Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Review: Bringing Maggie Home by Kim Vogel Sawyer


Title: Bringing Maggie Home 

Series: Stand-Alone

Author: Kim Vogel Sawyer

Genre: Adult, Christian Fiction, Mystery

Publication Date: September 5th 2017 by Waterbrook Press

Format: Paperback

Source:  I received this book by Litfuse Blogger Program in exchanged for an honest review.


Rating:







Decades of Loss, an Unsolved Mystery,
and a Rift Spanning Three Generations

Hazel DeFord is a woman haunted by her past. While berry picking in a blackberry thicket in 1943, ten-year old Hazel momentarily turns her back on her three-year old sister Maggie and the young girl disappears.

Almost seventy years later, the mystery remains unsolved and the secret guilt Hazel carries has alienated her from her daughter Diane, who can’t understand her mother’s overprotectiveness and near paranoia. While Diane resents her mother’s inexplicable eccentricities, her daughter Meghan—a cold case agent—cherishes her grandmother’s lavish attention and affection.

When a traffic accident forces Meghan to take a six-week leave-of-absence to recover, all three generations of DeFord women find themselves unexpectedly under the same roof. Meghan knows she will have to act as a mediator between the two headstrong and contentious women. But when they uncover Hazel’s painful secret, will Meghan also be able to use her investigative prowess to solve the family mystery and help both women recover all that’s been lost?






*** I received this book by Litfuse Blogger Program in exchanged for an honest review, thank you so much to Waterbrook Press for giving me the opportunity to read and review Bringing Maggie Home! ***


Ohhh My I really don't know what to write down for this review because I don't think I can describe, how really and truly is this wonderful, beautiful and heartbroken book of Bringing Maggie Home was for me. It is truly indescribable for me to put it into words, but I am going to try without putting spoilers on this review. I have heard about Kim Vogel Sawyer for a while now and I really wanted to get a chance to check out her books. Because I heard nothing but great things about her books, so I decided to check Bringing Maggie Home first and see if I like her books or not. And I tell you from the very first page I had so many emotions going through me that I can't describe to you while I was reading through this amazing book. Sometimes I would be sad, than happy, than angry, than I went back to being utterly upset. I will tell you a cried a lot while reading this book which I never cry reading a whole book, I get teary eyed yes but never blown out ugly cried while reading a book. I actually have too but this book down a couple of times to calm my emotions down because my emotions where everywhere which I never put down a book for that specific reason ever in my life. I will tell you this book is about love, lost, faith and second chances in life and I totally love reading books about all of the subjects I just said I especially I love reading books about Faith and Second Chances. And the faith and second chances I am talking about is like being reborn again to a totally new person and that you change your ways for the better and follow our lord and savior. If you are a very religious person like me than you all know what I am talking about. If not please you have to read this book and find out what I am talking about. I just love the prayers and scriptures that were in this beautiful book and some of the songs that were sang in this book it totally brought joy to my heart reading those scenes in this book. The writing style was so very beautiful and really descriptive that I totally image everything in my mind. The characters were very well rounded and developed and totally unique in there own way that I so love reading about each characters. The plotline was my special part of the book, it was so beautiful, very heartbreaking and totally heartwarming at the end that made me in so happy in tears while I was reading the whole book towards the very end. All and all I totally and thoroughly loved everything about Bringing Maggie Home, that it certainly won't be my last book that I will read by Kim Vogel Sawyer. Yes this book was that amazing for me!













Kim Vogel Sawyer is the author of fifteen novels, including several CBA and ECPA bestsellers. Her books have won the ACFW Book of the Year Award, the Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence, and the Inspirational Readers Choice Award. Kim is active in her church, where she leads women's fellowship and participates in both voice and bell choirs. In her spare time, she enjoys drama, quilting, and calligraphy. Kim and her husband, Don, reside in central Kansas, and have three daughters and six grandchildren. She invites you to visit her Web site at www.kimvogelsawyer.com for more information."

