Sunday, January 14, 2018

Review: Prodigal Son (Dean Koontz's Frankenstein #1) by Dean Koontz & Kevin J. Anderson


Title: Prodigal Son

Series: Dean Koontz's Frankenstein #1

Author:  Dean Koontz & Kevin J. Anderson

Genre: Adult, Horror, Mystery, Thriller, Science Fiction

Publication Date: January 25th 2005 by Bantam

Format: Paperback

Source: Library


Rating:







From the celebrated imagination of Dean Koontz comes a powerful reworking of one of the classic stories of all time. If you think you know the story, you know only half the truth. Get ready for the mystery, the myth, the terror, and the magic of…

Dean Koontz's Prodigal Son

Every city has secrets. But none as terrible as this. His name is Deucalion, a tattooed man of mysterious origin, a sleight-of-reality artist who’s traveled the centuries with a secret worse than death. He arrives as a serial killer stalks the streets, a killer who carefully selects his victims for the humanity that is missing in himself. Detective Carson O’Connor is cool, cynical, and every bit as tough as she looks. Her partner Michael Maddison would back her up all the way to Hell itself–and that just may be where this case ends up. For the no-nonsense O’Connor is suddenly talking about an ages-old conspiracy, a near immortal race of beings, and killers that are more—and less—than human. Soon it will be clear that as crazy as she sounds, the truth is even more ominous. For their quarry isn’t merely a homicidal maniac—but his deranged maker.






I really love and enjoy Dean Koontz Frankenstein graphic novel, that I wanted to give the novel version a chance. Because I had a feeling that I would love the novel more. And ohh boy I sure did love and enjoy the novel version more. I know this book was not for every readers in fact I know some readers love the graphic novel more, which I totally understand why. But I absolutely love and enjoy the novel version much more, there were some things that didn't have in the graphic novel that it had in the novel version. I won't go into too much details about Prodigal Son, because I don't want too spoil it for any readers. But this is actually the first novel that I read by Dean Koontz and yup you guessed it, it won't be my last book that I read a book by Dean Koontz. I just love the plotline and concept of this amazing book, it was unique and very different take on Frankenstein, which I couldn't put this book down. I needed to know and learn more about Deucalion, Victor, Carson O’Connor her little brother and partner. I just need to read more about them. Because I love every character in this book except for Victor he is just pure evil and is a menace to society. I just felt so bad for what he was putting his subjects into. Ugh Victor Frankenstein is just pure evil and cold hearted, plus he does not care even a little bit for man kind. He is such a horrible, terrible and horror person, he is also a very disgusting individual as well. I thought all the characters were well rounded and very developed. And I absolutely love the real raw and gritty writing style, I know in my early 20's I wouldn't love this kind of writing style. But now in my mid 30's I absolutely love this kind of writing style. I would love too read more raw and gritty writing style in books more often. But all and all I absolutely loved and enjoyed Prodigal Son, I can't wait to continue on reading City of Night next!














Dean Koontz

Acknowledged as "America's most popular suspense novelist" (Rolling Stone) and as one of today's most celebrated and successful writers, Dean Ray Koontz has earned the devotion of millions of readers around the world and the praise of critics everywhere for tales of character, mystery, and adventure that strike to the core of what it means to be human.

Dean R. Koontz has also published under the names Leigh Nichols, Brian Coffey, David Axton, Owen West, Deanna Dwyer and Aaron Wolfe.

Dean, the author of many #1 New York Times bestsellers, lives in Southern California with his wife, Gerda, their golden retriever, Elsa, and the enduring spirit of their goldens, Trixie and Anna.

THE SILENT CORNER is available 6.20.17

Facebook: Facebook.com/DeanKoontzOfficial
Twitter: @DeanKoontz
Website: DeanKoontz.com



Kevin J. Anderson

Yes, I have a lot of books, and if this is your first visit to my amazon author page, it can be a little overwhelming. If you are new to my work, let me recommend a few titles as good places to start. I love my Dan Shamble, Zombie P.I. series, humorous horror/mysteries, which begin with DEATH WARMED OVER. My steampunk fantasy adventures, CLOCKWORK ANGELS and CLOCKWORK LIVES, written with Neil Peart, legendary drummer from Rush, are two of my very favorite novels ever. And my magnum opus, the science fiction epic The Saga of Seven Suns, begins with HIDDEN EMPIRE. After you've tried those, I hope you'll check out some of my other series.

