Friday, July 28, 2017

Review: All Things New by Lauren Miller


Title: All Things New

Series: Stand-Alone

Author: Lauren Miller

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary and Mental Health

Publication Date: August 1st 2017 by Three Saints Press

Format: E-Arc

Source:  I received this book on Netgalley in exchanged for an honest review. 


Rating:






Jessa has always felt broken inside, but she’s gotten very good at hiding it. No one at school knows about the panic attacks, the therapy that didn't help, the meds that haven’t worked. But when a severe accident leaves her with a brain injury and visible scars, Jessa’s efforts to convince the world that she’s okay finally crumble—now she looks as shattered as she feels.

Fleeing from her old life in Los Angeles, Jessa moves to Colorado to live with her dad, where she meets Marshall, a boy whose kindness and generous heart slowly draw Jessa out of her walled-off shell and into the broken, beautiful, real world—a place where souls get hurt just as badly as bodies, and we all need each other to heal.

ALL THINGS NEW is a love story about perception and truth, physical and emotional pain, and the messy, complicated people we are behind the masks we put on for the world, perfect for fans of ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES and THE FAULT IN OUR STARS.







*** I received this book through netgally in exchanged for an honest review. Thank you to Three Saints Press for giving me the opportunity too read and review All Things New! ***

I know not every reader is going to love this book and I can understand why, but I absolutely loved and enjoy this book so much. Jessa is broken in the inside with her anxiety attacks causing a lot of problems in her life, with her family, friends, boyfriend and her parents especially towards her dad who she does mistreat him until half way through the book. But let me just start from the very beginning. Jessa is living with her mom and step-father with her twin brothers her parents divorce years ago and she blames her father for the divorce and for walking away from her and her mom years ago. But after the divorce of her parents Jessa was having severe anxiety attacks that was messing up her life. Her friends from school stop talking too her and her ass of a boyfriend at the beginning of the book wanted more from her. But her boyfriend does not really understand how broken Jessa felt in the inside. Jessa mom has try everything too help Jessa even force her too go to therapy which she stupidly stop going because her reasoning was the therapist was not helping her at all. Until one terrible night at her boyfriends party she find out something terrible that just broke her heart completely which I won't say what because spoiler. But she run from the party, and got into a horrible car accident which the accident was not her fault yes she was super upset with what she find out at the party. But another driver ran a red light and hit and crush Jessa car head on. It was a complete miracle that Jessa survive but she did had some severe injures. That she completely thought and felt that she was broken now from both the inside and outside. Jessa was suffering a lot along with her injures she also had Aphantasia along with her severe injures and horrible anxiety she was a walking mess. What is Aphantasia you say I had too look up this condition as well because I honestly didn't now what it was either while reading this book. But short version of Aphantasia is the suggested name for a condition where one does not possess a functioning mind's eye and cannot visualize imagery. Now I kind of really love this aspect of the book about Aphantasia, because I never read a book with a character with this condition before and it was a very refreshing read for me. Plus I was really intrigued reading how Jessa was going through that condition that I just felt terrible for her. At the end when Jessa left the hospital she decided too moved in with her father in another state and start a new school, Yes at first Jessa mistreat her father and blame him for leaving her and her mother. But like I say much later on the book she redeem herself completely and understand her dad was trying too do what it was best for her. I will say without spoiling anything for anybody Jessa completely change her life completely for the better because some one special help her and I won't say who because that is spoiler. And no it is not her dad or her friends or her new amazing boyfriend Marshall who I just love and adore him so much that I am talking about. But they did support and help her find her true self along the way as well. But this someone special helped her the most out of all of them. And I am going to leave it off here without spoiling anything else. All and all I really loved and enjoyed everything about All Things New that I will most definitely keep my eyes out for more books by Lauren Miller. Because I really loved and enjoyed this book so much!















Lauren Miller wrote her debut, PARALLEL while on maternity leave from her law firm job and blogged about it, an experiment she called "embracing the detour" (also the name of her blog). Many people told her she was crazy. When she realized they were right, she told no one and kept writing. Her second novel, FREE TO FALL, was nominated for YALSA's 2015 Best Fiction for Young Adults reading list.

Her third novel, ALL THINGS NEW, deals with the teenage experience of anxiety and comes out on August 1, 2017 from Three Saints Press.

Born in NYC and raised in Atlanta, Lauren now lives in Los Angeles with her husband and three children. You can find her online at www.laurenmillerwrites.com.                













  

2 comments: