Review: The Cloven: Book One by Garth Stein (Author) & Matthew Southworth (illustrator)

Friday, September 18, 2020

 


Title: The Cloven: Book One

Series: Cloven #1

Author: Garth Stein (Author) & Matthew Southworth (illustrator)

Genre: Graphic Novel, Fantasy & Sci-Fi

Publication Date: July 14th, 2020 by Fantagraphics

Format: Arc

Source: ALA Midwinter Conference & Exhibit

Add-On Goodreads

Rating:









The Cloven Book One stars James Tucker, the most successful Genetically Modified Human Organism ever created. Conceived in a privately financed, top-secret laboratory on Washington state's Vashon Island, Tucker is a cross between a human and a goat — a Cloven. Known to his friends as “Tuck,” all he wants is to live a normal life as a university student; everything is going fine, until he shows a girl his hooves… Moody and mysterious and atmospheric as a fever dream, The Cloven Book One follows Tuck’s breakneck journey across the Pacific Northwest as he searches for his true home out there somewhere. Book One of a raucous, funny, fast-moving, and dynamic series of graphic novels by two bestselling and critically acclaimed storytellers.






*** I received an arc of this book at ALA Midwinter Conference & Exhibit 2020 in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to Fantagraphics Publishing for allowing me to read and review The Cloven: Book One! ***

I went to ALA Midwinter Conference and Exhibit last January that was held in the city of brotherly love Philadelphia. I went with my little sister and we both had a great time and fun experience this was the time before neither I and my sister know about Covid19 first started. Cloven is the first graphic novel arc that I got sign by the author Garth Stein who wrote The Art of Racing in the Rain. Now I haven't read the book or seen the movie of The Art of Racing in the Rain but I kept on hearing amazing raving reviews about the book and movie of The Art of Racing in the Rain.

That's when I saw he was going to do a signing for his new graphic novel Cloven. That I went straight to his line because I love reading a graphic novel as well. I have to apologize for writing this review so late I did read this arc last winter but after everything that came out with Covid19 life got a lot more hectic for me and I couldn't post the review up last summer. Cloven is the first graphic novel that I read about Genetically Modified Human Organism and it most definitely won't be my last.

I did love and enjoyed reading Cloven so much the graphics are dark and gritty and the writing style is very expressive and on point, with everything, the characters were acting on and saying. I understood what everything was going on in this graphic novel I didn't get confused at all. All the characters were well developed and well built. I love how all character's represented themselves in Cloven. All and all I love and enjoyed reading Cloven that I can't wait to continue reading the next Volume when it comes out.







Amazon






Garth Stein (Author)

Garth Stein is the author of four novels: the New York Times bestselling gothic/historical/coming-of-age/ghost story, "A Sudden Light"; the internationally bestselling "The Art of Racing in the Rain"; the PNBA Book Award winner, "How Evan Broke His Head and Other Secrets"; and the magically realistic "Raven Stole the Moon." He is also the author of the stage play "Brother Jones." He has a dog, he's raced a few cars, climbed a bunch of really tall trees, made a few documentary films, and he lives in Seattle with his family. He's co-founder of Seattle7Writers.org, a non-profit collective of 74 Northwest authors working together to energize the reading and writing public.




Read more »

Review: Home Before Dark by Riley Sager

Wednesday, September 16, 2020

 


Title: Home Before Dark

Series: Stand-Alone

Author: Riley Sager

Genre: Adult, Horry, Mystery-Thriller

Publication Date: June 30th 2020 by Dutton Books

Format: Hardback

Source: Library

Add-On Goodreads

Rating:






What was it like? Living in that house.

Maggie Holt is used to such questions. Twenty-five years ago, she and her parents, Ewan and Jess, moved into Baneberry Hall, a rambling Victorian estate in the Vermont woods. They spent three weeks there before fleeing in the dead of night, an ordeal Ewan later recounted in a nonfiction book called House of Horrors. His tale of ghostly happenings and encounters with malevolent spirits became a worldwide phenomenon, rivaling The Amityville Horror in popularity—and skepticism.