I have written spin-off novels for Star Wars, StarCraft, Titan A.E., and The X-Files, and is the co-author of the Dune prequels. His original works include the Saga of Seven Suns series and the Nebula Award-nominated Assemblers of Infinity. He has also written several comic books including the Dark Horse Star Wars collection Tales of the Jedi written in collaboration with Tom Veitch, Predator titles (also for Dark Horse), and X-Files titles for Topps.

I serve as a judge in the Writers of the Future contest.

My wife is author Rebecca Moesta. They currently reside near Monument, Colorado.



                       






Read more »

Audible Review: Dashing Through the Snow by Debbie Macomber


Title: Dashing Through the Snow

Series: Stand-Alone

Author: Debbie Macomber

Genre: Adult, Holiday, Contemporary Romance

Publication Date: October 6th 2015 by Random House Audio

Narrator: Allyson Ryan

Format: Audible

Source: Library Overdrive


Rating:







Savor the magic of the season with #1 New York Times bestselling author Debbie Macomber’s newest Christmas novel, filled with warmth, humor, the promise of love, and a dash of unexpected adventure.

Ashley Davison, a graduate student in California, desperately wants to spend the holidays with her family in Seattle. Dashiell Sutherland, a former army intelligence officer, has a job interview in Seattle and must arrive by December 23. Though frantic to book a last-minute flight out of San Francisco, both are out of luck: Every flight is full, and there’s only one rental car available. Ashley and Dash reluctantly decide to share the car, but neither anticipates the wild ride ahead.

At first they drive in silence, but forced into close quarters Ashley and Dash can’t help but open up. Not only do they find they have a lot in common, but there’s even a spark of romance in the air. Their feelings catch them off guard—never before has either been so excited about a first meeting. But the two are in for more twists and turns along the way as they rescue a lost puppy, run into petty thieves, and even get caught up in a case of mistaken identity. Though Ashley and Dash may never reach Seattle in time for Christmas, the season is still full of surprises—and their greatest wishes may yet come true.






Another audio book that I have read through overdrive, I am in a roll with audio books. But this is actually the first book that I have read by Debbie Macomber. And it definitely won't be my last Macomber book that I will read. This was such an fun and adorable book for me. I really wanted too read at least one Christmas book for the holiday. So I check out on overdrive on there holiday books and I come up with Dashing Through The Snow. When I first read the synopsis it sounded so much like a movie I saw on the Hallmark channel, now I only saw bits a pieces of the movie I really didn't see the whole movie. But the bit of the holiday movie I saw I really did enjoy watching it. Imagine my surprise when I found out the Hallmark movie I saw was base of this book. Color me surprise I am so glad I didn't watch the whole movie, because I always want too read the books before I see the films when I can. I absolutely love and enjoy this amazingly funny, cute and adorable book. The plotline and concept of Dashing Through The Snow was absolutely funny and cute road trip. I just love the funny banter that both Dash and Ashley was going through the road trip, I was so rooted for them too be a cute couple by the end. That you can tell that Dash and Ashley both had a deep connection and attraction with each other, that I couldn't help but cheer them on. But the both of them had a few issues and some problems during there road trip, that Ashley was in some deep trouble almost at the end of this book. What trouble you say Ashley had Oh no I won't say what deep trouble Ashley was in, because I don't want too spoil anything for any readers. Plus I think you should read this book and give it a try and see what happens too dear Ashley and Dash. But I do recommend too hear it on audio too because Allyson Ryan does a terrific job narrated this book. I just love how Allyson Ryan narrated it! All and all I absolutely love and enjoy Dashing Through The Snow that now I can't wait too see the movie next year for the holidays!














