Friday, May 25, 2018

Excerpt Reveal: Order of Protection (Courting Justice #1) by Lexi Blake

   

 

To high-end defense attorney Henry Garrison, Win Hughes is a woman he met during one of the most trying times of his life. She’s soft and warm, and he finds solace in their brief relationship. But Win has a secret. She’s actually Taylor Winston-Hughes—born to one of the wealthiest families in the country, orphaned as a child by a tragic accident. Win moves in the wealthiest circles, but her lavish lifestyle hides her pain. When her best friend is murdered in the midst of a glittering New York gala, Win’s charged with the crime, and the only person in the world she wants to see is Henry. Henry is shocked at the true identity of his lover, but he can’t reject the case. This case could take his new firm into the stratosphere. Still, he’s not getting burned by Win again. And yet every turn brings them closer together. As the case takes a wild turn and Win's entire life is upended, she must look to the people she's closest to in order to find a killer. And Henry must decide between making his case and saving the woman he loves…    

Now available for pre-order!

Amazon | iTunes | Barnes & Noble | GooglePlay | Kobo

      If Henry gave her a minute, they would be back to polite. He wouldn’t find out if she could want him in an honest way. “Win, I’m an alcoholic. I’m divorced, and it wasn’t some thoughtful conscious uncoupling. It was nasty and ugly. I’m a lawyer who doesn’t give a shit if his clients are guilty or not as long as they have the money to pay me. I have gotten off people who probably went back out into the world to do terrible things, and I’ll probably do it again because I believe in this system. It’s imperfect, but it’s better than anything else. And I’m too old for you.” She snorted, an oddly amusing sound. “I’m not some shrinking virgin. I’m twenty-nine, and I’ve been around the block a couple of times and with some men I wish I hadn’t ever gotten into the car with. How old are you? Forty?” He winced. “Thirty-seven.” Her lips curled up, and it was worth the blow to his ego. “Well, you don’t look a day over forty, and that’s a pretty nice age for a man. You think you don’t deserve such a young, hot chick?” Thank god she was teasing him again. He’d hated the way her shoulders had slumped when she’d thought he’d rejected her. But still, he had to be honest. If he was going to do this, she would get the new Henry. “I think I could hurt a woman like you if I’m not careful.” “Then be careful with me, Henry Garrison,” she said, moving closer to him. “And I’m a big girl. I can make my own decisions and live with them. I would like to spend the night with you. It doesn’t have to last beyond tomorrow. I’m not asking to be your girlfriend. I’m asking you to help me get through the night, to help me get that nightmare out of my head, so I can feel safe for the first time in months. It’s been a long time since I felt safe.” That he could do. She moved in close, right between his legs, and he reached up and cupped her face, holding her still as he looked into her eyes. So much fucking innocence. He didn’t care what she’d been through. She was way too young for him, but she’d said yes and he wasn’t a saint. Not even close. “Be sure. I might want more than one night. I’m here for a few weeks. I could use this. I could use some time with you.” It wouldn’t work long-term. When he finished up and got back to the city, he wouldn’t have time to spend with her, and she deserved that. He would be knee-deep in the sewer again. It wasn’t a place he would take her, but he could be what she needed here. “I could use some time with you,” she replied. “You’re right about a few things. I haven’t ever been around a man like you. The men I’ve been with have been boys who cared more about their images than they did about pleasing me. I think it might be different with you. I know you’re trying to scare me off with all that ‘I screwed up my life’ stuff, but I get that. You can’t make me run, or I would run away from myself. Tell me if you can make me forget about everything except what you’re doing to my body because tonight that’s all I want.” Oh, he could do that. He might not be able to feed her soul, but he could work her body all fucking night long.   

   

NY Times and USA Today bestselling author Lexi Blake lives in North Texas with her husband, three kids, and the laziest rescue dog in the world. She began writing at a young age, concentrating on plays and journalism. It wasn’t until she started writing romance and urban fantasy that she found the stories of her heart. She likes to find humor in the strangest places and believes in happy endings no matter how odd the couple, threesome, or foursome may seem.