Kim's father is author Ralph Vogel










                          





Read more »

Review: Forget Me by K.A. Harrington


Title: Forget Me

Series: Stand-Alone

Author: K.A. Harrington

Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Thriller, Romance

Publication Date: August 7th 2014 by G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers

Format: Hardcover

Source: Library


Rating:








An edge-of-your seat psychological thriller with a romantic twist

On the three-month anniversary of her boyfriend Flynn’s death, Morgan uploads her only photo of him to FriendShare to get some closure—but she’s shocked when the facial recognition software suggests she tag him as "Evan Murphy." She’s never heard of Evan, but a quick search tells her that he lives in a nearby town and looks exactly like Flynn. Only this boy is very much alive.

Digging through layers of secrets and lies, Morgan is left questioning everything she thought she knew about her boyfriend, her town, and even her parents' involvement in this massive web of lies.






I know there are some readers who do not really like this book and I can totally understand why. But I absolutely love and enjoy it. Forget Me really is a young adult, mystery thriller book that I had always read when I was in my early twenty's. But I haven't read many like it since than and I am so glad and happy I check this book out from the library, because it brought back so many nostalgic memories to me while I was reading Forget Me. I first heard about this book back in 2013 or 2014 I really don't remember what year, but when I first heard about it I really wanted to check it out. It was actually one of my WOW pick back in 2013 or 2014, but I never got the chance to check it out because I totally forgot about it until now. I actually saw one of my goodreads friends reading this book and that's when I remember about it. So than I decided to see if my library had it so I can check it out from and my library, and my library sure did had it so than I check it out. I really don't want to go into any details about Forget Me, but I will try to describe it the best that I can without spoiling it for anybody. But Forget Me is about on the third month of Morgan boyfriend Flynn death she was going to upload a photo of Flynn on FriendShare which is like facebook so she can finally have some closure and say her final goodbyes about his death. But the FriendShare actually tag her to a boy name Evan Murphy who looks eerily and almost exactly like her late boyfriend Flynn. So her and her best friend Tony started digging for information about Flynn and Evan backgrounds and that when a lot of things and secrets gets uncovered. Secrets that probably would put Morgan and her family and friends in danger. The closer she finds out to the truth the more dangerous it gets for Morgan. And that's where I am going to leave it off here without spoiling it for anybody. But I really and truly did love this awesome book and especially I love the true and loyal friendship that Morgan and her bestfriend Tony had there where more like sisters than best friend. Plus this book was a great nostalgic book for me as well.














Kim Harrington is an author of 10 books for kids and teens with Scholastic, Penguin, and Sterling. She lives in Massachusetts with her family and is probably reading at this very moment. Her new middle grade series, GAMER SQUAD, releases August 1, 2017.



 




    

Read more »

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Release Day Celebration & Giveaway: Fearless (Nameless #3) by Jennifer Jenkins

   
Welcome to the Release Day Celebration for
Fearless (Nameless #3) by Jennifer Jenkins
presented by Month9Books!
Be sure to enter the giveaway found at the end of the post!
 
Happy Book Birthday, Jennifer!
     
 
In exactly twenty-three days, Gryphon will offer his life to Chief Barnabas in exchange for the lives of his best friend and mess brothers. Until then, he must keep his plans from Zo while avoiding the Wolves of the Allied Camp. But Gryphon is not the only one harboring secrets. To spare her own life, Zo has made a blood oath promising to help the Kodiak Clan free their families living as Nameless slaves. When Gryphon learns the truth — that the peaceful life he’d planned for Zo is not secure — he divulges a secret that will give the Allies the upper hand against the Ram.
Now, The Great Move is underway and a final battle between the Wolf, Ram, Kodiak and Raven cannot be stopped. Strength will be tested. Loyalties will be questioned. Alliances will form. In a world of uncertainty and danger, Zo and Gryphon may finally have what they’ve each always wanted.

Fearless (Nameless #3) by Jennifer Jenkins Publication Date: October 17, 2017 Publisher: Month9Books
   
OTHER BOOKS IN THE SERIES
   
   
 
With her degree in History and Secondary Education, Jennifer had every intention of teaching teens to love George Washington and appreciate the finer points of ancient battle stratagem. (Seriously, she’s obsessed with ancient warfare.) However, life had different plans in store when the writing began. As a proud member of Writers Cubed, and a co-founder of the Teen Author Boot Camp, she feels blessed to be able to fulfill both her ambition to work with teens as well as write Young Adult fiction.
Jennifer has three children who are experts at naming her characters, one loving, supportive husband, a dog with little-man syndrome, and three chickens (of whom she is secretly afraid).
 