Debbie Macomber is a #1 New York Times bestselling author and one of today’s most popular writers with more than 200 million copies of her books in print worldwide. In her novels, Macomber brings to life compelling relationships that embrace family and enduring friendships, uplifting her readers with stories of connection and hope. Macomber’s novels have spent over 1,000 weeks on the New York Times bestseller list. Thirteen of these novels hit the number one spot.

In 2017, Macomber’s all-new hardcover publications include If Not for You (March), Any Dream Will Do (August), and Merry and Bright (October). In addition to fiction, Macomber has also published two bestselling cookbooks, an adult coloring book, numerous inspirational and nonfiction works, and two acclaimed children’s books.

Celebrated as “the official storyteller of Christmas”, Macomber’s annual Christmas books are beloved and five have been crafted into original Hallmark Channel movies. Macomber is also the author of the bestselling Cedar Cove Series which the Hallmark Channel chose as the basis for its first dramatic scripted television series. Debuting in 2013, Debbie Macomber’s Cedar Cove was a ratings favorite for three seasons.

Macomber owns The Grey House CafĂ©, which also features a gift shop and a Hallmark Gold Crown store inside. It is located in the Village Square campus, which also serves as Debbie’s corporate headquarters.

She serves on the Guideposts National Advisory Cabinet, is a YFC National Ambassador, and is World Vision’s international spokesperson for their Knit for Kids charity initiative. A devoted grandmother, Debbie and Wayne live in Port Orchard, Washington, the town which inspired the Cedar Cove series.

         






  



Read more »

Audible Review: Dracula by Bram Stoker


Title: Dracula

Series: Stand-Alone

Author: Bram Stoker

Genre: Classic, Gothic Horror

Publication Date: November 20th 2008 by Books in Motion (first published May 26th 1897)

Narrator: Multiple Narrators

Format: Audible

Source: Library Overdrive


Rating:







Bram Stoker’s “Dracula” is the novel that introduced the fictional creature known as the vampire to millions. It is considered by many as the single most important work in the gothic vampire horror genre. “Dracula,” while not the first appearance of the vampire in literature, is certainly the work that is most readily identified with the vampire genre and has spawned countless imitations and references. The novel is set sometime in the late 19th century and begins by being told from the perspective of Jonathan Harker, a young English legal practitioner who is traveling to the castle of Count Dracula, in the Carpathian Mountains on the border of Transylvania, to perform some legal services for the Count. Harker upon meeting Count Dracula finds him a strange and eerie man, one with a dark secret. Dracula needs the help of Harker to execute his plan to relocate to England in order to find new blood and spread the curse of the undead. The only thing standing in his way is a small group of people led by Professor Abraham Van Helsing, who know what he secretly is and have vowed to stop him.






Now I have seen a lot of films of Dracula or base off Dracula and I quite enjoy watching them, I also read a lot of books base off Dracula which I quite love and enjoy as well. So I thought it was high time I read the actual Dracula book by Bram Stoker, but I really wanted to listen too the audio book first. So I actually started reading Dracula on audio on libravox on September 28, 2017, but I really didn't like the audio on libravox. So I started to re-read from the very beginning on overdrive on November 30, 2017, which I prefer to hear the audio books on overdrive for now on. But I absolutely love and enjoy Dracula so much on overdrive it was so much better than on libravox in my opinion, but libravox is still a really good audio book source. Libravox is totally free and it has great classics books on it's list, I still say give it a try if you are looking for a totally free audio books for classic literature. Than libravox is for you! But anyways sorry I am getting side tracked here, let me get back too my review. Which I don't know what too write down, because I think every readers knows what Dracula is about. But I absolutely love and enjoy this great gothic horror book. I was on my toes and on the edge on my set reading throughout the whole book. I just felt horrible for poor Lucy and a character that I didn't even know that person exist in Dracula. I won't say who the character I am talking about is in case nobody has read Dracula before, but there is a side character that I absolutely love and adore. That I felt all the feels for that side character at the end of this book. I really enjoy the narration in this audio there were different people narrated it, but I just simply loved and enjoyed the different narration. I really didn't mind it at all. All and all I loved and enjoyed every bit of Dracula, that I hopefully will read more books by Bram Stoker in the near future!