FACEBOOK / TWITTER / WEBSITE / AMAZON AUTHOR PAGE

Read more »

Thursday, May 24, 2018

Blog Tour, Giveaway & Excerpt Reveal: Esme's Wish (Esme Series #1) by Elizabeth Foster








ESME'S WISH Digital Assets
Title: ESME'S WISH
Author: Elizabeth Foster
Pub. Date: October 30, 2017
Publisher: Odyssey Books
Formats: Paperback, eBook
Pages:252
Find it: GoodreadsAmazonB&NiBooksTBD

“A fresh new fantasy of an enchanting world.” - Wendy Orr, author of Nim’s Island and Dragonfly Song.

When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father’s wedding, her protest is dismissed as the action of a stubborn, selfish teenager. Everyone else has accepted the loss of Esme’s mother, Ariane – so why can’t she?

But Esme is suspicious. She is sure that others are covering up the real reason for her mother’s disappearance – that ‘lost at sea’ is code for something more terrible, something she has a right to know.

After Esme is accidentally swept into the enchanted world of Aeolia, the truth begins to unfold. With her newfound friends, Daniel and Lillian, Esme retraces her mother’s steps in the glittering canal city of Esperance, untangling the threads of Ariane’s double life. But the more Esme discovers about her mother, the more she questions whether she really knew her at all. 

This fresh, inventive tale is an ideal read for younger teens.









About Elizabeth:
I was born in Brisbane, Australia, and now live in Sydney. Apart from writing and reading, which take up most of my time, I love walking, travelling and playing piano (badly).

As a child, I was called Dizzy Lizzy – which I regarded as an insult all my life, until I started writing! Now, daydreaming is a central part of what I do. My favourite childhood books included the Chronicles of Narnia and Enid Blyton’s adventure stories. I was such an avid reader that my godfather gave me the complete works of Shakespeare when I was ten. (Still haven’t read them all…) My reading tastes nowadays are eclectic, ranging from classic authors such as Jane Austen, to the works of modern YA writers, including J.K. Rowling, Tamora Pierce, Melina Marchetta and Maggie Stiefvater.

I love movies almost as much as books. Dreamlike films – such as the works of Hayao Miyazaki – hugely appeal to me, as do any clever psychological films and TV series which revolve around female characters, such as Buffy and Veronica Mars.

I used to enjoy writing as a child, but then I grew up and was sadly waylaid by more serious pursuits. Reading to my own kids reminded me of how much I missed getting lost in other worlds, and once I started writing again, I couldn’t stop. I am also fascinated with people’s motivations and personalities, and now I get to explore them on the page.  I am a member of the SCBWI,  the CBCA, and a reviewer for CBCA’s Reading Time.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads






Esme slumped down on her bed and buried her face in her hands, desperately trying to make sense of what had just happened.
With no warning, apart from the onset of a headache, she had somehow borne witness to a scene from the distant past. It wasn’t a memory of her own, or at least she didn’t think it was. Maybe it was all just her imagination.
She massaged her temples, trying to ease the headache, which had returned with a vengeance. Her hands were still white from soaking in the tub, the lines on her palms distended like a river swollen in flood.
It had all been so vivid.
Mum. I just saw Mum.
She was right there, looking at me.
Her heart stung, cut by the serrated edge of memory. Painful recollections rose in her mind – real ones, this time, not strange visions. Her younger self was perched on the front steps of the cottage, squishing tiny buds of lavender between her fingers, the scent of it on her hands and in the air around her. A bee buzzed nearby, feeding on the purple blooms. Silently she sat, swamped with a loneliness her small frame couldn’t contain. Any moment now her missing mother would walk through the gate. Tell her it had all been a mistake. Just a mean trick on her part.
The memory lingered a while, like part of her was still waiting on those steps.





Giveaway Details:
1 winner will receive an eBook of ESME’S WISH, International.


