
“Not important,” she cut him off.
Bill sighed. He’d had more than enough of being controlled; given over from his foster home to the Eastern Forces, trained to mine for crystals, months of being a type ‘B’ soldier on blue compound, only to be stolen in a raid by the Resistance, and retrained as a guard, led to believe that he was at last working for a higher cause. And now this.
Raven gestured to the soldiers standing in shadow, and Bill craned his neck to try and see what was happening, only to close his eyes, feeling his stomach drop when one of the men approached, holding up a faintly glowing blue syringe.
So, more of the same, then.
“What’s his poison?” asked the man with the syringe.
“Primarily stimulants,” instructed Raven. “Food as a secondary, pre-established reinforcer.”
The man leaned closer, and Bill saw by the light of the glowing crystal fragment that he was young, with a healing but grisly-looking scab that ran the length of his left cheek, ending near his eye.
Bill jerked in his restraints, even though he knew it was futile, and gritted his teeth as the needle pierced the skin of his upper arm. The fire of the compound made its way through his blood, causing him to sigh in relief. It still felt good, every time, even after being off it for months now. It had only taken him a few weeks back at the Eastern Fortress to become addicted to the compound itself, and months for the Resistance to detox him.
Heart racing, his stimulant craving spiked. He refused to beg until the Raven girl held a small vial of pungent-smelling coffee under his nose—then he screamed with want. The compound created an itch that the right thing could scratch, and it felt so good.
“Would you like this?” she asked in a silky, taunting voice.
“Yes,” he whimpered.
“Open up, then.”
Bill opened his mouth, sick with anticipation of the bitter cordial that would bring relief to his burning blood. Every pump of his heart demanded it. He greedily swallowed the wetness on his tongue, but it didn’t taste like coffee.
He opened his eyes and saw that the Raven girl held a vial that was empty but for a glowing residue.
She’s given me Shine.
Bill stared at his tormentor. It was too late to spit out the horribly addictive drug. Gulping with a heedless greed he usually reserved for coffee, he’d swallowed a good mouthful of it.
Too much. She had him.
Knowing that Shine would quickly supersede his moral compass, he tried to hold onto his terror, his ideals; he tried to retain any part of himself. But as he looked into her expressionless eyes, he began to feel the drug taking hold. Soon, the fear faded, along with all thoughts of fleeing. The world shrunk, leaving room for her alone in his mind. His senses sharpened, overwhelmed by the power of her presence and the Shine’s euphoria.
The rest of the world faded away, and nothing else mattered but his new queen.
I will serve this woman forever.


Author Bio:
Tracy Auerbach is an author of science fiction and fantasy for teens and adults. As an avid reader with a vivid imagination, she chose to study film, English, and education, and went on to teach and write STEM curriculum for the New York Department of Education. This helped to polish her writing skills and ignite her passion for science fiction and fantasy.
Her first scholarly article, published in Language Magazine, was about the value of active, creative learning in science.
On the fiction side, Tracy’s work has been featured in the online literary journal Micro-horror, The Writing Disorder fiction anthology, and the “(Dis)ability” short story anthology, in addition to her novels.
When she is not teaching or writing, Tracy is usually reading or spending time with her family. She lives in New York with her husband and sons.

XBTBanner1
Read more »

Cover Reveal: Beauty is the Beast (Caligula, #1) by D. James McGee


Beauty is the Beast
D. James McGee
(Caligula, #1)
Published by: Acorn Publishing
Publication date: July 15th 2020
Genres: Adult, Fantasy
It’s 1985. Lady Laura Lacy of Britewood is beautiful and graceful, a celebrity in her own right. She is cousin to Her Majesty The Queen, and her father is the well-respected Earl of Britewood, honorary commander of the Army’s elite reserve special forces unit. Laura seemingly has it all. She should be happy.
However, due to unspeakable acts committed against her as a child, she’s developed a blood lust for revenge. Secretly trained by her father’s regiment in the arts of war, Laura begins to target men who prey on the innocent and helpless. As her skills sharpen, Laura becomes a formidable force against evil.
That’s when she uncovers a transatlantic child trafficking ring led by an elite group within British society. With the help of commanding officer and police inspector Billy Smythe, her mysterious family attorney Arthur Mosely, and an unorthodox group of American allies, Laura sets out on a vengeance-fueled quest to stop them. She is determined to save as many innocents as she can.
It’s a mission that will put her very life and sanity at stake, making her question everything she’s ever believed in. But to make things right, Beauty must become the Beast.