Today, Maggie is a restorer of old homes and too young to remember any of the events mentioned in her father’s book. But she also doesn’t believe a word of it. Ghosts, after all, don’t exist. When Maggie inherits Baneberry Hall after her father’s death, she returns to renovate the place to prepare it for sale. But her homecoming is anything but warm. People from the past, chronicled in House of Horrors, lurk in the shadows. And locals aren’t thrilled that their small town has been made infamous thanks to Maggie’s father. Even more unnerving is Baneberry Hall itself—a place filled with relics from another era that hint at a history of dark deeds. As Maggie experiences strange occurrences straight out of her father’s book, she starts to believe that what he wrote was more fact than fiction.

In the latest thriller from New York Times bestseller Riley Sager, a woman returns to the house made famous by her father’s bestselling horror memoir. Is the place really haunted by evil forces, as her father claimed? Or are there more earthbound—and dangerous—secrets hidden within its walls?






I can not tell you or express to you all on how much I love and adore reading Home Before Dark. Riley Sager books never disappoint me at all. I almost read all his books that he has written that came out already. I just need to read one more book of his then I be all caught up with the books that he already published. I know some readers love or dislike his books but I am one reader that I so love and adore his books. The plotline of Home Before Dark I have read before in other books but, this plotline in this book is pure Riley Sager style. I just love all the twists and turns and guessing who done it. 

The reader trying to figure out what is the truth from lies until the middle of the end of the book everything is revealed. I am always on the tip of my toes reading this book because I thought I had it all figured out until the ending. I found out that I was all wrong about everything. I just love it when a book does that to me. And every Riley Sager books does that to me. 

The writing style is always very expressive and descriptive that I can feel every emotion each character goes through and can visualize in my mind every store and house that is in Home Before Dark. The characters are well built and unique in their way. All and all I love and enjoyed everything Home Before Dark that I can't wait to read next month Lock Every Door for the spooky season.






Riley Sager (Author)

Riley Sager is the award-winning pseudonym of a former journalist, editor and graphic designer who previously published mysteries under his real name.

Now a full-time author, Riley's first thriller, FINAL GIRLS, became a national and international bestseller and was called "the first great thriller of 2017" by Stephen King. Translation rights have been sold in more than two dozen countries.

Riley's next two books, THE LAST TIME I LIED and LOCK EVERY DOOR, were instant New York Times bestsellers. His most recent book, HOME BEFORE DARK, was published in July.

A native of Pennsylvania, Riley now lives in Princeton, New Jersey. When he's not writing, he enjoys reading, cooking and going to the movies as much as possible. His favorite film is "Rear Window." Or maybe "Jaws." But probably, if he's being honest, "Mary Poppins."


Read more »

Latinx-a-thon TBR 2020

Saturday, September 12, 2020

 




I am going to do the latinx-a-thon readathon this year for the Hispanic Hertiage Month that starts at Septemper-15-24


This readathon is hosted by a bunch of booktubers on youtube but if you want to find more information about this readathon please go here






Here are the prompts to the Latinx-a-thon



1. VOICES Read a book written by an Indigenous and/or Black Latinx author




2. LATINIDAD Read a book written by an intersectional Latinx author (gender, sexuality, ability, etc.)






3. ROOTS Read a translated book or a book prominently featuring more than one language (i.e. with a bilingual MC)






4. HERITAGE Read a book written by an author from a non-Spanish speaking Latin American country/heritage (i.e. Brazil or Haiti)





BONUS challenge: 

Read books from authors of different heritages so you can read about many different Latinx identities and experiences. 




Now since this readathon is only for two weeks it will be impossible for me too read All 4 books in two weeks so I am going to read all 4 books through the Hispanic Heritage Month that starts September 15 - October 15












Read more »

Team Kids!

Friday, June 12, 2020



Hello, Everybody, my name is Katiria I've always wanted to do a fundraiser for the less privileged  kids who live on the streets in the state of Florida. I have visited Florida a couple of times when I visit my family members there. I have seen less privileged kids who are struggling on the streets always break my heart whenever I see kids struggle and trying to buy food for themselves and their families. I always give them some money but I always wanted to do something more for them when I leave them but I never got the courage to make a fundraiser for the less privileged kids in Florida. But now with what everything is going on this year with Covid19 the less privileged kids and their families need our help and support more than ever, so I finally got the courage to make a fundraiser on Go Fund Me for them this year.


