Friday, December 29, 2017

I'm Back & Life Update!




2018 Is Almost Here!








Hello my friends! I am finally back too book blogging well I am somewhat back. I am still recovering from surgery which is a very tough and rough recovery, but now I can put full body weight on my foot. I am going to start PT next week which I know is going to be pure torture. I am still at my parents house but now since I can bare full weight on my foot and I have a boot on I can come to my apartment and go online for a few hours. I will be probably coming to my apt two days a week maybe three. I don't know depends when my mom can take me home or not. But I will be only strictly be posting reviews on my blog for now on until I can fully come back to my apartment which I probably will be back home fully early Feb. I wish you all a happy holidays and prosperous new year my friends!







Read more »

Review: Saga, Vol. 4 (Saga #4) by Brian K. Vaughan & (Writer), Fiona Staples (Artist)


Title:  Saga, Vol. 4

Series: Saga #4

Author: Brian K. Vaughan (Writer) & Fiona Staples (Artist)

Genre: Adult, Graphic Novel,  Science Fiction & Fantasy

Publication Date: December 17th 2014 by Image Comics 

Format: Paperback

Source: Library


Rating:







Saga is the sweeping tale of one young family fighting to find their place in the universe. As they visit a strange new world and encounter even more adversaries, baby Hazel finally becomes a toddler, while her star-crossed parents Marko and Alana struggle to stay on their feet.

Collecting: Saga 19-24






Holy-Crap just WOWZA volume 4 is much more darker and a little bit more gorier to me from the first three volumes. I absolutely love, love, love, love this volume so much more and I dare say it is my favorite volume by far! I can not express in words on how much I totally and utterly love this volume much more without getting into any details about it or getting to spoiler about it as well. But I will share a little bit about this fantastic graphic novel. Volume 4 starts right were volume 3 left off at in the beginning chapters Princess Robot finally gives birth to her child, while Price Robot is missing. He is actually gone AWOL while he is malfunctioning from his injures. I won't say how he got his injures you have to read volume 3 too find out yourself and I also won't say where he went to after he got injured because that is spoiler. You just have too read this amazing graphic novel and find out believe me you are going to love this graphic novel. But in Prince Robot kingdom he has gone missing and is presume dead among his people, but his sassy wife Princess Robot knows he is still alive and she doesn't give a crap what everybody's else thinks! While Prince Robot is gone AWOL Marko and Alana are trying to live a normal life with there family in hiding and they both of them are in disguise of course. But of course Marko and Alana are have some issues and problems within there relationship. I will say without getting too spoiler about it, I really didn't like how Alana was acting in this volume. I actually wanted too kick her in the ass for letting her friends get her high with strong and addicting drugs. I so didn't like her so call friend she was working with giving her those terrible addicting drugs! Ugh but alas the stress of hiding her family and being in disguise to hide her identity took it's toll on Alana and it stress her out too the maximum that she started to take the drugs. Now things starts going down real quick around the middle chapters like things starts getting way crazy real quick. That I can't tell you or express to you how everything went totally insane for both Marko, Alana and Prince Robot families. But I will tell you the ending in this volume was pure epic that I can not wait and read on what happens in the next volumes. I soo didn't see that ending coming like that, I just know volume 5 is going too be full of pure epicness! All and all I thoroughly love and enjoy this volume so much I can't wait to read the next volumes in the new year 2018!













Brian K. Vaughan (Writer)


Born in Cleveland in 1976, Brian K. Vaughan is the Eisner, Harvey, and Shuster Award-winning writer and co-creator of the critically acclaimed comics series Y: The Last Man, Runaways, and Ex Machina (picked as one of the ten best works of fiction of 2005 by Entertainment Weekly).

Recently named "Writer of the Year" by Wizard Magazine, and one of the “top ten comic writers of all time” by Comic Book Resources, Vaughan’s work has been featured and/or reviewed in countless mainstream media outlets, including The New York Times, MTV, National Public Radio, and feminist magazine Bust, which photographed him for their “Men We Love” issue (don’t ask).

As an undergraduate film student at New York University, Vaughan got his big break as part of Marvel’s Stanhattan Project, a workshop for aspiring comic book writers. In the ten years since, he has written nearly all of the major DC and Marvel characters, everyone from Batman to the X-Men.

