Saturday, April 22, 2017

Review: The Valiant (The Valiant #1) by Lesley Livingston


Title: The Valiant

Series:The Valiant #1

Author: Lesley Livingston

Genre: Young Adult, Historical and Fantasy

Publication Date: February 14th 2017 by Razorbill

Format: Hard Cover

Source: Library


Rating:







Princess. Captive. Gladiator.

Fallon is the daughter of a proud Celtic king, the sister of the legendary warrior Sorcha, and the sworn enemy of Julius Caesar.

When Fallon was a child, Caesar’s armies invaded her homeland, and her beloved sister was killed in battle.

Now, on the eve of her seventeenth birthday, Fallon is eager to follow in her sister’s footsteps and earn her place in the fearsome Cantii war band. She never gets the chance.

Fallon is captured and sold to an elite training school for female gladiators—owned by none other than Julius Caesar. In a cruel twist of fate, the man who destroyed Fallon’s family might be her only hope of survival.

Now Fallon must overcome vicious rivalries and deadly fights—in and out of the arena. And perhaps the most dangerous threat of all: her forbidden yet irresistible feelings for Cai, a young Roman soldier.






I've been seeing mix reviews about this book but I read a high praising review from a friend of mine on her blog. Which I had to pick it up because me and my friend have similar taste in books but I did have low expectation with The Valiant at first. But Ohh my I am so glad and happy that I decided to pick this book out from the library because I absolutely loved and enjoyed it. I can totally understand way some readers didn't like it as much. But I love everything about it I especially love the characters yes even the villains I love too, and the writing style was absolutely amazing as well. I love the plotline and concepts of this amazing book which I never read a book about gladertrix and different tribes, so this was very refreshing and new too me that I totally love. The world building and characters were well developed and well rounded that I couldn't get enough about them. The writing style was flawless and very descriptive that I could see everything in my mind on how she describe the world in The Valiant. There is romance in The Valiant but I don't think it is the main focused in the book, which I was alright about that aspect in the book which surprise me because I love romance in books. Now I don't want to go into any details about The Valiant because I don't want to be too spoiler, but it is basically about a Cantii warrior princess that was capture as a slave and sold to be a gladertrix in a school run by Fallon sworn enemy Caesar. After Fallon arrived in the gladertrix school she finds new friends and sisters in the school but she also find some enemy's and some truth's about the school as well. After that things go down real quick which I won't say because you need too read this book too find out what I am talking about. I really love and enjoy The Valiant so much that I can't want too read the second book next year, which well be pure torture for me ugh. Because I really want too know what happens too Fallon and Cai next after that ending! All and all I do recommend this book if you love young adult and fantasy books than this book is for you. I will also continue on reading more books by Lesley Livingston because The Valiant was the first book I read by her and I absolutely and totally love everything about it!  















Lesley Livingston is a writer and actress living in Toronto. She has a master’s degree in English from the University of Toronto, where she specialized in Arthurian Literature and Shakespeare. She frequently performs with the Tempest Theatre Group, of which she is a co-founder. She is also the author of WONDROUS STRANGE and DARKLIGHT.
You can visit Lesley online at www.lesleylivingston.com                



                      






Read more »

Review: The Centurion by Ken Gire


Title: The Centurion

Series: Stand-Alone

Author: Ken Gire

Genre: Biblical Fiction, Historical Fiction, Religion

Publication Date: February 2nd 2016 by River North

Format: Paperback

Source:  I received this book from the Moody Blogger Review Program in exchange for an honest review.   


Rating:







An ambitious Roman soldier. A stunning crucifixion. An unlikely romance. A long war and a chance reunion—the moving parts that make The Centurion a gripping story of love, duty, and sacrifice.

Lucius has always dreamed of military conquest and Roman glory. Little does he know how a routine crucifixion will change him forever.

Curious about this “King of the Jews,” Lucius seeks out His followers and falls for one Mary Magdalene. But all is interrupted when Lucius is called to lead military campaigns. There the hardships of war, year after year, wear him down to nearly nothing.

When Lucius finally returns to Rome, the city has lost its allure. A chance encounter tests his allegiances, and he must decide who he is, what is real, and what is worth dying for.
This work of historical fiction includes an extensive annotated list of sources.
 





