Thursday, November 9, 2017

Temporary Hiatus & Life Update!







Well I am really sorry to say that I will be going on a temporary hiatus started today. Unfortunately I will be having surgery pretty soon but not just one surgery but two different surgery in different months. What do I mean you say well I start at the very  beginning of my story. Around late spring early summer of this year I started having pains on both of my ankles and my ankles were really swollen too. Being me I didn't say anything to my parents because I thought it was nothing bad, so one day my uncle notice that I was limping while I was walking. So naturally my mother thought it was my right knee acting up again which I had two surgery on my right knee already. So one day my mother ask me if my rt knee is bothering me again and I ask her why she is asking that she than say's to me, because she see's me limping while I was walking all the time. So I finally told her the truth that it wasn't my knee that was bothering me it was both of my ankles. So of course she got mad at me that I didn't say anything to her about both of my ankles, and she told me too immediately called my general doctor. Of course I called my general doctor right away, so when I saw my doctor he decided to do two x-rays on both my ankles and feet too see what is going on with them. He told me it was probably a heel  bone spur but he wanted to make sure if he was right or not. So flash forward into two weeks when I got my x-rays all done and everything I went back to my general doctor but this time my mom accompany me to the doctors. When the doctors saw the x-rays and report I just know it was not good news because how his face reacted when he first saw the reports and x-rays. You see he was right that I did have a bone spur but not on my heels but on both of my achilles heels. Which it is the worst spot to have a bone spur at my general doctor told me for the very start there are no remedy's I mean totally nothing that will help me with my pain, discomfort and swollen of my ankles but surgery. So he sent me too a foot and ankle doctors who specialize on what I have on both of my achilles heels. The foot and ankle doctor try first with me with physical therapy first and see if that would help so I wouldn't have to do surgery, but guess what I went to do physical therapy for almost three weeks. But the pain and discomfort was just too much and the pain got much worst after each time I went to physical therapy. So my physical therapist sent me back to my foot and ankle doctor. And when I saw him that's where we decided surgery was the best and only option I can go with. So now I will be having surgery done on one foot pretty soon and than when I fully recover for that surgery I will have surgery done on my other foot done as well. Now the recovery time for this type of surgery will be 3 to 6 months. Now that's why I am going on a temporary hiatus, because I will be recover at my parents house which unfortunately my parents don't have no internet so I will be completely offline totally when I am recovery from both surgery. I will post a few things here and there on my social media sites and probably on my blogs if I can, but it is a big IF I can get back online. But I would probably just post only books reviews on here for the time being until I can fully get back to blogging again. I will most diffidently will continue on reading books, in matter of fact I pick a lot of books on my tbr list that I am taking with me too my parents house to read. I will miss all of you my friends and I will totally miss blogging while I am recovery for surgery. I will be thinking about you all as well. Well wish me luck and please pray for me that everything will go smoothly and well in my surgery!











Read more »

Wednesday, November 8, 2017

Review: The Seance by John Harwood


Title: The Séance

Series: Stand-Alone

Author: John Harwood

Genre: Adult, Historical Fiction, Mystery, Horror, Gothic

Publication Date: April 3rd 2008 by Jonathan Cape, Vintage Publishing

Format: Hard Cover

Source: Library


Rating:









Wraxford Hall, a decaying mansion in the English countryside, has a sinister reputation. Once, a family disappeared there. And now Constance Langton has inherited this dark place as well as the mysteries surrounding it. Having grown up in a house marked by the death of her sister, Constance is no stranger to mystery, secrets, and the dark magic around us. Her father was distant. Her mother was in perpetual mourning for her lost child. In a desperate attempt to coax her mother back to health, Constance took her to a seance hoping she would find supernatural comfort. But tragic consequences followed, leaving her alone in the world-- alone with Wraxford Hall. Saddled with this questionable bequest, she must find the truth at the heart of all these disappearances, apparitions, betrayal, blackmail, and villainy, even if it costs her life. John Harwood's second novel delivers on the great promise proven by his first with this gripping mystery set in the heart of Victorian England.








I know this book was not for everybody and I totally understand way, but I absolutely loved and enjoyed it so much. I actually pick this book up from the library for a book club group that I joined on goodreads that there were going to read in the month of Oct. I know some readers from the book club group didn't really like this one. Because it does have different pov's and subplots within the story that it all connects to the main plot at the very end. It also have a very eerie, haunted and dark gothic vibe too the book as well. I just love and enjoy all these aspects in this book I also really love the writing style in The Séance I don't now how to describe it too you on why I love John Harwood writing style, but I just love how John Harwood writes and I thoroughly love how he tells as an amazing haunting and very eerie story in The Séance to me. I really don't want to go into too many details about the books, because I don't want to spoil it for anybody. But I will say if you love a good haunted, very eerie and dark gothic book than this book is for you. If you haven't read a book quite like The Séance before I still say give it a try who knows you might be surprise and love this dark gothic tale! All and all I absolutely loved and enjoyed everything in The Séance that I will most definitely try too read more books by John Harwood in the near future.

















John Harwood is the author of two previous novels of Victorian Gothic suspense. Aside from fiction, his published work includes biography, poetry, political journalism and literary history. His acclaimed first novel, The Ghost Writer, won the International Horror Guild's First Novel Award. He lives in Hobart, Australia.


 




                       

Read more »

Review: Nimona by Noelle Stevenson


Title: Nimona

Series: Stand-Alone

Author: Noelle Stevenson

Genre: Young Adult, Graphic Novel, Fantasy

Publication Date: May 12th 2015 by Harper Collins

Format: Hard Cover

Source: Library


Rating:









The graphic novel debut from rising star Noelle Stevenson, based on her beloved and critically acclaimed web comic, which Slate awarded its Cartoonist Studio Prize, calling it "a deadpan epic."

Nemeses! Dragons! Science! Symbolism! All these and more await in this brilliantly subversive, sharply irreverent epic from Noelle Stevenson. Featuring an exclusive epilogue not seen in the web comic, along with bonus conceptual sketches and revised pages throughout, this gorgeous full-color graphic novel is perfect for the legions of fans of the web comic and is sure to win Noelle many new ones.

Nimona is an impulsive young shapeshifter with a knack for villainy. Lord Ballister Blackheart is a villain with a vendetta. As sidekick and supervillain, Nimona and Lord Blackheart are about to wreak some serious havoc. Their mission: prove to the kingdom that Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin and his buddies at the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics aren't the heroes everyone thinks they are.

But as small acts of mischief escalate into a vicious battle, Lord Blackheart realizes that Nimona's powers are as murky and mysterious as her past. And her unpredictable wild side might be more dangerous than he is willing to admit.
 








Yup I know I am late in the ban wagon to read a book by Noelle Stevenson I just could kick myself for waiting so long. But I have heard amazing raving reviews about Noelle Stevenson books every where and her books was very hyped up when I first heard about her a couple years ago. And of course her book deserves all the hype it gets, but the reason I waited so long is because I wanted to wait until the hype of her books has dyed down. Because there has been a few books that I read there were really hype up when I first heard about them and when I read that certain hype book I was left disappointed at the end. So that is my reason why I wait so long to read an overly hype book. But Nimona was such an amazingly and fantastic book that I couldn't put it down. Just, just I can't tell you how amazing it was if I could give it all the stars or more I would happily do so. Yes that's how great this book was for me. It was a very unique and different graphic novel I have never read a graphic novel quite like Nimona before but I so want to find more like it in the near future. My favorite part of Nimona was the art in the book and I just love and adore the designs and different color schemes in this amazing book. All the characters and plotline was well developed, rounded and done so, so, so, so well I just couldn't get enough of it. The writing style was flawless and absolutely fantastic that I wanted too read more and more of Nimona. I won't go into any details about Nimona because I think everybody's knows about it. But I do highly recommend this graphic novel it was utterly a very fun and fantastic book that you don't want to miss out! I certainly will continue reading more graphic novels by Noelle Stevenson in the near future as well!

