Your donations would be used to buy food, clothes, shoes, sandal's and books for the less privileged kids and their families on what they need the most. I would like to raise $1000.00 in two weeks but I would greatly appreciate any donations by the end of two weeks. Your support and donations would mean a lot to me because it will encourage me to help more the less privileged kids and their families in the future. I would be eternally grateful for your help and donations in any way you can help.

Take Care, Stay Safe and God Bless!







Read more »

Blog Tour, Review & Giveaway: Camp Kindle by L. C. Rosen

Saturday, May 23, 2020





Title: Camp

Series: Stand-Alone

Author: L. C. Rosen

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, LGBT, Queer

Publication Date: May 26, 2020 by  Little, Brown Books for Young Readers 

Format: E-arc

Source: I received this book by FFBC Blog Tour in exchange for an honest review.


Rating: 















From the author of the acclaimed Jack of Hearts (and other parts) comes a  sweet and sharp screwball comedy that critiques the culture of toxic  masculinity within the queer community. Sixteen - year - old Randy Kapplehoff loves spending the summer at Camp Outland, a  camp for queer teens. It's where he met his best friends. It's where he takes to the  stage in the big musical. And it's where he fell for Hudson Aaronson - Lim  - who's  only into straight - acting guys and barely knows not - at - all - straight - acting Randy  even exists. This year, though, it's going to be different. Randy has reinvented himself as 'Del'  - buff, masculine, and on the market. Even if it means giving up show tunes, nail  polish, and his unicorn bedsheets, he's determined to get Hudson to fall for him. But as he and Hudson grow closer, Randy has to ask himself how much is he willing  to change for love. And is it really love anyway, if Hudson doesn't know who he  truly is?








*** I received this book by FFBC Blog Tour in exchange for an honest review, thank you to FFBC Blog Tour and Little, Brown and Company Publisher for allowing me to read and review Camp! ***


Wow-what can I say about Camp it was an amazing and fantastic book that I thoroughly loved and enjoy reading. Camp had everything that I so love reading in queer books. I loved everything about this amazing book the plotline and concept are fantastic and I think it does show what the  LGBTQIA community is struggling with today's world. The writing style was flawless and very descriptive that I so pictured everything in my mind. I so loved all the diverse main characters and especially all the side characters that their personalities shine so deep and uniquely them through the pages that I couldn't get enough reading about them and their relationships and friendships they all had together. I just could not put this book down. this is the first book that I read by L.C. Rosen and it won't be the last book that I will read by L. C. Rosen. I won't go into details about Camp because I think readers need to read this book and see what they think about it. All and all I loved and enjoyed Camp so much that I will continue reading more books by L.C. Rosen.



















Giveaway

Prize: Win (1) of (2) copies of CAMP by Lev A. C. Rosen (US Only)Starts: May 20th2020Ends: June 3rd2020







Lev A.C. Rosen (Author)




Lev Rosen is the author of books for all ages. Two for adults: All Men of Genius  (Amazon Best of the Month, Audie Award Finalist) and Depth (Amazon Best of the  Year, Shamus Award Finalist, Kirkus Best Science Fiction for April). Two middle - grade books: Woundabout (illustrated by his brother, Ellis Rosen), and The Memory  Wall. His first Young Adult Novel, Jack of Hearts (and other parts) was an American  Library Association Rainbow List Top 10 of 20 18. His books have been sold around  the world and translated into different languages as well as being featured on many  best of the year lists, and nominated for awards. Lev is originally from lower Manhattan and now lives in even lower Manhattan,  right  at the edge, with his husband and very small cat. You can find him online at  LevACRosen.com and @LevACRosen


Read more »

Life Update & Blog Break!

