Wednesday, June 21, 2017

"Waiting On" Wednesday #67: Renegades (Renegades #1) by Marissa Meyer










"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill At Breaking The Spine , that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating


 
What too participate? Grab the logo post your own WOW entry on your blog and leave your link below. 


 
Here Is My WOW  Pick For This Week:



Renegades (Renegades #1)

By Marissa Meyer

Publication Date: November 7th 2017 by Feiwel & Friends








From #1 New York Times-bestselling author Marissa Meyer, comes a high-stakes world of adventure, passion, danger, and betrayal.

Secret Identities.
Extraordinary Powers.
She wants vengeance. He wants justice.

The Renegades are a syndicate of prodigies—humans with extraordinary abilities—who emerged from the ruins of a crumbled society and established peace and order where chaos reigned. As champions of justice, they remain a symbol of hope and courage to everyone...except the villains they once overthrew.

Nova has a reason to hate the Renegades, and she is on a mission for vengeance. As she gets closer to her target, she meets Adrian, a Renegade boy who believes in justice—and in Nova. But Nova's allegiance is to a villain who has the power to end them both.








I absolutely love and enjoy Marissa Meyer Lunar Chronicles books, which are one of my favorite book series. I need too read her other book including this one, which looks and sounds totally amazing and right up my alley!



What Is Your WOW Pick For This Week?


    

Read more »

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Release Day Launch & Giveaway: Salvaged (Saints of Denver #4) by Jay Crownover

   

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jay Crownover continues her delightfully sexy Saints of Denver series with the next thrilling standalone, SALVAGED! Don’t miss this amazing new novel and grab your copy today!

   

Hudson Wheeler is a nice guy. Everyone knows it, including his fiancĂ©e who left him with a canceled wedding and a baby on the way. He’s tired of finishing last and is ready to start living in the moment with nights soaked in whiskey, fast cars, and even faster girls. He’s set to start living on the edge, but when he meets Poppy Cruz, her sad eyes in the most gorgeous face he’s ever seen hook him in right away. Wheeler can see Poppy’s pain and all he wants to do is take care of her and make her smile, whatever it takes.

Poppy can’t remember a time when she didn’t see strangers as the enemy. After a lifetime of being hurt from the men who swore to protect her, Poppy’s determined to keep herself safe by keeping everyone else at arm’s length. Wheeler’s sexy grin and rough hands from hours restoring classic cars shouldn’t captivate her, but every time she’s with him, she can’t help being pulled closer to him. Though she’s terrified to trust again, Poppy soon realizes it might hurt even more to shut Wheeler out—and the intense feelings pulsing through her are making it near impossible to resist him.

The only thing Poppy is sure of is that her heart is in need of some serious repair, and the more time she spends with Wheeler, the more she’s convinced he’s the only man with the tools to fix it.

   

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Google Play

iBooks | Amazon UK | Amazon Canada

 