Author Bio:
Domnic “DJames” McGee was born in Leeds, West Yorkshire. A sickly child, he was raised in a council estate to a single mother. At school, he was a poor student and failed dismally.
He developed a passion for martial arts, so in his teens, he moved to Ireland where he trained full-time while working in menial jobs to survive.
A chance encounter then gave him the opportunity to work as an Executive Protection Agent for some of the most influential figures in European society.
He came to the US in 2001 to further his studies of martial arts. He decided to stay and earned his citizenship by serving in an Army infantry unit and later with a reserve Military Police unit.
He currently lives in Huntington Beach, where he works as an Executive Protection Agent and trains and writes as much as he can.

XBTBanner1
Read more »

Audio Review: The Chestnut Man by Søren Sveistrup (Author) & Peter Noble (Narrator)

Friday, April 10, 2020


Title: The Chestnut Man 

Series: Stand-Alone

Author: Søren Sveistrup

Narrator: Peter Noble

Genre: Adult, Mystery Thriller

Publication Date: September 3rd, 2019 by HarperAudio 

Format: Audio

Source: Library (Overdrive)


Rating:







The heart-pounding debut from the creator of the hit Scandinavian television show The Killing.

If you find one, he’s already found you.

A psychopath is terrorizing Copenhagen.

His calling card is a “chestnut man”—a handmade doll made of matchsticks and two chestnuts—which he leaves at each bloody crime scene.

Examining the dolls, forensics makes a shocking discovery—a fingerprint belonging to a young girl, a government minister’s daughter who had been kidnapped and murdered a year ago.

A tragic coincidence—or something more twisted?

To save innocent lives, a pair of detectives must put aside their differences to piece together the Chestnut Man’s gruesome clues.

Because it’s clear that the madman is on a mission that is far from over.

And no one is safe.







First I will like to say that The Chestnut Man audiobook is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! I thought Peter Noble was a fantastic and excellent narrator in this audiobook. I just love him voicing the different characters in this amazing book, he voices each character in a unique way that you can tell which character he was voicing I never got confused on which character he was voicing. Now I wanted to read The Chestnut Man when it first came out back in September but never got the chance to check it out yet.

But I saw an amazing audio review on one of the book bloggers I am following who I think was Robin from Robin Loves Reading. Robin gave a fantastic audio review on her book blog about The Chestnut Man that her review convinced me to check out this book on audio through my library overdrive. And I would like to thank Robin to give me that push to check this book through audio because omgoshe this book was sooooo amazingly fantastic and very creepy. I never read a book set in Copenhagen before and love hearing the different dialects they have in Copenhagen I love learning new words from different countries as well.

Now I won't go into details about The Chestnut Man because I don't want to spoil for anybody. But The Chestnut Man is a Mystery Thriller book and there are very detailed gore scenes in this book that I did the mistake by eating launch before listening to this audiobook and right at the beginning of the book there was a gory scene that left me queasy for a few minutes. So lesson learned I will never eat anything before reading a gory book like The Chestnut Man. If you don't like listening to gory scenes than don't listen to this book in audio form because it does have detailed gory scenes on audio.

But after I learned my lesson I thoroughly loved and enjoyed listening to this book on audiobook it most definitely held my attention from the very beginning to the end. Also, I was on the tip of my toes listening to The Chestnut Man that I was guessing and had my theory's left and right who the serial killer Chestnut Man was. But when we finally discover who the real Chestnut Man was I so didn't see that twist who the real serial killer was, so bravo to the author for confusing me all the time and proving my guesses where so wrong.

