Trick or Treat Round The Block Book Tag - Weekend Book Tag Day #18

Saturday, October 19, 2019




It's time for another weekend book tag day today and today's book tag is  Trick or Treat Round The Block Book Tag  where I found on The Sassy Book Geek blog please do check out her blog it is really an amazing book blog. This tag was created by The Bookish Porcupine.



Now's Let's Go Onwards To The Questions!


1. Creepy house on the corner of the street: Book with a creepy cover.





2. Lights out (party poopers): A book you want to read when you want to escape.

I need a fantasy fix after reading all scary books this month I really want to read The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air, #1) by Holly Black this Tuesday because I absolutely love Holly Black's books especially I love Fae books as well.



3. The house that gives out the cheap candy: Guilty pleasure book.

I know not a lot of readers liked this trilogy or love it but I absolutely love this trilogy so much. This is the first book that got me into reading Romance books in the first place and it totally is my guilty pleasure book that I loved to read and that book is Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, #1) by E.L. James

 4.) The house with the best decorations on the block: Best haunting/Halloween themed cover.
I the graphic novel of Pumpkinheads by Rainbow Rowell (Author) & Faith Erin Hicks (Author) (Illustrator) is a great Halloween themed book cover.

5. The house that gives out the best candy: #1 Halloween recommendation.

I am currently listening to on audio cd form too Ninth House (Alex Stern, #1) by Leigh Bardugo. And I am really loving it so far in. 





Speed Round:

1. Corn Maze or Haunted House?

Haunted House I've already been to a Corn Maze at night and it was so much fun I really want to try out a Haunted House one day.


2. Classic or Unique Costume?

Definitely unique costume I love looking different from other kids costumes when I was a kid.  


3. Sexy or Scary Costume?

Most definitely sexy costume for me.


4. Comedy or Horror Halloween Film?

Horror Halloween Films I always watch horror films every year in October!


5. Chocolate or Sour Candy?

I love both but I always love sour candy more. 






I tag anybody who want to do this fun Halloween book tag I had a lot of fun posting it!
Read more »

Book Blitz & Giveaway: Amber Sky by Cassia Leo

Friday, October 18, 2019


Amber Sky
Cassia Leo
Publication date: October 18th 2019
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
From New York Times bestselling author Cassia Leo comes a new stand-alone novel, Amber Sky, the haunting, atmospheric love story of Walker Ainsley and Cassidy O’Connor.
A devastating car crash leaves Cassidy O’Connor stranded in rural Pennsylvania. Her only company is Walker Ainsley, the ruggedly handsome man who saved her from the wreckage and took her into his home. But when her ride back to town arrives after the crash, Cassidy can’t bring herself to leave Walker behind. She is determined to convince him to go back to town with her, until she begins to wonder if she actually survived the crash that brought them together.
EXCERPT:
The door to Walker’s bedroom is wide open. As I approach, I try to think of what I’ll say when I wake him. But when I arrive at the threshold, I find him awake, sitting on the windowsill, gazing out at the night sky. He’s wearing nothing but a pair of jeans, and his dark hair is wild, as if he’d been tossing and turning before he got up.
I enter without announcing my presence, but a creaky floorboard does it for me. Walker turns his head slowly to watch me approach. He doesn’t seem surprised to see me in his bedroom.
I stand next to him and look out the window to see what he’s gazing at. The sky is pitch black and studded with twinkling stars of various sizes and colors. It’s not a city night sky, muted by light pollution. It’s a brilliant, shimmering cloak wrapped around the world, beckoning us to embrace the night.
When I turn away from the window, Walker is staring at me, a new quiet confidence in his eyes. The moonlight paints silvery streaks over his cheekbones, collarbone, and pectoral muscles. He looks beautiful enough to paint.
Taking a cue from the look in his eyes, I turn toward him to let him see all of me. His gaze skims over every inch of my body, stopping for a while on my breasts. Taking a step forward, I take his hand in mine and hold it for a moment. When his eyes look up to meet mine, I lay his hand on my chest, so he can feel my heartbeat.
The corners of his mouth turn up at the sensation of my pulse pounding against his fingertips. “You are real.”


Author Bio:
New York Times bestselling author Cassia Leo loves her coffee, chocolate, and margaritas with salt. When she’s not writing, she spends way too much time re-watching Game of Thrones and Sex and the City. When she’s not binge watching, she’s usually enjoying the Oregon rain with a hot cup of coffee and a book.

GIVEAWAYS!
Enter to win a FAB giveaway on Cassia’s Facebook Page!
XBTBanner1
Read more »

Review: Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark (Scary Stories, #1) by Alvin Schwartz (Author) & Stephen Gammell (Illustrator)


Title: Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark

Series: Scary Stories, #1

Author:  Alvin Schwartz (Author) & Stephen Gammell (Illustrator)

Genre: Young Adult, Horror, Fiction Short Stories

Publication Date: October 1st, 1989 by Scholastic, Inc.

Format: Paperback

Source: Library


Rating:








This spooky addition to Alvin Schwartz's popular books on American folklore is filled with tales of eerie horror and dark revenge that will make you jump with fright. There is a story here for everyone—skeletons with torn and tangled flesh who roam the earth; a ghost who takes revenge on her murderer; and a haunted house where every night a bloody head falls down the chimney. Stephen Gammell's splendidly creepy drawings perfectly capture the mood of more than two dozen scary stories—and even scary songs—all just right for reading alone or for telling aloud in the dark. 

If You Dare!





I wanted to watch the film of Scary Stories but I had the feeling that the movie was going to combine all three books of Scary Stories trilogy in the films. So I wanted to read the whole Scary Stories trilogy in the spooky month of October which this trilogy is a perfect book to read during the Halloween season. The first book Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark was creepy and very spooky each scary story are folklore stories the people and settlers said during a campfire on a late spooky night to scare people surrounding them and I tell you all this book gave me the heebies jeebies just reading the first story. I read this book during the late evening in my apartment alone and I was spooked out with some of the stories. All the stories in Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark were amazing and had me squirming in my seat. There were some stories that I actually can see happening in real life that I just shutter just thinking about it. I loved and enjoyed this amazing book so much that I checked out the next two books in the Scary Stories trilogy from the Library I have finished reading the other two books and I will post a review on them soon.  I read Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark in one setting it is a short book to read it is only 111 pages long. All and all I loved and enjoyed Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark that I can't wait to read more spooky stories during the Halloween season!














Alvin Schwartz (Author)

Alvin Schwartz was the author of more than fifty books dedicated to and dealing with topics such as folklore and word play, many of which were intended for young readers. He is often confused with another Alvin Schwartz, who wrote Superman and Batman daily comics strips and a novel titled The Blowtop. 



Stephen Gammell  (Illustrator)

Caldecott winner US children's book illustrator.
Read more »

Review: American Gods, Volume 1: Shadows (Neil Gaiman's American Gods: The Shadows, #1-9) by Neil Gaiman (Author) Philip Craig Russell, Scott Hampton (Illustrator) & Scott Hampton (Illustrator)

Thursday, October 17, 2019


Title: American Gods, Volume 1: Shadows 

Series: Neil Gaiman's American Gods: The Shadows, #1-9

Author:  Neil Gaiman (Author) Philip Craig Russell, Scott Hampton (Illustrator) & Scott Hampton (Illustrator)

Genre: Adult, Fantasy, Mythology, Graphic Novel

Publication Date: March 13th, 2018 by Dark Horse Books 

Format: e-book

Source: Library


Rating:








Shadow Moon gets out of jail only to discover his wife is dead. Defeated, broke, and uncertain where to go from here, he meets the mysterious Mr. Wednesday, who employs him to serve as his bodyguard--thrusting Shadow into a deadly world where ghosts of the past come back from the dead, and a god war is imminent. Collecting the first nine issues of the American Gods comic book series, along with art process features, high res scans of original art, layouts, character designs, and variant covers by BECKY CLOONAN, SKOTTIE YOUNG, FABIO MOON, DAVE MCKEAN, and MORE!






I wanted to read more graphic novels and more books by Neil Gaiman so when I was looking through overdrive I came across the graphic novel of American Gods by Neil Gaiman. I thought this was a perfect book for me to read because this book was actually what I was looking for in the first place. I've been wanted to read the physical book of American God by Neil Gaiman for a long time now because I want to watch the tv show so I decided to read the American Gods graphic novel first to see what I think about the plotline and aspect of the book.  And I loved and enjoyed this amazing graphic novel so much that in November I'm going to read the physical book on audio through overdrive because the physical book is a huge book it is over 635 pages long, so there is no way I'm going to read the physical book plus I am really loving listening to audiobooks this year.  I won't get into any details about this graphic novel because I think every reader knows what American Gods is all about plus I think readers should check out this graphic novel and see what they think about it themselves. But my favorite part of this graphic novel is the artwork it was so beautifully artistic that I just love how the artwork brought each character to life in this graphic novel.  I just could stare on and on of the artwork for a long time. All and all I loved and enjoyed the graphic novel of American Gods I can't wait to read more Neil Gaiman books soon! 















Neil Gaiman (Author)

I make things up and write them down. Which takes us from comics (like SANDMAN) to novels (like ANANSI BOYS and AMERICAN GODS) to short stories (some are collected in SMOKE AND MIRRORS) and to occasionally movies (like Dave McKean's MIRRORMASK or the NEVERWHERE TV series, or my own short film A SHORT FILM ABOUT JOHN BOLTON). In my spare time I read and sleep and eat and try to keep the blog at www.neilgaiman.com more or less up to date.




Read more »

Book Blitz & Giveaway: Primal Mate (Alphas of Sandor, #2) by Tabitha Black


Primal Mate
Tabitha Black
(Alphas of Sandor, #2)
Published by: Blushing Books Publications
Publication date: October 15th 2019
Genres: Adult, Romance, Science Fiction
It happened at the worst possible time…
Nobody knows my terrible secret – not my friends, not my colleagues, not even my powerful father. All this time, I’ve been living and working amongst them as a respected, high-powered Alpha woman.
The only thing saving me from certain ruin and the destruction of my dreams are the suppressants I take daily, the medication I’ve been using to hide in plain sight. Because, in truth, I’m an Omega.
And then the unthinkable happens. The suppressants stop working in a crowded room full of Alpha men, one of whom decides we’re fated to be together.
He will pursue me until I surrender but while my body craves him, I refuse to give up my life to become nothing more than an Alpha’s mate…
Publisher’s Note: This dark MF Omegaverse romance contains elements of power exchange and explicit scenes which may trigger some readers.
EXCERPT:
It had started with a slight tingle so faint, Evander had wondered whether he was imagining it. After years of fruitless hunting for his mate, it was logical that he might mistake even the slightest unusual sensation as a sign he was finally going into rut.
But while he had been talking to Clara, the tingle had morphed into a ball of lust which had slammed through his lower belly so violently, he felt winded. Simultaneously, a divine, musky scent had filled his nostrils, intensifying a deep ache in his groin and putting all his senses on high alert.
After all this time, after all these years of waiting, it was finally happening.
Evander was going into rut.
Barely able to contain his excitement, he had immediately excused himself from the attractive, brunette Clara and examined every single Omega female in the immediate vicinity. Oddly, instead of intensifying, the scent had grown fainter.
Clouded as his mind was with the sudden onslaught of pheromones flooding his system and sending his primal instinct into overdrive, it had taken a moment for him to put two and two together.
But it couldn’t be. Clara was an Alpha, like him.


Author Bio:
USA Today bestselling author Tabitha Black has been writing erotic romance for well over a decade, mostly in the age-play and historical genres. More recently, she's discovered the joys of writing more contemporary books with a greater emphasis on BDSM, as well as darker, edgier fiction.
Having lived in four countries on three different continents, she likes to "write to discover what she knows."
She has a weakness for great coffee, strong, kind but dominant men, and tattoos. At the time of writing, she lives in Germany with her very own dominant, sadistic and loyal romantic hero, and a lilac cat who likes to sneeze in her face.

XBTBanner1
Read more »

Cover Reveal & Giveaway: Reforming the CEO by Marisa Cleveland

Tuesday, October 15, 2019



Today New York Times Bestselling author, Marisa Cleveland, Entangled Publishing, LLC (Indulgence), and Rockstar Book Tours are revealing the cover for her Contemporary Romance REFORMING THE CEO, which releases on November 11, 2019! Check out the awesome cover and enter the giveaway!

On to the reveal!



Title: REFORMING THE CEO
Author: Marisa Cleveland
Pub. Date: November 11, 2019
Publisher: Entangled Publishing, LLC (Indulgence)
Formats: Paperback, eBook
Pages: 200

What happens when your next door neighbor is the hottest, most notorious playboy in all of South Beach?

Reece Rowe is on hiatus from respectability. Before she returns to her stable, boring existence of charity events and dating predictable, stuffy suitors who are only interested in getting closer to the wealthy family who adopted her, she’s going to get a taste of what she’s been missing. She screws up her courage and heads to Vincent Ferguson’s office to find out what all the women in South Beach already seem to know about him.

Once CEO Vin Ferguson’s tech company goes public, he’ll have proved he’s no longer the poor, gritty kid from the wrong side of the tracks. But, citing his bad boy reputation, some financial backers waver, and his friends suggest dating a more respectable woman to improve his image. Ridiculous. Because delectable but snooty socialites, like his next door neighbor, are way out of his league.

And then, Reese walks through his office door and makes him an offer. To say his jaw hits the floor is an understatement.

And he can’t believe what she just proposed...

Excerpt:

What are you wearing?

Her skin heated at the innuendo, and she felt her face flush, despite being alone. Feeling naughty, she shed her tank top and jeans and hopped in the shower. She didn’t have to answer him right away.