Tour Schedule:
Week One:
5/21/2018- Mythical BooksExcerpt
5/21/2018- The Reading LifeSpotlight

5/22/2018- Of WonderlandReview
5/22/2018- Novel NoviceGuest Post

5/23/2018- Cindy's Love of Books- Review
5/23/2018- BookHounds YAInterview

5/24/2018- The slytherin book ladyReview
5/24/2018- Kati's Bookaholic Rambling ReviewsExcerpt

5/25/2018- RhythmicBooktrovertReview
5/25/2018- Books a Plenty Book ReviewsSpotlight

Week Two:
5/28/2018- Devouring BooksReview
5/28/2018- Daily WaffleInterview

5/29/2018- The Inked In Book Blog- Review
5/29/2018- paseandoamissculturaGuest Post

5/30/2018- Dazzled by BooksExcerpt
5/30/2018- Ziggy's Reading CornerExcerpt

5/31/2018- Owl Always Be ReadingExcerpt
5/31/2018- The Cozy Reading CornerSpotlight

6/1/2018- F A N N AInterview
6/1/2018- Books A-Brewin'Excerpt

Read more »

Book Blitz & Giveaway: Royal Service by Leslie North



Royal Service
Leslie North
(Royals of Danovar)
Publication date: May 24th, 2018
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
King Phillip is a real life Prince Charming. Golden haired with a Danovian accent, and a solid gold crown sitting on his head, he’s every girl’s daydream. He’s a good man and an even better king, but the one thing he’s been terrible at is choosing a royal wife — fearing a marriage that’s more about policy than passion. But when his mother invites all the eligible maidens to The Summer House Party, Phillip is trapped in a real-life Bachelor where he won’t have the option of quietly splitting from the girl after the party is over — he’ll be wed to her for life.
Ella Fernstone is tired of being the family servant. After her father died, Ella was receded to the basement as her stepmother began a full court press to cultivate her own daughters. Ella’s ready to escape the hot mess of a home that she grew up in by finally pursuing her dream of competitive riding: something she’s been preparing her whole life to do. All she has to do is marry one of her step sisters off to the King of Danovar to finally find her freedom. It couldn’t be that hard right?
That was until Ella was the first to fall for the King’s dashing good looks and an offer to ride off with him into the sunset. Ella is hesitant — a Queen’s life was still one of servitude, but it’s hard to ignore the pull of a handwritten love letter and a skillfully delivered kiss. Phillip too is caught up in seducing what he never expected to find: an eligible woman he might just learn to love. But when the reality of a royal marriage comes crashing down, Phillip and Ella must decide if they can risk their hearts, or their freedoms, on the chance of true love.
EXCERPT:
King Phillip Gregory Humbert Alcott knelt beside his favorite vintage Indian motorcycle, grease coating his hands, and wished he could stay there forever. Or better yet, finish fixing it up and then just ride off into the sunset. Unfortunately, the sun’s current angle in the mid-afternoon sky put the kibosh on that plan—not to mention the gaggle of women halfway down the drive, any one of whom he was supposed to marry.
Phillip loosened the rear axle nut with a grunt, putting more effort into it than was strictly necessary. A strand of his long blond hair swung loose and he pushed it aside with his forearm. Fixing up his motorcycles usually brought him peace, but lately, with his thirtieth birthday looming, there was hardly any peace for him in the whole of Danovar. According to his country’s law—not to mention his mother’s insistance—he was supposed to choose his queen by the time he turned thirty. And seeing as he’d managed to successfully ignore that law for the last twenty-nine years and nine months, now he had exactly three months left to pick a bride. His mother’s way of “helping” him achieve that goal was to gather all the eligible ladies for a week-long party at the Summer House so that he might pick one to marry before the impending deadline.
The ladies had been arriving all day, and the group at the other end of the drive was among the last of the bunch. Dressed in their jewel-toned finery, they looked like a flock of peacocks, fluttering around and clucking amongst themselves while they assessed the Summer House with openly calculating gazes, not even noticing him kneeling there covered in oil and engine grease.
His mouth twisted. One of those oblivious women might well be his future wife.