And the ending, the ending you guys had me in tears that I never cry listening to audiobooks before like wow it was just a perfect ending to a fantastic book. All and all I thoroughly loved and enjoyed listening to The Chestnut Man that it won't be the last book that I will read by Søren Sveistrup and it most certainly won't be my last audiobook that I would listen to narrated by Peter Noble as well. 











Søren Sveistrup (Author)


Søren Sveistrup is an internationally acclaimed scriptwriter of the Danish television phenomenon The Killing which won various international awards and sold in more than a hundred countries. More recently, Sveistrup wrote the screenplay for Jo Nesbø's The Snowman.

Sveistrup obtained a Master in Literature and in History from the University of Copenhagen and studied at the Danish Film School. He has won countless prizes, including an Emmy for Nikolaj and Julie and a BAFTA for The Killing.



Peter Noble (Narrator)

Peter Noble was born in 1943 in the manufacturing town of Pudsey, Yorkshire. After attending the local grammar school (where his most significant achievement was joining the “Adventure Club” a year before being eligible) he drifted into Teacher Training College and three years later, back into school. His first year in a London comprehensive convinced him that he was in need of something new, something completely different and preferably something outdoors.

Teenage climbing experience on his native Yorkshire crags had led to climbing holidays in many parts of Britain plus Norway and the Alps so he applied for and secured a job with the British Antarctic Survey as a General Assistant/Mountaineer. In 1966 he sailed south for a two year tour of duty at Halley Bay, one of six British survey stations and the only one to be built on floating ice.

During the building of a new base at Halley Bay, new skills were added to his repertoire - electrician, plumber, decorator, carpenter, baker - but it was driving dog sledges over the ice cap that fired his imagination. After learning the basic skills he and three colleagues were left several hundred miles from base, with two dog teams, to reconnoitre a route to the remote Shackleton Mountains.

The following year Peter was invited to lead a tractor expedition along the reconnoitred route, an expedition that proved to be the longest and heaviest tractor journey ever undertaken by the British Antarctic Survey.

On return to England, Peter never did go back to the classroom, at least not the indoor one, preferring to work in outdoor education in the Lake District, Snowdonia and finally heading up a then new Outdoor Pursuits Centre in Derbyshire. On formal retirement he travelled widely - Peru, Zimbabwe, Mexico, Central Australia, Tibet, Namibia… either with his wife Jenny or leading young people’s expeditions. Peter and Jenny now live in Marlborough, Wiltshire
Read more »

Cover Reveal & Giveaway: On Mission (Off Planet, #3) by Aileen Erin


On Mission
Aileen Erin
(Off Planet, #3)
Published by: Ink Monster LLC
Publication date: December 1st 2020
Genres: Dystopian, Young Adult
“Declan’s been captured.” Ahiga’s strained voice carried through the recording and Amihanna knew without seeing him that he must be hurt. “SpaceTech is shooting us dead in the street and we can’t run or hide fast enough. I’m not sure how long we can stay in Haden’s hideout. We need your help. I know it’s a lot to ask, but please. I’m begging. We’re all going to die without you.” Ahiga’s message was everything Amihanna feared would come true. She was on a convoy to meet with the Aunare’s allies.
“Wait!” Amihanna screams. Her mind is racing, and she needs to make a decision. Keep going. Meet Lorne on the neutral planet to broker an alliance as planned. Or change course. Jump across the universe as quickly as she can, and pray it’s fast enough to save her Earther family. Amihanna knows what it’s like to be abandoned, fighting for her life, and hoping that someone would come. No one helped her except for the Crew, Declan, and Ahiga. Sometimes debts can’t be repaid, but Amihanna is a di Aetes. She won’t give up. Not ever.


Author Bio:
Aileen Erin is half-Irish, half-Mexican, and 100% nerd–from Star Wars (prequels don’t count) to Star Trek (TNG FTW), she reads Quenya and some Sindarin, and has a severe fascination with the supernatural. Aileen has a BS in Radio-TV-Film from the University of Texas at Austin, and an MFA in Writing Popular Fiction from Seton Hill University. She lives with her husband in Los Angeles, and spends her days doing her favorite things: reading books, creating worlds, and kicking ass.

XBTBanner1
Read more »