   
Complete the Rafflecopter below for a chance to win!
 
 
Read more »

Book Blitz & Giveaway: Mermaids And The Vampires Who Love Them by Debra Goelz


Mermaids and the Vampires Who Love Them
Debra Goelz
Published by: Hachette Audiobooks
Publication date: October 17th 2017
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Sixteen-year-old Waverly Fishwater believes that people who act suspicious are asking for her to spy on them. When she eavesdrops on one of her dad’s clandestine meetings, she learns that mermaids are being abducted. Fearing no one else will save them, Waverly swaps her tail for legs and heads to the site of the disappearances, but it doesn’t go as planned. After exposing mermaidkind to humanity, Waverly has to come to terms with leaving the home, friends, and school she loves. For her safety, she must go to a remote boarding school on the California coast.
Waverly discovers her new classmates are from a multitude of supernatural species, including werewolves, fairies, and minor Greek gods. But the bigger problem might be all the mermaid-blood loving vampires, and the fact that the most infuriating one has taken an interest in her already.
She must navigate this weird new world where her class schedule includes time-traveling history, fairy dance, interspecies biology, and sand-sculpting vain gods with rock-hard abs. The biggest letdown is that she still has to take algebra, even though polynomials are not her friends.
Just when she’s starting to fit in, she begins to unravel a dark plot that could destroy the bayside school and the oceans beyond. As she gets close to solving the mystery, the mernapper takes hold of her mind and hides the clues that will piece it together. Waverly is left with the knowledge of one thing: she’s next.
If Waverly is to expose the scheme and take out the mastermind, she’s going to have to rely on the most dubious kind of help-reckless gods, single-minded werewolves, and virtuous fairies. To avoid a supernatural catastrophe, Waverly must rally this eccentric band of heroes, learning to rely on the help of others in order to stay afloat.
Listen to an audio sample here!


Author Bio:
Debra Goelz is a refugee from Hollywood where she served for ten years as a financial executive for such companies as Universal Pictures, Dino de Laurentiis and Jim Henson Productions. Her performing career began and ended with her puppeteering a chicken during the closing scene in "Muppet Treasure Island." After garnering over 9 million on-line reads, her award-winning YA fantasy, "Mermaids and the Vampires Who Love Them," will be published by Hachette audio on October 17, 2017. She lives in a redwood forest in rural Marin County with her husband. Her two children have abandoned her to seek a college education in New York.

XBTBanner1
Read more »

Book Blitz & Giveaway: Other Worlds: A Limited Edition Collection of Science Fiction Romance and Paranormal Romance by Multiple Authors


Other Worlds: A Limited Edition Collection of Science Fiction Romance and Paranormal Romance
Publication date: October 17th 2017
Genres: Adult, Paranormal, Romance, Science Fiction
Journey into a multiverse beyond the boundaries of your imagination…
21 award-winning and best-selling authors bring you the best of PARANORMAL and SCI-FI ROMANCE in this enticing boxed set of exclusive epic adventures.
Rogue spaceship captains, dark vampire lords, supernatural hunters, crafty hackers, uncompromising alien alphas, fearless shifters, and MORE await in this highly sought-after collection including BRAND NEW romantic, otherworldly tales!
Step into OTHER WORLDS as these fresh voices of SFR and PNR take you on a journey to immortal realms and extraterrestrial territories where your imagination takes flight and fantasies come to life.
PreOrder now to secure YOUR copy of this limited edition Sci-Fi Romance and Paranormal Romance collection!
INCLUDING STORIES FROM…
Allyson Lindt
Award-Winning author A.D. Trosper
Cheri Schmidt and Tristan Hunt
Akaria Gale
Award-Winning author R. A. Steffan
Jennifer Rose McMahon
Award-Winning author Amy L Gale
Shawnee Small
K. R. Fajardo
Award-Winning author Lea Kirk
Mychal Daniels
Laura Hysell
Shawna Romkey
Elizabeth Ryder
E.A. Weston
Award-Winning author Lindsay Avalon
LaVerne Thompson
Starla Night
Jayne Fury
Isadora Brown
Grab yours today for only 99¢!
Facebook Party & weekly prizes ~ From now until October 23 we are giving away weekly gift cards, ebooks, and other swag in the Other Worlds Facebook Party.
Check out Other Worlds online:
Website / Facebook / Instagram

XBTBanner1
Read more »

Release Day Blitz & Giveaway: Hide and Seek (Vigilance #1) by Desiree Holt

Today we have the release day blitz of Hide and Seek by Desiree Holt! Check it out and grab your copy today!!