Friday, April 24, 2020



Hello, my lovely friends as the title say this is a life update and I am also taking a blog break. I can't tell you right now when I am coming back to blogging again, but I am hoping to be back by the end of the summertime if I can. Right now my health and my life are my priorities so, unfortunately, reading books has to take a back seat for a moment but I will read and review books for blog tours that I am still on for May and June. Now the beginning of this month has been very emotional for me in every way, there's is a lot that is going on with me in my health and my life right now I won't go into any of the details now. But what I can tell you that my faith and my Heavenly Father Jesus Christ & my Ever Blessed Mother Virgin Mary has opened my eyes completely to them and I gave them finally my full trust and confidence in them. I always love them but I never really gave them my full trust and confidence in them. But my faith and the supports of my close friends and family members I can tell you I left all my worries, anxieties, mental illness and complete health and my life in their pure ever blessed hands because I know they are always with me wherever I go and now I can truly say that I completely love, confide and trust them with everything within me because they have blessed me so many times and they continue blessing me in every way. And I  am truly thankful and very grateful for my Heavenly Father Jesus Christ and My Blessed Ever Virgin Mary for blessing me and for everything they do for me everyday.  Now don't worry my friends I will be back hopefully by the end of the summer but I will be much stronger than ever when I do come back. Much blessing and love to all. Take Care and Stay Safe my friends!



Read more »