He was born Abraham Stoker in 1847 at 15 Marino Crescent – then as now called "The Crescent" – in Fairview, a coastal suburb of Dublin, Ireland. His parents were Abraham Stoker and the feminist Charlotte Mathilda Blake Thornely. Stoker was the third of seven children. Abraham and Charlotte were members of the Clontarf Church of Ireland parish and attended the parish church (St. John the Baptist located on Seafield Road West) with their children, who were both baptised there.

Stoker was an invalid until he started school at the age of seven — when he made a complete and astounding recovery. Of this time, Stoker wrote, "I was naturally thoughtful, and the leisure of long illness gave opportunity for many thoughts which were fruitful according to their kind in later years."

After his recovery, he became a normal young man, even excelling as an athlete (he was named University Athlete) at Trinity College, Dublin (1864 – 70), from which he graduated with honours in mathematics. He was auditor of the College Historical Society and president of the University Philosophical Society, where his first paper was on "Sensationalism in Fiction and Society".

In 1876, while employed as a civil servant in Dublin, Stoker wrote a non-fiction book (The Duties of Clerks of Petty Sessions in Ireland, published 1879) and theatre reviews for The Dublin Mail, a newspaper partly owned by fellow horror writer J. Sheridan Le Fanu. His interest in theatre led to a lifelong friendship with the English actor Henry Irving. He also wrote stories, and in 1872 "The Crystal Cup" was published by the London Society, followed by "The Chain of Destiny" in four parts in The Shamrock.

In 1878 Stoker married Florence Balcombe, a celebrated beauty whose former suitor was Oscar Wilde. The couple moved to London, where Stoker became business manager (at first as acting-manager) of Irving's Lyceum Theatre, a post he held for 27 years. The collaboration with Irving was very important for Stoker and through him he became involved in London's high society, where he met, among other notables, James McNeil Whistler, and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. In the course of Irving's tours, Stoker got the chance to travel around the world.

The Stokers had one son, Irving Noel, who was born on December 31, 1879.

Bram Stoker died in 1912, and was cremated and his ashes placed in a display urn at Golders Green Crematorium. After Irving Noel Stoker's death in 1961, his ashes were added to that urn. The original plan had been to keep his parents' ashes together, but after Florence Stoker's death her ashes were scattered at the Gardens of Rest.

          










Read more »

Friday, January 5, 2018

Review: Murder on the Orient Express (Hercule Poirot #10) by Agatha Christie


Title: Murder on the Orient Express

Series: Hercule Poirot #10

Author: Agatha Christie

Genre: Adult Classic, Murder Mystery, Crime, Fiction

Publication Date: September 1st 2006 by Black Dog & Leventhal Publishers (first published January 1st 1934)

Format: Hardcover

Source: Library


Rating:







What more can a mystery addict desire than a much-loathed murder victim found aboard the luxurious Orient Express with multiple stab wounds, thirteen likely suspects, an incomparably brilliant detective in Hercule Poirot, and the most ingenious crime ever conceived?





Ahh yes I finally read an Agatha Christie book after hearing raving reviews about her novels, and it will most definitely won't be my last book that I will read by Agatha Christie too! I absolutely and thoroughly love and enjoy this amazing book so much. This book is part of the Hercule Poirot series and it is the tenth book of the series, but I do think it is ok to read this book as a stand-alone. But I will tell you that I will read the first books of the Hercule Poirot series, because I have a really good feeling that I will love and enjoy this series as a whole. Now of course I don't want to go into any details about this fantastic book, because I don't want to give out any spoilers to anybody. But I will tell you this book had me guessing on who the actual killer was until the very epic reveal at the ending of Murder on the Orient Express! And I will tell you all I so didn't see that twist of the revelation at that ending, oh my, my, my, it caught me right off guard. I mean the clues and puzzle pieces were right in my face while I was reading the book, but I so didn't see or connected the dots from the very beginning. I was in utter shock and astonish when Hercule Poirot could connect all the pieces to the puzzle in just a few hours just wow! I will tell you all when the true killer was reveal at the end I was completely surprise and absolutely amaze on who the culprit was! I really didn't see that shocking revelation coming. I absolutely love when an author surprises me like that in their books! Mrs. Agatha Christie has done a well done job of surprising and shocking me all at once! Now I am so ready too watch the film when it comes out in dvd, I have already heard amazing raving reviews about the film. All and all I absolutely and utterly love and enjoy this book so much that I can't wait to continue on reading more books by Agatha Christie in the near future!