Noelle Stevenson is a comic artist and freelance illustrator residing in Los Angeles, California. She published the young adult graphic novel NIMONA in 2015, which is also serialized online . She has been nominated for a Harvey Award, and was awarded the Slate Cartoonist Studio Prize for Best Webcomic in 2012. She is a graduate of the Maryland Institute College of Art and has done published work for BOOM! Studios, Random House, MacMillan Press, and What Pumpkin Studios, among others. She is the co-writer of LUMBERJANES, a comic series from BOOM! Box, and has done writing work for Frederator's BRAVEST WARRIORS as well.












      

Read more »

Review: Dean Koontz's Frankenstein, Volume 1: Prodigal Son by Dean Koontz (Author), Kevin J. Anderson (Co-Author), Chuck Dixon (Adapter), Brett Booth (Illustrator)


Title: Dean Koontz's Frankenstein, Volume 1: Prodigal Son

Series: Volume 1: Prodigal Son

Author:  Dean Koontz (Author), Kevin J. Anderson (Co-Author), Chuck Dixon (Adapter), Brett Booth (Illustrator)

Genre: Adult, Graphic Novel, Thriller, Fantasy

Publication Date: February 3rd 2009 by Del Rey/Dabel Brothers

Format: Hard Cover

Source: Library


Rating:









In the nineteenth century, Dr. Victor Frankenstein brought his notorious creation to life, but a horrible turn of events forced him to abandon it and slip away from the public eye. Two centuries later, a serial killer is on the loose in New Orleans, gruesomely salvaging body parts from each of his victims, as if trying to assemble a perfect human being.

Detective Carson O’Connor is cool, cynical, and every bit as tough as she looks. Her partner, Michael Maddison, would back her up all the way to Hell itself–and that just may be where their new case leads. For as they investigate the strange killings, O’Connor and Madison find themselves drawn into a weird underworld of deception and secrets where a man named Victor Helios has created an entire race of perfectly engineered people who are meant to take humankind’s place one day. But something is happening to some of Helios’s creations, and it may be that this bizarre serial killer is the least of the detectives’ worries.

From the masterly pen of New York Times bestselling author Dean Koontz–and featuring an adaptation by legendary comic book writer Chuck Dixon and gorgeous illustrations by acclaimed artist Brett Booth–Dean Koontz’s Frankenstein: Prodigal Son is a story filled with fast-paced action, gripping horror, and thrilling adventure.








Ohh wow I actually didn't know anything about this graphic novel when I picked it up from the library, while I was browsing through the graphic novel shelf. Except that it was by Dean Koontz and I have been really wanting to read a book by Dean Koontz for a long time now, but I have never gotten a chance too check his books out until this year. I am so glad and happy that I got the chance too read this graphic novel from the library, because I really and thoroughly loved and enjoyed everything in this amazing graphic novel. It is a little bit gory but I so don't mind reading gory details in books. My favorite part of the book is the art style it was a very beautiful and absolutely creepy as heck at the same time. I just love art designs like that in graphic novels. I thought the plotline and characters were very well developed, rounded and well done to me. The writing style was absolutely flawless and haunting that I couldn't get enough reading about it I needed to know and learn more. After I finish reading Dean Koontz's Frankenstein, Volume 1: Prodigal Son I went to check if they had more Volumes of this fantastic graphic novel in my library. But sadly they don't have other volumes and I think this is the only volume that was out about Dean Koontz's Frankenstein in graphic novel form. But I did check out the first book of Dean Koontz's Frankenstein Series out from the library and they do have the rest of the books from this series in my library, so I am so going to read the rest of the Frankenstein Series by Dean Koontz soon! All and all I thoroughly loved and enjoyed everything in this fantastic graphic novel that I will most definitely continue on reading the rest of this series in book form until I finish this series next year!
















Dean Koontz (Author)


Acknowledged as "America's most popular suspense novelist" (Rolling Stone) and as one of today's most celebrated and successful writers, Dean Ray Koontz has earned the devotion of millions of readers around the world and the praise of critics everywhere for tales of character, mystery, and adventure that strike to the core of what it means to be human.

Dean R. Koontz has also published under the names Leigh Nichols, Brian Coffey, David Axton, Owen West, Deanna Dwyer and Aaron Wolfe.

Dean, the author of many #1 New York Times bestsellers, lives in Southern California with his wife, Gerda, their golden retriever, Elsa, and the enduring spirit of their goldens, Trixie and Anna.