In September of 2006, Vertigo released Vaughan’s first original graphic novel, Pride of Baghdad, lavishly illustrated by artist Niko Henrichon. Inspired by an unbelievable true story of four lions who escaped the Baghdad Zoo during Operation Iraqi Freedom, Pride is equal parts anthropomorphic adventure and Animal Farm-like parable about the ongoing conflict in Iraq, and was described as "the best novel so far" about the war by the UK's Telegraph.

Along with his creator-owned work, Vaughan is currently writing The Escapists, a Dark Horse miniseries inspired by Michael Chabon’s Pulitzer Prize-winning novel The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay, as well as a new Doctor Strange limited series for Marvel with artist Marcos Martin.

This summer, the new WGA member/CAA client transplanted his poor playwright wife to Los Angeles, where Vaughan is currently working on the screenplay adaptations of Y and Ex Machina for New Line Cinema, as well as other new creations in film and television.

His home on the web is www.bkvcomics.com, and he’s become the last aging hipster to get a MySpace page: www.myspace.com/briankvaughan



Fiona Staples (Artist)


Fiona Staples is a Canadian comic book artist known for her work on books such as North 40, DV8: Gods and Monsters, T.H.U.N.D.E.R. Agents and Saga. She has been cited as one of the best female artists working in the industry, and one of the best artists overall










          
     







   



Read more »

Thursday, December 28, 2017

Review: The Stonekeeper's Curse (Amulet #2) by Kazu Kibuishi


Title: The Stonekeeper's Curse

Series: Amulet #2

Author: Kazu Kibuishi

Genre: Middle Grade, Graphic Novel, Fantasy

Publication Date: September 1st 2009 by Graphix 

Format: Hardcover

Source: Library


Rating:








In this thrilling sequel to AMULET #1: THE STONEKEEPER, Emily and her brother Navin head for Kanalis, a beautiful and mysterious city of waterfalls, where they hope to find the antidote for the poison that felled their mother. That cure lies in the eggs of a giant serpent atop Demon's Head Mountain, but the kids' archenemy, Trellis, is headed for the peak, too. A battle that will engulf all of Kanalis is looming. It's up to Em to triumph over evil while controlling the amulet's power . . . without losing herself!





Yes! I just love and adore this graphic novel series so much! This amazing series is most definitely on my top favorite graphic novel list. I don't want to go into any details about the second volume of the Amulet series, but it starts off where the first volume left off at. Emily is now the new stone keeper master of a very powerful stone. She and her beloved brother Navin are trying to save there mother from a poison. I won't say what kind of poison it is or how their mother got poison, because that is spoiler you just have to read this amazing graphic novel to find out what I am talking about. Believe me it is so worth to read this graphic novel I think you all will love this fantastic graphic novel! I fell in love with it from the very first few chapters in while I read it in the first volume. But in the second volume Emily and Navin along with their misfit crew the head too a beautiful and mystery city, where there are amazing and very gorgeous waterfalls surrounding the big city. The graphic art of the city is so gorgeous and very detail I just couldn't stop staring at the art all day long. The beautiful city is called Kanalis they all went to the city in hopes to find an antidote for Emily and Navin mother who is dying if she doesn't get the antidote in time. But when they first land in Kanalis they all met new people and friends who have been waiting for both Emily and Navin for years. While there in Kanalis there enemy's is right behind them and new dangers & adventures ensues after they are in the big city of Kanalis. Everything changes for both Emily and Navin right there and than . Both Emily and Navin find out some truth and secrets about the world they are in and they also find out about legends truths about themselves and there family and about their future in the strange world they all are in. Now I won't say what their future is about or if it gets better or worst for them because spoiler. But when I first found out about there legend future including the secrets and truth about the world from the start. I wanted to read and learn more and more about the secrets and legends. But of course I have to read the rest of the next volumes of the Amulet series to found out more. I am going to stop here without getting too spoiler. But I do highly recommend the Amulet series it is absolutely an amazingly and fantastic graphic novel that I truly love and enjoy thoroughly. The graphic art is my favorite part while reading this novels because the art is really gorgeous and very detailed I just can't get enough seeing the art. All and all you can clearly see I totally love and adore the Amulet series that I can't wait to read the next volumes of this series soon!