Twenty minutes later, with the water still dripping from her hair, she texted back,

Just got out of the shower.

His reply was immediate.

A picture’s worth a 1,000 words.

After applying her favorite lotion and sliding into her bra and underwear set, she scrolled through her phone until she found the silver shower head streaming water and sent that emoji.

A peach and clapping hands appeared, and it took her a moment to figure out the meaning. When she did, her nipples tightened.

She sent him back a French flag and lips. Shouldn’t they start slow?

His reply—the French flag, lips, and a honey pot— sent heat straight between her legs. No question, sex was happening. Tonight. And now, her underwear was as wet as her hair.

She took her time with the blow dryer and changed into a different underwear set. She hadn’t responded to his last text, but a new one came through. 

Meeting almost over. See you in the garden.

The man had been sexting from his boardroom? She sent him the snowflake.

He sent back the fire emoji.


About Marisa:

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Marisa Cleveland understands the power of words, education, and the ability to communicate. With more than two decades in the education and publishing industry, Marisa is adamant about supporting efforts toward the betterment of the human condition. Toward that goal, she is a doctoral student documenting her discoveries at AlwaysAngling.org.

Marisa has led writing programs, chaired events and fundraisers, and mentored emerging bestselling authors through the literary agency where she works as the Strategic Communications Executive Director. Previous to entering the publishing industry, she gained experience in higher education administration, in secondary education, and in writing, including technical, grant, research, and dissertation analysis. She has been featured at various book festivals and participated on panels and in workshops focusing on diversity, civil discourse, communications, and the state of the publishing industry. She has five peer-reviewed academic publications, over twenty published book remarks in a regional newspaper, and eight published novels.

Gulfshore Business and D’Latinos magazines honored Marisa with the Arts and Culture 2015 FACE Award, celebrating diversity in Southwest Florida, and in 2014, Gulfshore Business selected her as a “Forty Under Forty” honoree.


Marisa is ridiculously adamant about supporting the cultural and performing arts. For over two decades, she coached athletes in gymnastics, cheerleading, dance, and diving. She is a member of the National Communication Association, an associate member of PRSA and the National Capital Chapter, a former board member for the Naples Press Club, a former board member for Southwest Florida Romance Writers, a Friend of CAPA, and a member of Romance Writers of America.

In college, she received the President’s Merit Award for her active participation in the Society for Advancement of Management, where she had the opportunity to develop her own philosophy of what makes innovative, professional leaders, and she was later inducted into Kappa Delta Pi‘s Nu Alpha chapter.

Currently completing her doctorate in organizational leadership studies from Northeastern University, Marisa has a master’s in educational administration, a bachelor’s in speech communications, and is a 2015 Leadership Marco Graduate.

She loves to connect with writers and readers through social media.



Giveaway Details:


1 winner will win a $15 Amazon GC, International.

Read more »

Release Day Celebration & Giveaway: Bertie's Book of Spooky Wonders by Ocelot Emerson






Welcome to the Release Day Celebration for

Bertie's Book of Spooky Wonders
by Ocelot Emerson

presented by Month9Books/Tantrum Books!


HAPPY BOOK BIRTHDAY, OCELOT!






Twelve-year-old Bertie Blount is great at causing trouble. When she's forced to leave behind her dad and friends in North Carolina so her mom can marry the most boring optometrist in the world, Bertie has a chance at a fresh start.
But when Bertie arrives in Pennsylvania, she doesn’t just bring trouble; she brings disaster. In a moment of anger, Bertie unwittingly triggers an accident that puts her future stepbrother in a coma.
Broken and desperate to make things right, Bertie prays for a miracle. Instead, the universe gives her a pair of supernatural sunglasses, a wise-cracking doppleganger, and a terrifying ghost that sends Bertie on a dangerous mission to find the one thing that just might save her stepbrother’s life.
 





Bertie's Book of Spooky Wonders by Ocelot Emerson
Publication Date: October 15, 2019
Publisher: Tantrum Books










Ocelot Emerson is the freakish result of a mad scientist's experiment gone horribly wrong. Born half magnificent cat, half malicious human, Ocie escaped from the secret International Prison For Wayward Creatures, and into a deep dark woods, only to be captured by a pack of ravenous ghost wolves. In a stroke of good fortune, the Great Spirit Wolves set aside their natural disdain for all things feline and accepted the cat person into their pack, where they taught Ocie how to hunt and tell bizarre yet heartwarming tales. Bertie’s Book of Spooky Wonders is Ocelot’s first novel aimed at feral and phenomenally gifted children. That means you, kid!






 




Read more »