THE SILENT CORNER is available 6.20.17

Facebook: Facebook.com/DeanKoontzOfficial
Twitter: @DeanKoontz
Website: DeanKoontz.com


 Kevin J. Anderson (Co-Author)


 He has written spin-off novels for Star Wars, StarCraft, Titan A.E., and The X-Files, and is the co-author of the Dune prequels. His original works include the Saga of Seven Suns series and the Nebula Award-nominated Assemblers of Infinity. He has also written several comic books including the Dark Horse Star Wars collection Tales of the Jedi written in collaboration with Tom Veitch, Predator titles (also for Dark Horse), and X-Files titles for Topps.

Anderson serves as a judge in the Writers of the Future contest.

His wife is author Rebecca Moesta. They currently reside near Monument, Colorado.


 Chuck Dixon (Adapter)


Charles "Chuck" Dixon is an American comic book writer, perhaps best-known for long runs on Batman titles in the 1990s.

His earliest comics work was writing Evangeline first for Comico Comics in 1984 (then later for First Comics, who published the on-going series), on which he worked with his then-wife, the artist Judith Hunt. His big break came one year later, when editor Larry Hama hired him to write back-up stories for Marvel Comics' The Savage Sword of Conan.

In 1986, he began working for Eclipse Comics, writing Airboy with artist Tim Truman. Continuing to write for both Marvel and (mainly) Eclipse on these titles, as well as launching Strike! with artist Tom Lyle in August 1987 and Valkyrie with artist Paul Gulacy in October 1987, he began work on Carl Potts' Alien Legion series for Marvel's Epic Comics imprint, under editor Archie Goodwin. He also produced a three-issue adaptation of J. R. R. Tolkien's The Hobbit for Eclipse with artist David Wenzel between 1989 and 1990, and began writing Marc Spector: Moon Knight in June 1989.

His Punisher OGN Kingdom Gone (August, 1990) led to him working on the monthly The Punisher War Journal (and later, more monthly and occasional Punisher titles), and also brought him to the attention of DC Comics editor Denny O'Neil, who asked him to produce a Robin mini-series. The mini proved popular enough to spawn two sequels - The Joker's Wild (1991) and Cry of the Huntress (1992) - which led to both an ongoing monthly series (which Dixon wrote for 100 issues before leaving to work with CrossGen Comics), and to Dixon working on Detective Comics from #644-738 through the major Batman stories KnightFall & KnightsEnd (for which he helped create the key character of Bane), DC One Million , Contagion , Legacy , Cataclysm and No Man's Land . Much of his run was illustrated by Graham Nolan.

He was DC's most prolific Batman-writer in the mid-1990s (rivalled perhaps in history by Bill Finger and Dennis O'Neil) - in addition to writing Detective Comics he pioneered the individual series for Robin , Nightwing (which he wrote for 70 issues, and returned to briefly with 2005's #101) and Batgirl , as well as creating the team and book Birds of Prey .

While writing multiple Punisher and Batman comics (and October 1994's Punisher/Batman crossover), he also found time to launch Team 7 for Jim Lee's WildStorm/Image and Prophet for Rob Liefeld's Extreme Studios. He also wrote many issues of Catwoman and Green Arrow , regularly having about seven titles out each and every month between the years 1993 and 1998.

In March, 2002, Dixon turned his attention to CrossGen's output, salthough he co-wrote with Scott Beatty the origin of Barbara Gordon's Batgirl in 2003's Batgirl: Year One. For CrossGen he took over some of the comics of the out-going Mark Waid, taking over Sigil from #21, and Crux with #13. He launched Way of the Rat in June 2002, Brath (March '03), The Silken Ghost (June '03) and the pirate comic El Cazador (Oct '03), as well as editing Robert Rodi's non-Sigilverse The Crossovers. He also wrote the Ruse spin-off Archard's Agents one-shots in January and November '03 and April '04, the last released shortly before CrossGen's complete collapse forced the cancellation of all of its comics, before which Dixon wrote a single issue of Sojourn (May '04). Dixon's Way of the Rat #24, Brath #14 and El Cazador #6 were among the last comics released from the then-bankrupt publisher.

On June 10, 2008, Dixon announced on his forum that he was no longer "employed by DC Comics in any capacity."


Brett Booth (Illustrator)


Brett Booth is an American comic book artist. He is best known for his work on Backlash, a character he co-created with Jim Lee at the Wildstorm Studios.

Following his Wildstorm work, Booth has also illustrated the exploits of some of Marvel Comics' best known characters such as Spider-Man, the Fantastic Four, and the X-Men.

The artist then expanded his career when he contributed illustrations for the Anthropomorphic How-To book: 'Freaks! How To Draw Fantastic Fantasy Creatures.

He is currently active as a paleoartist drawing dinosaurs for various publications and websites as well as continuing to draw comic books. Booth designed the cover of the Dynamite Entertainment horror comic Vampire Huntress Neteru. He illustrated DC Comics' Justice League of America, with author James Robinson (comics), series from issue #54 until #60, the title's final issue.

On July 6th, 2011 it was announced that Booth will be handling the pencilling duties on the new Teen Titans #1 that comes out as part of The New 52.

Booth is married to fellow comic writer Jessica Ruffner.




 



                       

Read more »

The Blogger Recognition Award!




I was nominated for the Blogger Recognition Award back in September by Erica at Erica Robyn Reads. Thank you so much Erica and I do deeply apologize  that this is going out so late, but I was waited for a good time to post it. Now I thought it was a great time too post it today. But please do check out Erica blog she is a wonderful and lovely book blogger and friend, and she has great contents on her book blog including tips too book blogging. Which are all amazing book blogging tips she writes.




 The Rules:
- Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
- Write a post to show your award.
- Give a brief story of how your blog started.
- Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
- Select 15 other bloggers you want to give this award to.
-Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them & provide the link to the post you created. 


So for the last rule I am actually going to do what Erica and her friend Deanna did and tag book bloggers on twitter. Because it is much faster for me and gives me a lot more time!



How I Started

I have been following book blogs since back in 2011 and I absolutely love following fellow book nerds like me. And I have always wanted to make a book blog since back in 2011. But I know I was not ready to make my own book blog, because I didn't have a lot of time on my hands and it does take a lot of patients and time to do a book blog and you have to be completely ready to do your own book blog. And I really didn't have neither of these aspects back in 2011. So I kept on following and supporting every book blogs that I can until one day that I know I was ready to make my own book blog. In 2015 I had that itch too start my very own book blog, and that itch grow, and grow every single day. I just know right there in than I was completely ready too do my own book blog. So I took the plunge and created my first book blog back in Feb 2015 for indie and self-publish books, than in Aug  2015 I created a second book blog for traditional publish books. Yes you heard that right I have two book blogs and I absolutely love blogging on both book blogs it was the best decision I ever made to make two of my own book blogs ever!



My Advice:

1.  Number one rule for me and I consider this a golden rule for me when I first started my own book blogs. You should always Respect each other in the book blogger community  no matter if  you don't like the same book or not. Always be respectful too each other and show love to your fellow book bloggers as well.


2. Always have fun on your book blogs try not to stress over it read what you want to read and post when you can. And please don't worry about numbers on your blogs book blogging should always be for fun not  for stress in my opinion. 




I Nominate: All these Book Bloggers are almost all new to me book blogger that I started to follow and some old book bloggers that I have been following for years. And they all are lovely and wonderful book bloggers as well!




Note:


Too all the Book Bloggers that I tag on this post you are not obligated in any way to do this tag. If you do this tag that is great if not that's ok as well I will totally understand. I am just doing this tag because I love spreading word about your amazing book blogs to other readers and bloggers.




















Have a great week everybody!



Read more »

Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Release Day Celebration & Giveaway: The Weirdo Academy Series by Charles Curtis

   
Welcome to the Release Day Celebration for
The Weirdo Academy Series by Charles Curtis
presented by Tantrum Books!
Be sure to enter the giveaway found at the end of the post!
 
Happy Book Birthday,Charles!
     