Kazu Kibuishi (born 1978) is an American graphic novel author and illustrator. He is best known for being the creator and editor of the comic anthology Flight and for creating the webcomic Copper. He has also written (drawn) the Amulet series. The webcomic artist and noted critic Scott McCloud has said that some of Kazu Kibuishi's work is so beautifully drawn that "it hurts my hands when I look at it".



          



 

    
 

Read more »

Tuesday, December 19, 2017

Review: The Fifth Petal by Brunonia Barry


Title: The Fifth Petal

Series: Stand-Alone

Author:  Brunonia Barry

Genre: Adult, Fiction, Mystery

Publication Date: January 24th 2017 by Crown

Format: Paperback

 Source: I received this book from the Blogging for Books program in exchange for an honest review.


Rating:







Could a witch hunt happen again in Salem?

For readers of Deborah Harkness's A Discovery of Witches, New York Times bestselling author of The Lace Reader Brunonia Barry returns to Salem with this spellbinding new thriller, a complex brew of suspense, seduction and murder.

When a teenage boy dies suspiciously on Halloween night, Salem's chief of police, John Rafferty, wonders if there is a connection between his death and Salem's most notorious cold case, a triple homicide dubbed "The Goddess Murders," in which three young women, all descended from accused Salem witches, were slashed on Halloween night in 1989. He finds unexpected help in Callie Cahill, the daughter of one of the victims newly returned to town. Neither believes that the main suspect, Rose Whelan, respected local historian, is guilty of murder or witchcraft.

But exonerating Rose might mean crossing paths with a dangerous force. Were the women victims of an all-too-human vengeance, or was the devil raised in Salem that night? And if they cannot discover what truly happened, will evil rise again?
 






Ohh wow this was such an amazing and fantastic book I thoroughly loved and enjoy it so much. It is actually the first time I read a book by Brunonia Barry, but it won't be my last book that I will read by her. This book is a great book for Halloween because it is about witches and folklore. The author did amazing job going through the history of the Salam witch trail, the history of witches and folklore. I absolutely love reading the rich history of the witches and folklore, I also love the history of some of the religious background as well. They all were quite intriguing and fascinating to me to read I just couldn't get enough reading about it! I also love the fancy, delicious and rich food that the fifth petal had my mouth just water while reading the amazing food the had in this book. I don't want to go into any details about The Fifth Petal because I don't want to spoil it for anybody. But I will say the beginning chapters does start of slow because it is setting up for the plot. Which the plot line is absolutely fascinating to me that I had to read way into the wee late night just to read one more chapter, because I couldn't get enough of it. There is also a murder mystery in the plotline as well which you all know I love a great murder mystery. That I tell you I so didn't see who the culprit was at the end. I mean the clues where all in front of my face while I was reading it, but it left me guessing until the very end on who was the killer all along. And I was really surprise on who the real killer was. All the characters were all amazingly well rounded and develop I especially love Callie and Paul. I actually loved all the characters yes I also love the villains as well. The writing style was very expressive and descriptive that I just love reading every details and expressions in the fifth petal. All and all The Fifth Petal was an amazing and fantastic book for me that I can't wait to read more books by Brunonia Barry in the near future.

*** I received this book through Blogging For Books Program in exchanged for an honest review, thank you so much to Crown Publishing Group for the opportunity to read and review The Fifth Petal! ***













Brunonia Barry is the New York Times and international best selling author of THE LACE READER, THE MAP OF TRUE PLACES, and THE FIFTH PETAL, which will be released in January 2017. Her work has been translated into more than thirty languages. She was the first American author to win the International Women’s Fiction Festival’s Baccante Award and was a past recipient of Ragdale Artists’ Colony’s Strnad Fellowship as well as the winner of New England Book Festival’s award for Best Fiction, a People Magazine Pick, and Amazon’s Best of the Month. Her reviews and articles on writing have appeared in The London Times, The Washington Post, and The Huffington Post. She is a regular contributor to Writer Unboxed. Brunonia chairs the Salem Athenaeum’s Writers’ Committee and serves on Grub Street’s Development Committee. She is the Executive Director of the Salem Lit Fest, an annual event that brings people to Salem, MA from all over the world. She lives in Salem with her husband, Gary, and their dog, Angel.