Agatha Christie also wrote romance novels under the pseudonym Mary Westmacott, and was occasionally published under the name Agatha Christie Mallowan.

Agatha Christie is the best-selling author of all time. She wrote eighty crime novels and story collections, fourteen plays, and several other books. Her books have sold roughly four billion copies and have been translated into 45 languages. She is the creator of the two most enduring figures in crime literature-Hercule Poirot and Miss Jane Marple-and author of The Mousetrap, the longest-running play in the history of modern theatre.

Agatha Mary Clarissa Miller was born in Torquay, Devon, England, U.K., as the youngest of three. The Millers had two other children: Margaret Frary Miller (1879–1950), called Madge, who was eleven years Agatha's senior, and Louis Montant Miller (1880–1929), called Monty, ten years older than Agatha.

During the First World War, she worked at a hospital as a nurse; later working at a hospital pharmacy, a job that influenced her work, as many of the murders in her books are carried out with poison.

On Christmas Eve 1914 Agatha married Archibald Christie, an aviator in the Royal Flying Corps. The couple had one daughter, Rosalind Hicks. They divorced in 1928, two years after Christie discovered her husband was having an affair.

Her first novel, The Mysterious Affair at Styles, came out in 1920. During this marriage, Agatha published six novels, a collection of short stories, and a number of short stories in magazines.

In late 1926, Agatha's husband, Archie, revealed that he was in love with another woman, Nancy Neele, and wanted a divorce. On 8 December 1926 the couple quarreled, and Archie Christie left their house Styles in Sunningdale, Berkshire, to spend the weekend with his mistress at Godalming, Surrey. That same evening Agatha disappeared from her home, leaving behind a letter for her secretary saying that she was going to Yorkshire. Her disappearance caused an outcry from the public, many of whom were admirers of her novels. Despite a massive manhunt, she was not found for eleven days.

In 1930, Christie married archaeologist Max Mallowan (Sir Max from 1968) after joining him in an archaeological dig. Their marriage was especially happy in the early years and remained so until Christie's death in 1976. In 1977, Mallowan married his longtime associate, Barbara Parker.

Christie frequently used familiar settings for her stories. Christie's travels with Mallowan contributed background to several of her novels set in the Middle East. Other novels (such as And Then There Were None) were set in and around Torquay, where she was born. Christie's 1934 novel Murder on the Orient Express was written in the Hotel Pera Palace in Istanbul, Turkey, the southern terminus of the railway. The hotel maintains Christie's room as a memorial to the author. The Greenway Estate in Devon, acquired by the couple as a summer residence in 1938, is now in the care of the National Trust.

Christie often stayed at Abney Hall in Cheshire, which was owned by her brother-in-law, James Watts. She based at least two of her stories on the hall: the short story The Adventure of the Christmas Pudding, which is in the story collection of the same name, and the novel After the Funeral. "Abney became Agatha's greatest inspiration for country-house life, with all the servants and grandeur which have been woven into her plots.

During the Second World War, Christie worked in the pharmacy at University College Hospital of University College, London, where she acquired a knowledge of poisons that she put to good use in her post-war crime novels.