ADD SALVAGED TO YOUR GOODREADS

       
EXCERPT: I didn’t want her to be scared of anything ever again. Things at home had been rocky, rougher than class-five rapids in winter, but I was paddling for my life and prepared to ride it out. I couldn’t let go. I wouldn’t let go. I saw Poppy the day she walked through my shop and I started to feel how sore my hands and my heart were from holding on. Her head was down, focused on the tips of her shoes. Her shoulders were hunched over and her long hair hid her face. She was skinny, so skinny, nothing but skin and bones. She was nothing that I should have noticed, not because she was clearly doing everything in her power to be invisible, but because I was supposed to have my eyes locked on my future and doing whatever I could do to salvage it. But I did notice her and I couldn’t look away once I did. She was obviously terrified, clearly out of her element and uncomfortable, but it wasn’t her unease that called to me…it was her loneliness. I could feel it filling up the space that separated us. Stretching, growing, expanding until it was all I was breathing in and exhaling back out. It was bitter on my tongue and heavy across my skin because I knew the feeling well. I lived with it pressing me down and pushing me forward every minute of every day. The reason I was so set on the way things had to be, the reason I was singlemindedly set on settling down and building a life with the girl that was slipping through my fingers was because I never again wanted to be as alone as this girl was. I didn’t want to be left and forgotten. I’d barely survived it the first time. I did my best to sell her a car that was as beautiful as she was…a classic with clean lines and a flawless finish. She picked something practical and boring but that was ultimately safe and reliable. I understood her choice but it grated and annoyed me long after she left the shop. When she wasn’t standing in front of me, she should have been easy to forget; after all, everything in front of me, everything I had been working for and toward, was falling down in front of my eyes. My world was collapsing in on itself and everything I thought I was so goddamn sure about turned out to be nothing more than lies and illusions. In the middle of all of it, I couldn’t forget her sad eyes and shivering, shaking form. Her loneliness clung to me, unshakable and unforgettable. I didn’t think I would see her again and against my better judgment I often found myself wondering how she was doing and if she had gotten a handle on all the things that seemed to be crushing her under their inescapable weight. I was wrong about seeing her again, just like I was wrong about thinking that doing everything in my life differently from how my mother had lived hers would ensure my happiness and a future built on an unshakeable foundation. I was wrong about hard work and sacrifice being enough. I was wrong about holding on when what I was holding on to desperately wanted me to let go. All I was left with was bleeding palms, rope burns around my heart and scars on my soul. The next time I saw Poppy Cruz it was my loneliness that was filling up the space, suffocating me, choking me, making me forget to handle her with care. I was nothing more than a vast, open wound. One that was raw, aching, throbbing, and leaking my heart and shattered emotions out everywhere. I felt like I’d lost everything, like my entire life had been nothing but a waste of time, nothing more than building blocks knocked over with the swipe of a careless hand. The girl I loved didn’t love me back, my future was ultimately nothing more than a fuzzy, fractured blur. I couldn’t see anything clearly other than waste and ruin. But I saw her. And I saw that I scared her. It was the last thing I wanted to do but my loneliness was just as big and just as consuming as hers was. It spread out, hungry and angry, looking to consume anyone that might try and challenge its reign. I tried to pull myself together, apologized because I knew our paths would cross again now that she lived next door to my best friend. I didn’t want to be another man that she was terrified of. I locked the loneliness down, wrestled it into submission, and tried to quiet down the wild inside of me that was howling, screaming at the loss of its mate. I wanted to be nothing more than gnashing teeth and tearing claws but I swallowed those instincts and allowed myself to be like a kicked puppy that just wanted to whimper and cry. Poppy had been through more than I could imagine. She was the one I couldn’t look away from, but even then, she managed to slip past me and disappear. She looked like honey but she moved like a ghost. I memorized everything about her even though she hardly let me see her face. I wasn’t supposed to be looking at anything other than how to salvage the mess my life was in, but she was all I could see.    

 
    About Jay Crownover: Jay Crownover is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Marked Men, The Point, and the Saints of Denver series. Like her characters, she is a big fan of tattoos. She loves music and wishes she could be a rock star, but since she has no aptitude for singing or instrument playing, she'll settle for writing stories with interesting characters that make the reader feel something. She lives in Colorado with her dogs.        

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

   
Read more »

Release Day Launch: Lost and Found Sisters (Wildstone #1) by Jill Shalvis

   

From New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis comes her first women’s fiction novel—an unforgettable story of friendship, love, family, and sisterhood—perfect for fans of Colleen Hoover, Susan Mallery, and Kristan Higgins. Don't miss LOST AND FOUND SISTERS and grab your copy today!

   

They say life can change in an instant…

After losing her sister in a devastating car accident, chef Quinn Weller is finally getting her life back on track. She appears to have it all: a loving family, a dream job in one of L.A.’s hottest eateries, and a gorgeous boyfriend dying to slip an engagement ring on her finger. So why does she feel so empty, like she’s looking for a missing piece she can’t find?

The answer comes when a lawyer tracks down Quinn and reveals a bombshell secret and a mysterious inheritance that only she can claim. This shocking revelation washes over Quinn like a tidal wave. Her whole life has been a lie.

On impulse, Quinn gives up her job, home, and boyfriend. She heads up the coast to the small hometown of Wildstone, California, which is just a few hours north, but feels worlds apart from Los Angeles. Though she doesn’t quite fit in right away, she can’t help but be drawn to the town’s simple pleasures…and the handsome, dark-haired stranger who offers friendship with no questions asked.