   



Read more »

Wednesday, November 22, 2017

Book Spotlight: Fragments of the Lost by Megan Miranda




Title: FRAGMENTS OF THE LOST
Author: Megan Miranda
Pub. Date: November 14, 2017
Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 384
Formats: Hardcover, eBook
Find it: AmazonB&NiBooksTBDGoodreads






Jessa Whitworth knew she didn’t belong in her ex-boyfriend Caleb’s room. But she couldn’t deny that she was everywhere—in his photos, his neatly folded T-shirts, even the butterfly necklace in his jeans pocket…the one she gave him for safe keeping on that day.

His mother asked her to pack up his things—even though she blames Jessa for his accident. How could she say no? And maybe, just maybe, it will help her work through the guilt she feels about their final moments together.

But as Jessa begins to box up the pieces of Caleb’s life, they trigger memories that make Jessa realize their past relationship may not be exactly as she remembered. And she starts to question whether she really knew Caleb at all.

Each fragment of his life reveals a new clue that propels Jessa to search for the truth about Caleb’s accident. What really happened on the storm-swept bridge?



About Megan
Megan Miranda is the New York Times bestselling author of All the Missing Girls. She has also written several books for young adults, including FractureHysteriaVengeanceSoulprint, and The Safest Lies. She grew up in New Jersey, graduated from MIT, and lives in North Carolina with her husband and two children. The Perfect Stranger (4/11/17) is her second novel of psychological suspense. 
Megan is represented by Sarah Davies at The Greenhouse Literary Agency










Tour Schedule:

Week One:
11/1/2017- Adventures of a Book JunkieInterview
11/2/2017- A Gingerly ReviewReview
11/3/2017- A Dream Within A DreamReview

Week Two:
11/6/2017- Once Upon a TwilightReview
11/7/2017- LILbooKloversInterview
11/8/2017- Book-KeepingReview
11/9/2017- Pink Polka Dot Books-Review
11/10/2017- Confessions of a YA ReaderReview

Week Three:
11/13/2017- BookHounds YAInterview
11/14/2017- Here's to Happy EndingsReview
11/15/2017- Amanda Gernentz HansonReview
11/16/2017- Owl Always Be ReadingReview
11/17/2017- Literary MeanderingsInterview

Week Four:
11/20/2017- Ex LibrisReview
11/21/2017- Step Into FictionReview
11/22/2017- Kati's Bookaholic Rambling ReviewsReview
11/23/2017- YA Books CentralInterview
11/24/2017- Mama Reads BlogReview

Week Five:
11/27/2017- Texan Girl ReadsReview
11/28/2017- Fiction FareReview
11/29/2017- Book Princess ReviewsInterview
11/30/2017- Lattes & PaperbacksReview

Read more »

Thursday, November 9, 2017

Temporary Hiatus & Life Update!







Well I am really sorry to say that I will be going on a temporary hiatus started today. Unfortunately I will be having surgery pretty soon but not just one surgery but two different surgery in different months. What do I mean you say well I start at the very  beginning of my story. Around late spring early summer of this year I started having pains on both of my ankles and my ankles were really swollen too. Being me I didn't say anything to my parents because I thought it was nothing bad, so one day my uncle notice that I was limping while I was walking. So naturally my mother thought it was my right knee acting up again which I had two surgery on my right knee already. So one day my mother ask me if my rt knee is bothering me again and I ask her why she is asking that she than say's to me, because she see's me limping while I was walking all the time. So I finally told her the truth that it wasn't my knee that was bothering me it was both of my ankles. So of course she got mad at me that I didn't say anything to her about both of my ankles, and she told me too immediately called my general doctor. Of course I called my general doctor right away, so when I saw my doctor he decided to do two x-rays on both my ankles and feet too see what is going on with them. He told me it was probably a heel  bone spur but he wanted to make sure if he was right or not. So flash forward into two weeks when I got my x-rays all done and everything I went back to my general doctor but this time my mom accompany me to the doctors. When the doctors saw the x-rays and report I just know it was not good news because how his face reacted when he first saw the reports and x-rays. You see he was right that I did have a bone spur but not on my heels but on both of my achilles heels. Which it is the worst spot to have a bone spur at my general doctor told me for the very start there are no remedy's I mean totally nothing that will help me with my pain, discomfort and swollen of my ankles but surgery. So he sent me too a foot and ankle doctors who specialize on what I have on both of my achilles heels. The foot and ankle doctor try first with me with physical therapy first and see if that would help so I wouldn't have to do surgery, but guess what I went to do physical therapy for almost three weeks. But the pain and discomfort was just too much and the pain got much worst after each time I went to physical therapy. So my physical therapist sent me back to my foot and ankle doctor. And when I saw him that's where we decided surgery was the best and only option I can go with. So now I will be having surgery done on one foot pretty soon and than when I fully recover for that surgery I will have surgery done on my other foot done as well. Now the recovery time for this type of surgery will be 3 to 6 months. Now that's why I am going on a temporary hiatus, because I will be recover at my parents house which unfortunately my parents don't have no internet so I will be completely offline totally when I am recovery from both surgery. I will post a few things here and there on my social media sites and probably on my blogs if I can, but it is a big IF I can get back online. But I would probably just post only books reviews on here for the time being until I can fully get back to blogging again. I will most diffidently will continue on reading books, in matter of fact I pick a lot of books on my tbr list that I am taking with me too my parents house to read. I will miss all of you my friends and I will totally miss blogging while I am recovery for surgery. I will be thinking about you all as well. Well wish me luck and please pray for me that everything will go smoothly and well in my surgery!











Read more »

Wednesday, November 8, 2017

Review: The Seance by John Harwood


Title: The Séance

Series: Stand-Alone

Author: John Harwood

Genre: Adult, Historical Fiction, Mystery, Horror, Gothic

Publication Date: April 3rd 2008 by Jonathan Cape, Vintage Publishing

Format: Hard Cover

Source: Library


Rating:









Wraxford Hall, a decaying mansion in the English countryside, has a sinister reputation. Once, a family disappeared there. And now Constance Langton has inherited this dark place as well as the mysteries surrounding it. Having grown up in a house marked by the death of her sister, Constance is no stranger to mystery, secrets, and the dark magic around us. Her father was distant. Her mother was in perpetual mourning for her lost child. In a desperate attempt to coax her mother back to health, Constance took her to a seance hoping she would find supernatural comfort. But tragic consequences followed, leaving her alone in the world-- alone with Wraxford Hall. Saddled with this questionable bequest, she must find the truth at the heart of all these disappearances, apparitions, betrayal, blackmail, and villainy, even if it costs her life. John Harwood's second novel delivers on the great promise proven by his first with this gripping mystery set in the heart of Victorian England.








I know this book was not for everybody and I totally understand way, but I absolutely loved and enjoyed it so much. I actually pick this book up from the library for a book club group that I joined on goodreads that there were going to read in the month of Oct. I know some readers from the book club group didn't really like this one. Because it does have different pov's and subplots within the story that it all connects to the main plot at the very end. It also have a very eerie, haunted and dark gothic vibe too the book as well. I just love and enjoy all these aspects in this book I also really love the writing style in The Séance I don't now how to describe it too you on why I love John Harwood writing style, but I just love how John Harwood writes and I thoroughly love how he tells as an amazing haunting and very eerie story in The Séance to me. I really don't want to go into too many details about the books, because I don't want to spoil it for anybody. But I will say if you love a good haunted, very eerie and dark gothic book than this book is for you. If you haven't read a book quite like The Séance before I still say give it a try who knows you might be surprise and love this dark gothic tale! All and all I absolutely loved and enjoyed everything in The Séance that I will most definitely try too read more books by John Harwood in the near future.

















John Harwood is the author of two previous novels of Victorian Gothic suspense. Aside from fiction, his published work includes biography, poetry, political journalism and literary history. His acclaimed first novel, The Ghost Writer, won the International Horror Guild's First Novel Award. He lives in Hobart, Australia.


 




                       

Read more »