It wasn’t that he didn’t want to get married. In fact, he’d always been enamored with the idea of growing old with a woman he loved—but that was the problem. During this party, he wasn’t so much picking a wife as he was choosing a queen, someone who was capable of ruling Danovar at his side. That meant he would never marry for love, and having seen his parents and grandparents live through loveless marriages, he knew it was nothing to look forward to. He wished there was a way for his duty and love to go hand in hand but it just wasn’t in the stars, and being king meant putting his country before his own desires.
He allowed the rear wheel to slide in the swingarm a bit, blowing out a breath and rolling his shoulders to try to get the tension out of his muscles as he returned to his bike. It wasn’t what he wanted that mattered, he reminded himself. It was what his people needed. And if his people needed one of these scheming peacocks to be his wife, then that’s what they would damn well get.
But that didn’t mean he couldn’t enjoy himself a bit first. Sneak off, spend a few hours on the road, just him and the sunset and the cherry-red bike roaring beneath him. Once he could manage to focus long enough to get the damn drive chain tightened, this beauty would ride like the wind. He’d be sure to get back in time to give the opening speech tonight, of course—shirking his duties was no way to start his search for a queen—but he just needed a little freedom, a little time to himself.
One last limo pulled in, carrying the final load of ladies who were here to vie for the royal engagement ring. Two women who looked like sisters climbed out and stared up at the Summer House, but at least they looked more like they were appreciating its beauty than calculating how much money the crystal chandeliers and extravagant stables were worth. These two were attractive enough, he supposed, and in other circumstances, he might not have minded flirting with them. In fact, maybe he could simply pretend he was his brother Eric tonight—then he could flirt with anything in a dress and it could all be fun and games, rather than the official business of the crown.
The women’s servant was standing at the rear of the limo, efficiently unloading the designer luggage. Now with her, he’d love to do more than flirt. She was sexy as hell from behind, clad in a crisp outfit that screamed personal assistant. It also screamed I have a nice ass. Her golden hair was caught up in a bouncy ponytail, and the second he saw it he couldn’t stop thinking about what it would feel like to wrap those golden locks around his hand, tug her head back and angle her just right for a scorching-hot kiss, to run his other hand across those delicious curves and then down, down, down even further, until she was panting and trembling and neither of them could remember their own names.
He tightened the axle back in place and set his tools in their box, wiping his hands on a rag as he contemplated her. It had been a long time since a woman had affected him this strongly, this quickly—but judging from the efficient, completely un-self-conscious way she was juggling her bosses’ luggage, she had no idea she was drop-dead gorgeous. Her innocence was refreshing after all the stuffy gold-diggers he’d watched drive up, who he’d now have to spend the next few weeks courting.
He stood, dropped the rag, and straddled his bike. He’d just been thinking he needed an escape, and now he couldn’t conceive of a better one than shirking tonight’s duties to spend some quality time with the gorgeous creature in front of him. Usually, his flings had to go through layers of security checks before he was alone with them, but he was feeling restless and reckless, and the beauty in front of him would be the perfect cure for that.
Decision made, he revved the engine.



Author Bio:
Leslie North is the pen name for a critically-acclaimed author of women's contemporary romance and fiction. The anonymity gives her the perfect opportunity to paint with her full artistic palette, especially in the romance and erotic fantasy genres.
The truth of the matter is she loves her fictional persona, Leslie North, more than her normal, day-to-day persona! Her bestselling books focus on strong characters and particularly women who aren't afraid to challenge an alpha male. Inspired after years of travel, her stories are set all over the world, from the tough streets of Russia to the beautiful beaches of the middle east.
Leslie fell in love with romance when she first picked up a scrappy, dog-eared romance book from her local library. She began writing soon after and the rest, as they say, was history. She now lives in a cozy cottage on the British coast and enjoys taking long walks with her two Dalmatians, George and Fergie.
She LOVES reader feedback, and if you have any comments, don't hesitate to contact her via e-mail: leslie@leslienorthbooks.com.