To honour her many literary works, she was appointed Commander of the Order of the British Empire in the 1956 New Year Honours. The next year, she became the President of the Detection Club. In the 1971 New Year Honours she was promoted Dame Commande














            

Read more »

Review: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (Author) & Siobhan Dowd (Conception)


Title: A Monster Calls

Series: Stand-Alone

Author: Patrick Ness (Author) & Siobhan Dowd (Conception)

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Fiction

Publication Date: September 27th 2011 by Walker Books (first published May 5th 2011)

Format: Paperback

Source: Library


Rating:






An unflinching, darkly funny, and deeply moving story of a boy, his seriously ill mother, and an unexpected monstrous visitor.

At seven minutes past midnight, thirteen-year-old Conor wakes to find a monster outside his bedroom window. But it isn't the monster Conor's been expecting - he's been expecting the one from his nightmare, the nightmare he's had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments. The monster in his backyard is different. It's ancient. And wild. And it wants something from Conor. Something terrible and dangerous. It wants the truth. From the final idea of award-winning author Siobhan Dowd - whose premature death from cancer prevented her from writing it herself - Patrick Ness has spun a haunting and darkly funny novel of mischief, loss, and monsters both real and imagined.






Yes I finally read a Patrick Ness book, which I wanted to read one of his books for a very long time know. I especially wanted to read A Monster Calls for a long time as well, because I heard nothing but amazing raving reviews about it. But when I check it out from the library I wanted the book with the graphic art in it, but the library gave me the movie-tie in edition. Which it was a huge bummer because I really wanted too see the artwork in that edition, but I had to read it in the movie-tie in edition instead without seeing the beautiful artwork in the book. Ugh none the less there was nothing I could do about it, but I really did love and enjoy this fantastic book it was both heartbreaking and bittersweet while I read the whole book. Which I actually read this book in two setting it is real quick book to read! Now I don't want to go into any details about A Monster Calls because I think you should most definitely experience reading this amazing and very emotional book yourself, and you should judge how you feel about it yourself when you get the chance too read it. But be prepare to have a lot a tissues with you while you are reading this book. But all I can say this book is really an emotional roller coaster of a book that will have you hit all the feelings within you, trust me you will feel every emotion every character goes through in this book especially the main character Conor was going there. I actually had tears in my eyes reading everything that Conor was going through in life especially at the end of A Monster Calls I just could feel every emotion Conor was going through at the very end. All in all I totally and thoroughly love and enjoy everything in A Monster Call that it most definitely won't be my last book that I will read by Patrick Ness. I most certainly will continue on reading more books by Patrick Ness in the near future!













 Patrick Ness (Author)

Patrick Ness, an award-winning novelist, has written for England’s Radio 4 and Sunday Telegraph and is a literary critic for The Guardian. He has written many books, including the Chaos Walking Trilogy, The Crash of Hennington, Topics About Which I Know Nothing, and A Monster Calls.

He has won numerous awards, including the Guardian Children’s Fiction Prize, the Booktrust Teenage Prize, and the Costa Children’s Book Award. Born in Virginia, he currently lives in London.



 Siobhan Dowd (Conception)

Siobhan Dowd was born to Irish parents and brought up in London. She spent much of her youth visiting the family cottage in Aglish, County Waterford and later the family home in Wicklow Town.
She attended a Catholic grammar school in south London and then gained a degree in Classics at Lady Margaret Hall, Oxford University. After a short stint in publishing, she joined the writer's organization PEN, initially as a researcher for its Writers in Prison Committee.

She went on to be Program Director of PEN American Center's Freedom-to-Write Committee in New York City. Her work here included founding and leading the Rushdie Defense Committee USA and traveling to Indonesia and Guatemala to investigate local human rights conditions for writers. During her seven-year spell in New York, Siobhan was named one of the "top 100 Irish-Americans" by Irish-America Magazine and AerLingus, for her global anti-censorship work.

On her return to the UK, Siobhan co-founded English PEN's readers and writers programme, which takes authors into schools in socially deprived areas, as well as prisons, young offender's institutions and community projects.

During 2004, Siobhan served as Deputy Commissioner for Children's Rights in Oxfordshire, working with local government to ensure that statutory services affecting children's lives conform with UN protocols.
Siobhan has an MA with Distinction in Gender and Ethnic Studies at Greenwich University, has authored short stories, columns and articles, and edited two anthologies.