*** I received this book by the publishers through the Moody Blogger Review Program. Thank you so much to River North publishing for the opportunity to read and review The Centurion! ***

I absolutely loved and enjoyed this book so much that it was a perfect book to read during this time of Easter or After. This book is about Faith, Love and Sacrifices you have too do in your life especially in what you believe in. As you can see I am a very religious person but I am not perfect I have a lot of flaws, so when I read The Centurion I read and drank every word in this amazing book. Because the book is about faith but it is also about so much more than that. Like I said before it is about love and sacrifices as well, but it is also is about in what you see in yourself and what you believe in. And is it right for you too fight for what you truly believe in or should you fight what your other peers and country believe in. I absolutely love reading about the struggle the centurion Lucius Alexander Titus and the disciple Mary Magdalene was going through in this book. I can see that the both of them had a lot of flaws and were in no certain way perfect, but I love reading what the both was going through. I especially love reading about what Mary Magdalene was going through after the death of the messiah Jesus Christ. As you can see this book was told in two different point of views which I did not mind reading two different pov's. I also love how the plotline and concept was well executed and the world building was well rounded and very develop as well as the characters too. I absolutely love the writing style as well which was concise and precise which I was really surprised on how much I love the writing style. You can also see the author did a lot of researches about the specific time era you can also read the sources in the back of the book which I thought that was a great idea to do in a book. But if you couldn't tell I absolutely love and enjoy The Centurion which it was a very powerful book with a lot of deep meanings in it. Now I don't want to go into any details about The Centurion without spoiling it for anybody. But it is a fictionalized story about what happen too the love between The Centurion Lucius Alexander Titus and Mary Magdalene and the struggle and journey they went through in life after the death of The Messiah Jesus Christ. All and all it The Centurion was an excellent read for me that I absolutely love and enjoy during the time of Easter. That I will most definitely try too re-read it during the Easter Holiday's as well!














Ken Gire is the author of more than 20 books, including "The Divine Embrace," "Windows of the Soul," "The Work of His Hands," the Moments with the Savior series, and the Reflective Life series. He has also co-authored "The Birthright" with John Sheasby. Two of his books have been awarded a Gold Medallion. A full-time writer and speaker, Ken is the founder of Reflective Living, a nonprofit ministry devoted to helping people learn how to slow down and live more reflective lives so they can experience life more deeply, especially life with God and other people. Ken is a graduate of Texas Christian University and Dallas Theological Seminary. He has four children and three grandchildren and lives near the Front Range of the Rocky Mountains in Monument, Colorado.

As a bestselling author, Ken speaks primarily on the subjects in the books he has written. In the past, he has spoken at such venues as Bill and Gloria Gaither's Praise Gathering, Billy Graham's Training Center---the Cove, Laity Lodge, Wind River Ranch, Young Life, as well as a variety of denominational and non-denominational churches. He has spoken in the church service itself but has mostly done church retreats. He is available to speak for large, public events as the keynote speaker or for smaller, more private events, such as leadership retreats. In all of his talks, Ken uses a variety of audio-visuals, such as film clips, and so the host would need to have the necessary equipment and someone to operate it. His messages can be anywhere from 30 minutes to an hour, depending on the venue. Since most of his speaking topics are from the books Ken has written, you can get a greater feel for his talks by first getting the book from Amazon.com, which carries both his in-print and out-of-print books.










                    


Read more »

Friday, April 21, 2017

Featured & Follow Friday #65 & Book Blogger Hop #38






THE FUTURE & FOLLOW IS HOSTED BY TWO HOSTS, PARAJUNKEE OF PARAJUNKEE'S VIEW AND ALISON OF ALISON CAN READ. EACH HOST WILL HAVE THEIR OWN FEATURE BLOG AND THIS WAY IT’LL ALLOW US TO SHOW OFF MORE NEW BLOGS.




Post Prompt:

What are some of your favorite TV shows?


My Answer:

I am going to list the shows I used to watch and that I have to catch up on. Now that I have Netflix I can catch up on some of these shows on there. If you have any TV show recommendation that shows on Netflix please tell me I would love to watch them as well, because I just recently got  a Netflix acct a couple months ago and I am really loving Netflix so far. Ohh I forgot I am also going to list two TV show that I want to watch down below as well.



Shows I need to catch up on!






TV Shows I want to watch next!













Book Blogger Hop Hosted by Billy B. at Ramblings Of A Coffee Addicted Writer





The Week Question:

Would you stop reading a book if an element of the plot strongly clashed with your personal beliefs, or would you continue reading until you finished finished the book? (submitted by Maria @ A Night's Dream of Books)



My Answer:

No I will immediately stop reading it, because I know that I will dnf it eventually. That's way I always read the synopsis first of books or I investigate a little father on what the book is about . I know some readers don't like too do this because they want to go into the book blind, and that's totally understandable and alright. But for me I want to know what book that I am getting into before buying it or picking it up from the library so I don't waste my time with it. If the book is really taboo like with incest, religious bashings, a child sexual predator, highschool students  going out with there teacher or any younger child going out with an older man is a big no for me, especially if there is a priest or nun involves in anything sexual which is a big fat no for me as well. Because there are some books out there like that. I do like dark books but not that dark. Just too list a few plotlines and concepts in books that are very taboo for me, and that I will never agree on the plot or concept because it really does go against my beliefs. And these books will make me totally uncomfortable and very upset to read them. So that's why I check the synopsis and investigate a little father in books before I pick them up. I consider myself a very open minded person and I do read some dark books but not very dark books that goes against my beliefs. I am sorry that's just how I am as a reader.

How About You?

Please Follow Me
All My Social Media Sites & GFC Link Is In The Right Side Bar.