As Quinn settles into Wildstone, she discovers there’s another surprise in store for her. The inheritance isn’t a house or money, but rather something earth shattering, something that will make her question everything she thought she knew about herself, about her family. Now with a world of possibilities opening up to Quinn, she must decide if this new life is the one she was always meant to have—and the one that could finally give her the fulfillment she’s searched so long for.

   

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Google Play

iBooks | Books-A-Million | IndieBound

   

ADD LOST AND FOUND SISTERS TO YOUR GOODREADS

 
   

Excerpt: Coop whined and Mick looked down at the twelve-year-old golden retriever, ball in his mouth. Coop panted happily and dropped the ball at Mick’s feet, his rheumy brown eyes ever hopeful. Mick shook his head. “Last time I threw it, you decided you didn’t mean it.” Coop gave a talkative “woo woo woo.” Translation: Mick was full of shit. “I had to go get it myself,” he reminded the dog. “Remember that?” This bought him another “woo woo woo.” “Okay, okay.” Mick picked up the ball, and because there was a lot of old-man dog pride on the line here, he gave it a dramatic throw, making sure it went only about twenty feet. Coop gave an energetic leap. A single energetic leap. After that, he eyeballed the sea of sand ahead of him, huffed out a sigh, and sat. Then he craned his big, fuzzy golden head and gave Mick a sad-eyed look. “Are you kidding me?” Mick asked him. Coop lay down, set his head on his front paws, and stared forlornly out at the ball that his brain wanted to chase but his sore joints and tired body wouldn’t allow. It was a daily reminder for the dog, who in his own mind clearly wasn’t elderly, forgetful, or more than half deaf. Nope, in Coop’s opinion, he was still a rambunctious, energetic puppy. Mick blew out a sigh and fetched the damn ball. When he came back, the dog sat up, eyes bright, tongue lolling. “Not a chance,” Mick said on a laugh. “I’m not throwing it again. This was about your exercise, not mine. I already had my run today.” A Lexus pulled up. A woman sat behind the wheel and stared out at the dunes and the ocean. All Mick could see of her was a cloud of whiskey-colored waves of hair and a pale face. She stared at the water and then set her head to the steering wheel and banged it a few times. Then, head still down, she went utterly still. Coop whined about the ball and nudged Mick’s knee, eyes pleading. With a head shake, Mick threw the ball five feet. Coop happily pounced on it. While his dog pranced around proudly, ball in his mouth, Mick turned back to the car. The woman hadn’t moved. Had she knocked herself out? Was she still breathing? “What do you think?” he asked Coop. “Stay out of it, or ask her if she’s okay?” Coop, who’d never been impressed by a single one of the women in Mick’s social life, yawned. “Right,” he said. “Stay out of it.” But the woman suddenly sat up straight and fumbled her way out of the car, falling to her knees on the rough gravelly asphalt, gulping in air like she was suffocating. Realizing she was hyperventilating, Mick rushed to her and crouched at her side, having to push Coop back from making her acquaintance—which he tended to do with a rude nose push to the crotch. “Stay,” he ordered and looked the woman over. Young. Late twenties maybe. Definitely having a panic attack of some kind. Not touching her, he spoke quietly and calmly. “Take a deep breath through your nose.” She had to quiet herself to hear him, but she did as he said. She took a deep breath, shuddery as it was. “Good,” he said, still holding Coop back from trying to say hello. “Stay.” “What?” she gasped. “Sorry, not you. My nosy-ass dog. Keep breathing. That’s it,” he said when she worked at it. When she had it under control, she met his gaze, her own eyes hooded and clearly embarrassed. “I’m sorry.” “Don’t be.” Coop, tired of being held back, shoved his big old head between them and licked her from chin to forehead. Mick palmed the dog’s face and pushed his head away from the woman whose shoulders were now shaking. Aw, hell. He patted his pockets—for what, he had no idea. It wasn’t like he carried tissues or napkins on him to offer her. He rose to his feet to go search the truck, which was when she lifted her face and he saw that she was shaking with laughter, not tears. She was laughing at his ridiculous dog.  