 
Alexander Graham Ptuiac, the son of an inventor, dreams of playing football. But his dreams are thwarted by his lack of athleticism and overall lanky build. Like any kid with a dream, Alex tries out anyway, just in case. If nothing else, maybe he can win the role of water boy. So when Alex suddenly manifests superhuman powers during football tryouts, Alex can’t believe his good luck. He’s got game! But his new abilities can get him kicked off the team; unless Alex can keep it a secret long enough to find out how the heck he got this way. Enter Dex, a diminutive classmate who can somehow jump as high as ten feet in the air. Now, Alex isn’t the only one at school with a secret. Except, the boys have caught the attention of some pretty nefarious adults, intent on making sure neither Alex nor Dex make it through the season.The only thing stranger than Alexander Graham Ptuiac, accidental quarterback, is the shocking truth about himself and his parents. When truth is stranger than fiction and adults are out to get you, there’s only one thing to do. Play ball!
Accidental Quarterback (Weirdo Academy #1) by Charles Curtis Publication Date: November 7 2017 Publisher: Tantrum Books/Month9Books
     
 
Alex and Dex are local heroes. Suddenly, everyone wants to be friends with Alex, Dex and Sophi.
But someone more powerful than any of them lurks in the background, keeping a close watch until it’s time to swoop in and capture them. Still, Alex tries to maintain some semblance of normalcy — in the offseason, he wants to play baseball. As Alex becomes a formidable pitcher, his powers grow and so does his obsession with controlling them.
With Alex finding less and less time for Dex and Sophi, Dex discovers his cat-like abilities start to disappear soon after he starts spending time with a girl.
As the friends struggle to maintain their friendships, that mysterious someone gets closer and closer. Can the three friends find their way back to one another before it’s too late? Or will middle school tear them apart for good?
The Impossible Pitcher (Weirdo Academy #2) by Charles Curtis Publication Date: November 7, 2017 Publisher: Tantrum Books/Month9Books
   
 
Charles Curtis a sportswriter for USA Today’s For The Win. He has reported and written for other publications including ESPN The Magazine, ESPN.com, Bleacher Report, NJ.com, TV Guide and Entertainment Weekly. He lives in New York City with his wife and son.
   
Complete the Rafflecopter below for a chance to win!
Read more »

Monday, November 6, 2017

Book Blitz & Giveaway: AnguiSH (AnguiSH #1) by Lila Felix


AnguiSH
Lila Felix
Published by: Clean Teen Publishing
Publication date: November 6th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
The help-wanted ad on the bulletin board at Ashland’s college was simple enough: mother seeks live-in maid for son. But it turns out Breaker James is a mess in more ways than one. He’s confined to a prison of his own making, crippled by his fear of people and any social interaction whatsoever. Every vibe he’s giving off is begging Ashland to stay away, yet she finds herself strangely drawn to him. Can she coax him out of his darkness and help him overcome the deep trauma of his past to reclaim a normal life?
A contemporary romance perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver’s Before I Fall and JoJo Moyes’ Me Before You, AnguiSH delves deep into complex human emotions and the struggle to move forward from devastating past events.
EXCERPT:
She moved over on the bed, giving me room to get in next to her. I got in. “I’m afraid I’m… God, this is hard to admit.”
Her hand glided down my jaw. “Tell me.”
“I tried—I tried to go out the other day, just for a walk or something. I couldn’t do it. I couldn’t make it past the damned threshold of the door.”
Her face was pure disappointment, and I knew mine mirrored it. Admitting it to her, I felt like a shadow of a man.
“But you tried, right? That has to count. I mean, you go out with me all the time.” Her voice faltered at the end of the sentence.
“I did try. But I couldn’t go through with it.”
She scooted closer to me and put one hand on my face while she buried her own in the hollow of my neck. “Can you just hold me and forget that there’s something we can’t do? I’d like to hang on to the notion that you can do anything—just for the night.”


Author Bio:
Lila Felix is full of antics and stories. She refused to go to Kindergarten after the teacher made her take a nap on the first day of school. She staged her first protest in middle school. She almost flunked out of her first semester at Pepperdine University because she was enthralled with their library and frequently was locked in. Now her husband and three children have to put up with her rebel nature in Louisiana where her days are filled with cypress trees, crawfish, and of course her books and writing. She writes about the ordinary people who fall extraordinarily in wild, true love.

XBTBanner1
Read more »