XBTBanner1
Read more »

Review: Spectacle Vol. 1 by Megan Rose Gedris


Title Spectacle Vol. 1

Series: Spectacle Vol. 1

Author: Megan Rose Gedris

Genre: Adult, Graphic Novel, Fantasy, Paranormal, Mystery

Publication Date: May 22nd, 2018 by Oni Press

Format: epub

Source:  I received this book on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


Rating:








Fan-favorite webcomic creator Megan Rose Gedris (Yu+Me Dream) crafts a compelling tale of magic, deception, and wonder in this stunningly illustrated graphic novel about the bond between sisters.

Pragmatic engineer Anna works as a psychic in the Samson Brothers Circus, but she doesn't believe in anything supernatural—until her twin sister Kat is murdered and comes back as a very demanding ghost. Sharing a room with her sister was hard, but now they're sharing a body while trying to identify the killer. With few leads, a troupe full of secretive folk, and strange paranormal occurrences popping up around the circus, solving the case seems near impossible. But the murderer in their midst may be the least of their problems...







*** I received this book on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review, thank you so much to NetGalley and Oni Press for giving me the opportunity to read and review Spectacle Vol. 1! ***

Another graphic novel that I picked up on NetGalley that I had to check it out. When I first read the synopsis of Spectacle Vol. 1 I was hook line and sinker I just know I was going to love and enjoy this book. And I was totally right this graphic novel did not disappoint me at all I thoroughly loved and enjoyed every bit of this amazing graphic novel. Now I won't go into any details about this book because I think you should check out Spectacle Vol. 1 it really was an amazingly fantastic graphic novel for me. I absolutely love the plotline and concept of the book two twin sister Anna and Kat working in a circus called Samson Brothers Circus until one day Anna finds Kat murder in their trailer. I so love any books or graphic novels that are set in a circus this is actually the first graphic novel that I read set in a circus so it was an A+ win for me and I really love murder mysteries as well with a twist of supernatural in this book is totally my jam in books too. The artwork is absolutely beautiful I just love looking at each page. Each and ever characters were well developed and rounded, plus all and every character was diverse as well which I totally love reading about diverse characters too. The writing style flowed well with the story and was structure really great too that I totally understand everything on Spectacle Vol. 1 I was not confused at all while reading this graphic novel. What I would have loved more it's too learn a little bit more background on why Anna and Kat joined the circus and about their past, but we did get a little glimpse about their past when the twins were kids and I am dying to learn more about there past life when they were just kids. But alas I think we learn a little bit more about the twins and the circus in each Volumes that will come out next. All and all I absolutely, utterly and totally love and enjoy Spectacle Vol. 1 that I can't wait to continue on reading the next Volumes in the Spectacle series, after that ending in this graphic novel. Things just start to get stranger and stranger in the Samson Brothers Circus and I can't wait to read and learn more about it!














Megan Rose Gedris, aka Rosalarian, is a comics writer and artist based in Chicago. She started making webcomics in 2002, with a focus on women and LGBTQ characters, as well as body/sex positivity. Her style is expressive with a penchant for bright colors and textures. She designs fabric for fun. When not making comics, she performs burlesque around the country as “the comic stripper” Florence of a’Labia.










Read more »

Review: Saga, Vol. 6 (Saga #6) by Brian K. Vaughan (Writer) & Fiona Staples (Artist)


Title: Saga, Vol. 6

Series:  Saga #6

Author: Brian K. Vaughan (Writer) & Fiona Staples (Artist) 

Genre: Adult, Graphic Novel, Fantasy, Science Fiction

Publication Date: July 5th, 2016 by Image Comics

Format: Paperback

Source: Library


Rating:






After a dramatic time jump, the three-time Eisner Award winner for Best Continuing Series continues to evolve, as Hazel begins the most exciting adventure of her life: kindergarten. Meanwhile, her star-crossed family learns hard lessons of their own.