  About Jill Shalvis: New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jill Shalvis lives in a small town in the Sierras full of quirky characters. Any resemblance to the quirky characters in her books is, um, mostly coincidental. Look for Jill’s sexy contemporary and award-winning books wherever romances are sold and click on the blog button above for a complete book list and daily blog detailing her city-girl-living-in-the-mountains adventures.      

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Newsletter SignUp

 
Read more »

Monday, June 19, 2017

Review: The Bane Chronicles (The Bane Chronicles #1-11) by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan & Maureen Johnson


Title: The Bane Chronicles

Series: The Bane Chronicles #1-11

Author: Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan &  Maureen Johnson

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance

Publication Date: November 11th 2014 by Margaret K. McElderry Books

Format: Hardcover

Source: Library


Rating: 







Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices can get to know warlock Magnus Bane like never before in this collection of New York Times bestselling tales, in print for the first time with an exclusive new story and illustrated material.

This collection of eleven short stories illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality, flamboyant style, and sharp wit populate the pages of the #1 New York Times bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices.

Originally released one-by-one as e-only short stories by Cassandra Clare, Maureen Johnson, and Sarah Rees Brennan, this compilation presents all ten together in print for the first time and includes a never-before-seen eleventh tale, as well as new illustrated material.







Haa what an epic adventure it was reading The Bane Chronicles was for me. I tell you all the truth I was kind of iffy going into this book, because I read the first story What Really Happened in Peru a couple a years ago. While I enjoy the first book that had me giggling in some parts, but I did not love it too continue on read the other stories. I wanted too wait and see if Cassandra Clare made a whole book with the short novella's of The Bane Chronicles. Which I heard she was doing one whole book with all the novella's and I was jumping up and down with joy when the whole book finally did come out. But sadly I didn't have time too check The Bane Chronicles out from the library the year it came out, until this year I finally check it out from the library. Because I want too read both The Bane Chronicles and Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy which I am going to try to check out next month or on Aug. So I can be prepare to read The Dark Artifices books hopefully I can get too them by this fall or winter. But other than that I really love and enjoyed everything in this amazing book especially I love reading about one of my favorite characters and couple of all time. Magnus Bane & Alec (Malec) just so swoon worthy. This book is all about Magnus Bane and his adventures and troubles he has during the years he is Warlock of the century. I don't want to get into any details because I think everybody's knows what this fantastic book is about. But I just love reading and learning more about Magnus and the downworlders and on how everything went down before Clary and Jem. But my favorite part reading is the Malec chapters ohh how swoon worthy was it with both Magnus and Alec together. Ahh I can keep on gushing about them but I think everybody understands my giddiness and fandom with Malec together just swoon! All and all I absolutely, utterly and totally love The Bane Chronicles that I can't wait too continue reading more of Cassandra Clare books! 

















Cassandra Clare 


"Cassandra Clare was born overseas and spent her early years traveling around the world with her family and several trunks of fantasy books. Cassandra worked for several years as an entertainment journalist for the Hollywood Reporter before turning her attention to fiction. She is the author of City of Bones, the first book in the Mortal Instruments trilogy and a New York Times bestseller. Cassandra lives with her fiance and their two cats in Massachusetts."



Sarah Rees Brennan 


Sarah Rees Brennan is Irish and currently lives in Dublin. For a short stint, she lived in New York and became involved with a wide circle of writers who encouraged and supported her, including Holly Black and Cassandra Clare. She has developed a wide audience through her popular blog, mistful.livejournal.com, where she writes movie parodies, book reviews and some stories.
        


Maureen Johnson 


Maureen knew from an early age she wanted to be a writer. She went to high school at an all-girls' Catholic school and graduated from University of Delaware with a degree in writing. She now lives and writes in New York City.

Many of the adventures Maureen's characters face in her books are based on real-life stories. Maureen has traveled all over Europe, and is a Secret Sister to vlog brothers Hank and John Green.


   





Read more »

Review: Moon Beam by Travis S. Taylor & Jody Lynn Nye


Title: Moon Beam

Series: Stand-Alone

Author: Travis S. Taylor & Jody Lynn Nye

Genre: Middle Grade to Young Adult, Sci-Fi

Publication Date: July 4th 2017 by Baen

Format: e-arc

Source:   I received this book on edelweiss in exchanged for an honest review.


Rating:









MIDDLE GRADE, 10 YEARS AND UP.

FROM BEST-SELLING AUTHORS TRAVIS S. TAYLOR AND JODY LYNN NYE

STAY ALIVE ON THE FAR SIDE OF THE MOON

What happens when you get the one thing you wanted most in life? Lonely 16-year-old farm girl Barbara Winton has been following one reality show for years. Then in an instant she goes from fangirl to participant when the call comes from Dr. Keegan Bright: She’s been selected out of a horde of applicants to join him on the Moon.

She’ll be one of his Bright Sparks, six students with expertise in STEM and plenty of their own ingenuity chosen to work with Dr. Bright and given big responsibilities to undertake new projects important to the growth of the colony. Her first task? Build a radar telescope using an entire crater on the far side of the Moon.

But Barbara soon learns that life on a burgeoning frontier outpost like the Moon is a far cry from safe, civilized Earth. The loner from farm country must find a way to weld a functional team out of fiercely independent thinkers. Not only are they a bit trickier to work with than farm robots, not only is the working environment incredibly dangerous—she also has to perform this miracle in front of millions of fans….








*** I received this book on edelweiss in exchanged for an honest review, thank you so much for Baen publishers for giving me the opportunity to read and review Moon Beam! ***

I thoroughly loved and enjoyed everything in Moon Beam it is a middle grade too young adult book, but it is absolutely great for kids too read this great book. Now Moon Beam is really, really sci-fi that I literally got confuse and my head was spinning a mile a minute while reading all the scientific technology and terms. I am not a major sci-fi person if you are than you will easily understand it, but at first I didn't understand the scientific technology and terms but the author explains everything too you carefully and easily that you can totally understand 100%. There are also some pictures that are like diagrams to me there are the plans that the kids were working on a special project they did for a difficult mission there where going on in Moon Beam. I really don't want too go into any details about Moon Beam because you all should experienced reading this book and see if you like it or not. As you can tell I loved everything about this amazing book. The world building was so complex and amazing that I wish that I lived it that world. The plotline was very unique and refreshing to me that I never read anything quite like this book before. Except maybe I have read a book about a city on the moon before but not quite like this one. The characters ohh the characters are all well rounded and very developed that I love each and every character in Moon Beam, especially there are characters that are diverse which I immediately love that aspect in the book I am all in for diversity in books. The writing style was very descriptive and expressive like I said the book is very sci-fi, but everything is carefully and easily explain to the readers if you are not a big sci-fi person like me that you will be very grateful how the author explains everything for you in the book. The only problem I had with Moon Beam I wish there was an epilogue in Moon Beam because this book is a stand-alone as far as I now. But I just wish it ended with final epilogue if you know what I mean. But other than that, that's my only complain about Moon Beam. I will most definitely try too check out more books by both these authors Travis S. Taylor & Jody Lynn Nye in the near future!


















Travis S. Taylor 


Travis Shane Taylor is a born and bred southerner and resides just outside Huntsville, Alabama. He has a Doctorate in Optical Science and Engineering, a Master’s degree in Physics, a Master’s degree in Aerospace Engineering, all from the University of Alabama in Huntsville; a Master’s degree in Astronomy from the Univ. of Western Sydney, and a Bachelor’s degree in Electrical Engineering from Auburn University. He is a licensed Professional Engineer in the state of Alabama.

Dr. Taylor has worked on various programs for the Department of Defense and NASA for the past sixteen years. He is currently working on several advanced propulsion concepts, very large space telescopes, space based beamed energy systems, future combat technologies and systems, and next generation space launch concepts. He is also involved with multiple MASINT, SIGINT, IMINT, and HUMINT concept studies.

He has published over 25 papers and the appendix on solar sailing in the 2nd edition of Deep Space Probes by Greg Matloff.

His first science fiction novel is, Warp Speed, and his second is The Quantum Connection published by Baen Publishing. He is also working on two different series with best-selling author John Ringo also by Baen Publishing. He has several other works of both fiction and nonfiction ongoing.

Travis is also a Black Belt martial artist, a private pilot, a SCUBA diver, races mountain and road bikes, competed in triathlons, and has been the lead singer and rhythm guitarist of several hard rock bands. He currently lives with his wife Karen, his daughter Kalista Jade, two dogs Stevie and Wesker, and his cat Kuro.



Jody Lynn Nye 


Jody Lynn Nye lists her main career activity as ‘spoiling cats.’ When not engaged upon this worthy occupation, she writes fantasy and science fiction books and short stories.

Before breaking away from gainful employment to write full time, Jody worked as a file clerk, book-keeper at a small publishing house, freelance journalist and photographer, accounting assistant and costume maker.

For four years, she was on the technical operations staff of a local Chicago television station, WFBN (WGBO), serving the last year as Technical Operations Manager. During her time at WFBN, she was part of the engineering team that built the station, acted as Technical Director during live sports broadcasts, and worked to produce in-house spots and public service announcements.

Over the last twenty or so years, Jody has taught in numerous writing workshops and participated on hundreds of panels covering the subjects of writing and being published at science-fiction conventions. She has also spoken in schools and libraries around the north and northwest suburbs. In 2007 she taught fantasy writing at Columbia College Chicago. She also runs the two-day writers workshop at DragonCon.

Jody lives in the northwest suburbs of Chicago, with her husband Bill Fawcett, a writer, game designer, military historian and book packager, and a black cat, Jeremy.












Read more »

Friday, June 16, 2017

Cover Reveal: Fearless (Nameless #3) by Jennifer Jenkins

 
Hello Readers! Welcome to the Cover Reveal for
Fearless (Nameless #3) by Jennifer Jenkins
presented by Month9Books!
Be on the look out for this upcoming YA title!
What do you think of the cover?
   
 
In exactly twenty-three days, Gryphon will offer his life to Chief Barnabas in exchange for the lives of his best friend and mess brothers. Until then, he must keep his plans from Zo while avoiding the Wolves of the Allied Camp.

But Gryphon is not the only one harboring secrets.

To spare her own life, Zo has made a blood oath promising to help the Kodiak Clan free their families living as Nameless slaves. When Gryphon learns the truth—that the peaceful life he’d planned for Zo is not secure—he divulges a secret that will give the Allies the upper hand against the Ram.

Now, The Great Move is underway and a final battle between the Wolf, Ram, Kodiak and Raven cannot be stopped. 

Strength will be tested. Loyalties will be questioned. Alliances will form. 

In a world of uncertainty and danger, Zo and Gryphon may finally have what they've each always wanted.
 


Fearless (Nameless #3) by Jennifer Jenkins Publication Date: October 2017 Publisher: Month9Books
   
 
With her degree in History and Secondary Education, Jennifer had every intention of teaching teens to love George Washington and appreciate the finer points of ancient battle stratagem. (Seriously, she’s obsessed with ancient warfare.) However, life had different plans in store when the writing began. As a proud member of Writers Cubed, and a co-founder of the Teen Author Boot Camp, she feels blessed to be able to fulfill both her ambition to work with teens as well as write Young Adult fiction.
Jennifer has three children who are experts at naming her characters, one loving, supportive husband, a dog with little-man syndrome, and three chickens (of whom she is secretly afraid). Visit her online at jajenkins.com
 
 
Read more »

Book Blogger Hop #45




Book Blogger Hop Hosted by Billy B. at Ramblings Of A Coffee Addicted Writer


This Week Question:

How do you organize your blog in terms of what is in your side bar? Do you have categories and defined sections in your side bar? (submitted by Elizabeth @ Silver's Reviews)


My Answer:

I actually got my blog re-design almost a year ago by a very nice book blogger, that I won her giveaway on her blog for a blog re-design she was doing on her giveaway for.  And she actually organized everything on my blog for me except a few things I put on there that I wanted. Other than that she did all the organize  on my blog and she did a terrific job! I absolutely love how she organized and did everything on my blog especially my sidebar. 



 How About You?







Read more »