Read more »

Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Cover Reveal: #YOLO by K.M. Pyne

 
Hello Readers! Welcome to the Cover Reveal for
#YOLO by K.M. Pyne
book 2 in the Ruby Knight Chronicles!
 
 
Once again Ruby Knight finds herself dragged into her Mam’s World. This time someone at her school is out for revenge!
Ruby, along with her friends, have to work out who is murdering students ... Why they are murdering them? ... What do they ultimately want? At the same time relationships are made and some are broken, but will Ruby find the killer in time? Or will someone else have to perish at the hands of a killer?
#YOLO by K.M. Pyne Publication Date: May 8, 2017
 
 
OTHER BOOKS IN THE SERIES:
 
 
When Ruby Knight's best friend, Catriona Taylor disappears Ruby knows something isn’t right.
Time is ticking and the race is on to find Catriona. Has she run away? Is she really on a holiday with her parents? Has something more sinister happened to her?
These are the questions facing Ruby. Can she find Catriona? Can she ask her detective Mam for help? Or will she leave it too late?
Follow Ruby on her journey to find her best friend!
 
 
KM Pyne lives in Dublin, Ireland and this is her first YA book. There are sequels which are already written and some paranormal YA’s in the future. She is married, has two children and works full time. Writing is a hobby, but it takes over more and more of her life. Characters and stories come into her mind all the time and she has to stop and write them down so that she can build on them at a later date.
 
Read more »

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Book Blitz & Giveaway: Forgotten (The Deception Game #2) by Kristin Smith


Forgotten
Kristin Smith
(The Deception Game #2)
Published by: Clean Teen Publishing
Publication date: April 25th 2017
Genres: Dystopian, Young Adult
The epic tale of Sienna Preston continues in this second installment of the exhilarating Deception Game series.
Seventeen-year-old Sienna is no stranger to heartache and loss. But this time, it’s different; someone―or something―has tampered with a loved one’s memories, and she’s determined to get answers.
The trail leads her to the glittering skyscrapers and modern luxuries of Rubex, the Capital of Pacifica, where she infiltrates the government’s Agency for Intelligence and Genetics. But answers are not always easy to come by, especially when her own memories may have been altered. Luckily, Zane Ryder is there to help her put the pieces back together, his devotion and concern muddying the waters between friendship and something more.
When Sienna gets too close to uncovering dark Agency secrets, she’s framed for the murder of a prominent government official, sending her on the run. Sienna’s heart may be torn about who she loves, but none of that really matters anymore―because the only thing that awaits her now is a death sentence.
Grab book 1 for only 99¢!
Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo
EXCERPT:
“How do you know so much about motorcycles? Did your dad ride?”
She laughs outright at my question. “My dad on a motorcycle? No way. Dad was a mixture of leather, coffee, and books. Not oil, sweat, and grease.”
After lying down on her back, she scoots up next to the bike, checking the rims and spokes to make sure there’s no damage. “It kind of became a hobby of mine after my dad died. Do you know the junkyard off Chantilly? Never mind, of course you don’t. Anyway, I found Harley there when I was looking for some old furniture to decorate our trailer with.” She looks up at me. “We didn’t always live in a trailer, you know.”
I try to hide my surprise. I assumed the opposite. “What happened?”
“After Dad died, Mom became sick. We couldn’t afford to live in our house in the suburbs anymore, so we sold it and everything in it, and found the trailer on the outskirts of town. That’s when I dropped out of school and started taking on odd jobs.”
She says it all with such a matter-of-fact tone, but I sense the truth. It was hard for her. It was more than any teenage girl should have to deal with. But she’s too strong to admit it.
“I don’t know how you did it,” I say.
She sits up, wiping her hands on her shorts. Unconsciously, I find my eyes shifting to her bare legs.
“I didn’t have a choice,” she says. She rises to her feet, straddles the bike, and bounces up and down a little. I can only assume she’s checking the chassis to make sure everything is working properly.
“Anyway,” she says. “When I found Harley, I took her home, researched antique motorcycles, and fixed her up. There’s a shop near the Hollow that sells parts, so that’s where I headed after I got my first paycheck.” She pats her bike fondly. “Never regretted it.”
I watch as she turns the key and the engine roars to life, bringing a brilliant smile to her face. I want to tell her all the ways I think she’s amazing, how she’s unlike any girl I’ve ever met, how I find her beautiful, resourceful, intelligent, and intriguing, but she doesn’t want to hear those things. Not from me anyway.


Author Bio:
Kristin Smith writes young adult contemporary and science fiction novels. When she’s not writing, you can find her dreaming about the beach, beating her boys at Just Dance, or belting out karaoke (from the comfort of her own home). Kristin currently resides in the middle-of-nowhere North Carolina with her husband and five incredibly loud but extremely cute boys. To read more about her obsession with YA novels or her addiction to chocolate, you can visit her at kristinsmithbooks.com.

XBTBanner1
Read more »