Book Blitz & Giveaway: The Crystal War (Fragments, #2) by Tracy Auerbach

Thursday, April 16, 2020


The Crystal War
Tracy Auerbach
(Fragments #2)
Published by: Parliament House
Publication date: April 14th 2020
Genres: Adult, Urban Fantasy
The line between human and monster is not as clear cut as they once thought.
In the weeks since her escape from the hell of the Eastern Fortress, things have grown more complicated for Kai. She cast her lot with her brother’s self-absorbed boyfriend, who controls the Western Army, but she’s been separated from Finn, the soldier who found a place in her heart.
Finn has defaulted to his signature move: he’s run away; afraid of himself, his new feelings for Kai, and all the terrible truths he’s learned.
Tessa is free in the world for the first time, a force to be reckoned with. She’s gone to the far west and the Dome of Artifacts to seek revenge on the system that ruined her life.
The type ‘A’ soldier who was once a friendly boy named Charlie has been restored to factory settings, a weapon for Aric to use.
The Science Council has unleashed new crystal compounds, more toxic and destructive than anything the world has seen. As Kai and her friends struggle with everything that’s been done to them, they will have to find a way to unite and prepare for the fight of their lives.
CHAPTER ONE:
Bill’s boots gouged through the sand as he was dragged from the vehicle that had stolen him from the safety of his camp; the hands gripping his biceps were huge and rough. A black scarf had been wrapped over his head, covering his eyes, and a gag stuffed in his mouth.
The toes of his leather boots bumped up then down as the sand’s softness was replaced by cement underfoot. The footsteps of those who dragged him echoed and it registered; he’d been taken indoors.
Hands repositioned themselves on his arms as he was slammed backward onto a cold metal table. Struggling, he tried to yell, but no sound got past the gag. Restraints, large and cold, closed over his wrists and ankles. He bucked and kicked before feather-gentle fingers touched his temples, a sensation vastly different from the rough grip that had previously held him.
The scarf over his eyes was lifted away to reveal slender fingers. He blinked in the harsh light, waiting for his blurry vision to focus. When it did, his heart sunk, and he froze. Struggling had been futile. The woman above him was the rumored head of the New Resistance.
Bill stared into the strange, amber eyes of the woman he had heard about. Over the past few months, whispers had traveled throughout the west; rumors of her beauty and cruelty, and above all, her power: his small army of Resistance fighters had been preparing for her imminent attack.
Everything he had heard about her magnificence was true; golden eyes that sat in a perfectly structured face; tan and well-defined, but not too sharp to be feminine. White-blonde hair stood in spikes over her arched brows. Gunmetal-gray hoops in her ears reflected the light of a small crystal fragment set into a dome lamp over the table. She was dressed head to toe in utilitarian black tactical clothing, but he could still tell that her body was a work of art. He couldn’t guess her height; she seemed tall, with beautifully defined curves and a tiny waist.
“Stop staring, prisoner,” she whispered in a melodic voice. “Looking upon me can’t save you.”
Bill was in a lab, but he couldn’t see much. The halo of light from the single crystal above was dim and focused, but beyond the table he where he lay, details quickly melted into shadows. He could barely make out the hulking shapes of the men who had dragged him from his guard post; only the beautiful, terrible woman was clear. He tried to speak, but his lips fought uselessly against the fabric still in his mouth.
“Do you wish to say something?” asked the woman.
He nodded, and she removed the binding from between his dry lips—he licked them before speaking. “I’ve heard of you,” said Bill, awed. “These past couple of months, everything’s changed.”
“It has. I am changing things. And this is just the beginning.”
“Are you going to make me into one of your slaves?”
“I must have your absolute loyalty. I’ll accept nothing less.”
Bill swallowed, feeling ill with the certainty that he wasn’t going to get out of this, and he saw her smile, as if she knew exactly what he was thinking.
“Why me?”
“Why not?” She blinked momentarily releasing him from the power behind her eyes. “You’re a good soldier; I’ve done my research. You’re exactly what I’m looking for right now. You will come and work for me, just as they have.” She made a sweeping gesture toward the men around them.
“Forgive me, Miss…”
“Raven.”
“Forgive me, Miss Raven, but what makes you think you can you ensure my loyalty?”
“It’s just Raven,” she corrected, her expression unchanging. “And the answer is simple. It’s all about consumption.”
“Consumption?”
“Yes. Everyone is a consumer. Press the right button, and anyone’s loyalty can be controlled. Even yours, soldier.”
“My name is…”
“Not important,” she cut him off.
Bill sighed. He’d had more than enough of being controlled; given over from his foster home to the Eastern Forces, trained to mine for crystals, months of being a type ‘B’ soldier on blue compound, only to be stolen in a raid by the Resistance, and retrained as a guard, led to believe that he was at last working for a higher cause. And now this.
Raven gestured to the soldiers standing in shadow, and Bill craned his neck to try and see what was happening, only to close his eyes, feeling his stomach drop when one of the men approached, holding up a faintly glowing blue syringe.
So, more of the same, then.
“What’s his poison?” asked the man with the syringe.
“Primarily stimulants,” instructed Raven. “Food as a secondary, pre-established reinforcer.”
The man leaned closer, and Bill saw by the light of the glowing crystal fragment that he was young, with a healing but grisly-looking scab that ran the length of his left cheek, ending near his eye.
Bill jerked in his restraints, even though he knew it was futile, and gritted his teeth as the needle pierced the skin of his upper arm. The fire of the compound made its way through his blood, causing him to sigh in relief. It still felt good, every time, even after being off it for months now. It had only taken him a few weeks back at the Eastern Fortress to become addicted to the compound itself, and months for the Resistance to detox him.
Heart racing, his stimulant craving spiked. He refused to beg until the Raven girl held a small vial of pungent-smelling coffee under his nose—then he screamed with want. The compound created an itch that the right thing could scratch, and it felt so good.
“Would you like this?” she asked in a silky, taunting voice.
“Yes,” he whimpered.
“Open up, then.”
Bill opened his mouth, sick with anticipation of the bitter cordial that would bring relief to his burning blood. Every pump of his heart demanded it. He greedily swallowed the wetness on his tongue, but it didn’t taste like coffee.
He opened his eyes and saw that the Raven girl held a vial that was empty but for a glowing residue.
She’s given me Shine.
Bill stared at his tormentor. It was too late to spit out the horribly addictive drug. Gulping with a heedless greed he usually reserved for coffee, he’d swallowed a good mouthful of it.
Too much. She had him.
Knowing that Shine would quickly supersede his moral compass, he tried to hold onto his terror, his ideals; he tried to retain any part of himself. But as he looked into her expressionless eyes, he began to feel the drug taking hold. Soon, the fear faded, along with all thoughts of fleeing. The world shrunk, leaving room for her alone in his mind. His senses sharpened, overwhelmed by the power of her presence and the Shine’s euphoria.
The rest of the world faded away, and nothing else mattered but his new queen.
I will serve this woman forever.


Author Bio:
Tracy Auerbach is an author of science fiction and fantasy for teens and adults. As an avid reader with a vivid imagination, she chose to study film, English, and education, and went on to teach and write STEM curriculum for the New York Department of Education. This helped to polish her writing skills and ignite her passion for science fiction and fantasy.
Her first scholarly article, published in Language Magazine, was about the value of active, creative learning in science.
On the fiction side, Tracy’s work has been featured in the online literary journal Micro-horror, The Writing Disorder fiction anthology, and the “(Dis)ability” short story anthology, in addition to her novels.
When she is not teaching or writing, Tracy is usually reading or spending time with her family. She lives in New York with her husband and sons.

XBTBanner1
Read more »