In May 2007, Siobhan was named one of "25 authors of the future" by Waterstones Books as part of the latter's 25th anniversary celebrations.

Siobhan died on 21st August 2007 aged 47. She had been receiving treatment for advanced breast cancer for 3 years, and did not go gentle into that good night.



 




            





Read more »

Review: Coraline by Neil Gaiman (Author) & Dave McKean (Illustrator)


Title: Coraline

Series: Stand-Alone

Author:  Neil Gaiman (Author) & Dave McKean (Illustrator)

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Horror

Publication Date: August 4th 2002 by HarperCollins

Format: Hardcover

Source: Library


Rating:







Coraline lives with her preoccupied parents in part of a huge old house--a house so huge that other people live in it, too... round, old former actresses Miss Spink and Miss Forcible and their aging Highland terriers ("We trod the boards, luvvy") and the mustachioed old man under the roof ("'The reason you cannot see the mouse circus,' said the man upstairs, 'is that the mice are not yet ready and rehearsed.'") Coraline contents herself for weeks with exploring the vast garden and grounds. But with a little rain she becomes bored--so bored that she begins to count everything blue (153), the windows (21), and the doors (14). And it is the 14th door that--sometimes blocked with a wall of bricks--opens up for Coraline into an entirely alternate universe. Now, if you're thinking fondly of The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe or Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, you're on the wrong track. Neil Gaiman's Coraline is far darker, far stranger, playing on our deepest fears. And, like Roald Dahl's work, it is delicious.

What's on the other side of the door? A distorted-mirror world, containing presumably everything Coraline has ever dreamed of... people who pronounce her name correctly (not "Caroline"), delicious meals (not like her father's overblown "recipes"), an unusually pink and green bedroom (not like her dull one), and plenty of horrible (very un-boring) marvels, like a man made out of live rats. The creepiest part, however, is her mirrored parents, her "other mother" and her "other father"--people who look just like her own parents, but with big, shiny, black button eyes, paper-white skin... and a keen desire to keep her on their side of the door. To make creepy creepier, Coraline has been illustrated masterfully in scritchy, terrifying ink drawings by British mixed-media artist and Sandman cover illustrator Dave McKean. This delightful, funny, haunting, scary as heck, fairy-tale novel is about as fine as they come. Highly recommended. (Ages 11 and older) --Karin Snelson






Ahh what a beautiful and creeptastic book Coraline was for me in fact the graphic novel and the novel are almost the same, but there was a few difference between the novel and graphic novel. Plus the film is totally different from the book and graphic novel. But none the less I totally and utterly love and enjoy reading both novel and graphic novel the same, and I absolutely loved watching the movie as well! But this book I think is much more creepier than the graphic novel. There was just a couple of scenes in the book that had my skin crawling and shuttering. Ugh those scenes in the book had me creep the heck out there were also very eerie as well. I won't go into any details about Coraline because I think everybody knows what this amazingly and fantastic book is about. But once again Neil Gaiman has hooked me in another of his creepy story and plot from the beginning chapters until the very end. I was on my toes while reading through this whole book. I thoroughly loved and enjoyed Coraline so much that I can't wait to continue reading more Neil Gaiman books in the near future. I just love Neil Gaiman writing style he always hooks and enchants me from the very start of his book until the very end of it. Mr. Gaiman knows how too get a readers attention real fast and he sucks you into his fantastic world in his books. I just love when books do that too readers. All and all I love and enjoy everything in Coraline that I will most certainly will continue reading more Neil Gaiman books hopefully soonish!













I make things up and write them down. Which takes us from comics (like SANDMAN) to novels (like ANANSI BOYS and AMERICAN GODS) to short stories (some are collected in SMOKE AND MIRRORS) and to occasionally movies (like Dave McKean's MIRRORMASK or the NEVERWHERE TV series, or my own short film A SHORT FILM ABOUT JOHN BOLTON).

In my spare time I read and sleep and eat and try to keep the blog at www.neilgaiman.com more or less up to date.







    



Read more »