Collecting: Saga 31-36
 








I still absolutely love and enjoy Saga so much this graphic novel still gets better and better in each volume, first I would like to say I am so sorry for doing this review so late since I did read this graphic novel back in Feb. I got really busy and life just got in the way let's see I really don't know what to write on this review without being to a spoiler. But I will start with what I love at the beginning chapters of Saga, Vol. 6, the first few chapters start right off where Vol. 5 left off at. Marko and Alana trying to get their family back together they do everything possible to get there loves one back they even struggle with there relationship but both Marko and Alana still are deeply and madly in love with each other. And they both show their affection while there on a mission to get their family back together the both of them also dare ask help from a dethroned Prince Robot for help which to his utter despair and he doesn't want to help Marko and Alana but I won't say if he helps them are not you have to read this graphic novel to find out if Prince Robot helps out Marko and Alana. While Marko and Alana are planning to get their loved ones back Hazel is having fun with being in a kindergarten and living her life with her grandmother but real soon Hazel will find out an adventure is waiting for her when she gets back to her loving parents. Hazel also finds a new special friend who will protect Hazel with her life, I absolutely love this new friend of Hazel I won't say who she is because it's a spoiler. But Hazel special friend will protect and guard Hazel with her life and she will go anywhere Hazel goes. Now I am going to stop here without getting too a spoiler we do also read about The Will but I really don't want to talk about him he really does some really stupid things in this graphic novel which totally got on my nerves and annoyed me to no end but he does change for the better at the end of this book and that's all I am going to say about The Will. All and all I absolutely, utterly and totally love Saga, Vol. 6 that I can't wait to read Vol. 7 after that surprised was revelaed at the very end like I so didn't see that revealtion coming at all!














Brian K. Vaughan (Writer)


Born in Cleveland in 1976, Brian K. Vaughan is the Eisner, Harvey, and Shuster Award-winning writer and co-creator of the critically acclaimed comics series Y: The Last Man, Runaways, and Ex Machina (picked as one of the ten best works of fiction of 2005 by Entertainment Weekly).

Recently named "Writer of the Year" by Wizard Magazine, and one of the “top ten comic writers of all time” by Comic Book Resources, Vaughan’s work has been featured and/or reviewed in countless mainstream media outlets, including The New York Times, MTV, National Public Radio, and feminist magazine Bust, which photographed him for their “Men We Love” issue (don’t ask).

As an undergraduate film student at New York University, Vaughan got his big break as part of Marvel’s Stanhattan Project, a workshop for aspiring comic book writers. In the ten years since, he has written nearly all of the major DC and Marvel characters, everyone from Batman to the X-Men.

In September of 2006, Vertigo released Vaughan’s first original graphic novel, Pride of Baghdad, lavishly illustrated by artist Niko Henrichon. Inspired by an unbelievable true story of four lions who escaped the Baghdad Zoo during Operation Iraqi Freedom, Pride is equal parts anthropomorphic adventure and Animal Farm-like parable about the ongoing conflict in Iraq and was described as "the best novel so far" about the war by the UK's Telegraph.

Along with his creator-owned work, Vaughan is currently writing The Escapists, a Dark Horse miniseries inspired by Michael Chabon’s Pulitzer Prize-winning novel The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay, as well as a new Doctor Strange limited series for Marvel with artist Marcos Martin.

This summer, the new WGA member/CAA client transplanted his poor playwright wife to Los Angeles, where Vaughan is currently working on the screenplay adaptations of Y and Ex Machina for New Line Cinema, as well as other new creations in film and television.

His home on the web is www.bkvcomics.com, and he’s become the last aging hipster to get a MySpace page: www.myspace.com/briankvaughan




Fiona Staples (Artist)


Fiona Staples is a Canadian comic book artist known for her work on books such as North 40, DV8: Gods and Monsters, T.H.U.N.D.E.R. Agents and Saga. She has been cited as one of the best female artists working in the industry, and one of the best artists overall














Read more »