Title: Hide and Seek

Author: Desiree Holt

Genre: Contemporary Romance

About Hide and Seek:

When Graham Cole disappears no one has a clue as to how or why. His boat, Sail Away, was found drifting five miles out with no one on board or a sign that anyone had been there. The local police as well as the county sheriff are investigating but so far they have come up empty. His disappearance, however, comes right on the heels of the death of his vice president for corporate finance. Everyone’s radar is vibrating. Despite their fractured relationship, his daughter, Devon puts her life in Tampa on temporary hold and heads to Arrowhead Bay. Then, on her way to town to meet with Police Chief Sheridan March, she is run off the road, her windows smashed, and she is threatened. Only the unexpected arrival of Vigilance agent Logan Malik prevents anything further. With her life in possible danger until this riddle is solved, Vigilance assigns Logan to be her bodyguard. Devon has barely caught her breath when executives from Cole International show up and question her. Both she and Logan feel there is more to their questions than just worry about the effect on Cole International. Then the feds show up to tell her they are investigating several of her father’s companies. They suspect him of laundering money for drug cartels. Being together twenty-four seven ignites the sparks sizzling between Logan and Devon, and although it goes against his personal rules, they become intimate with each other and discover growing feelings. As they all move closer to the reason for Graham’s disappearance, they are shocked to discover that yes, Graham Cole is alive and hiding from the people he owes and two, he has been laundering drug money through some of the Cole International companies with the assistance of one of his top executives. Although both have been skimming, Graham has disappeared with a giant chunk of money and the exec is hung out to dry. Both entities are determined to find him. When Devon is snatched at the bank practically from under Logan’s nose he is beside himself. The kidnappers will exchange her for either her father’s whereabouts or his records and money.

Get Your Copy Today:

Amazon | iBooks | Kensington | B&N | Google

Exclusive Excerpt:

Logan could barely keep up with Devyn as she raced into the garage and got into his truck. He had a feeling that if he hadn’t punched the button to open the garage door she’d have insisted he just drive through it. “Hurry,” she urged, hands clasped tightly in her lap. Logan burned rubber backing out of the garage and heading down the driveway. Despite Devyn’s urging he took care to look both ways and scope out the surrounding area as he reached the road. And a damn good thing, he thought as he spotted a black SUV almost hidden in the trees across the road. When it pulled out behind them he grabbed his gun from his waist and pushed Devyn’s head down. “Stay like that and don’t move under any circumstance.” “What’s happening? What—” “Trouble. Just do me a favor and hang tight. Please.” He had to give her credit. She shut up and bent way down, just as he’d told her to do, even though he could feel the fear and anger vibrating from her. They hadn’t gone fifty yards before something cracked against the rear of the truck cab, and he knew damn well it was a bullet. Last year he’d protected a very high profile oilman whose life had been threatened. He’d taken his truck to Tactical Armoring Corporation in San Antonio and had it fixed up inside and out. Now he had bulletproof tires, and a vehicle reinforced against everything up to and including armor-piercing rifles. He pressed harder on the accelerator, keeping one eye on the road and the other on the side view mirror. If they could make it to the end of the road and take the turn to the marina, he figured they’d be okay because then they’d be in traffic. He hoped these idiots weren’t stupid enough to engage in a firefight with a bunch of other people around. A heavy thud sounded against the back of the cab and Logan knew from the sound it was an armor-piercing bullet. Whoever these guys were, they came well equipped. He watched the speedometer creep up to eighty, then ninety, then to a hundred. He was sure the men behind them wanted to pull up alongside and try for the windows but he kept ahead of him with his powerful engine. They were almost to the end of Seacliff Road. “Hang on. Brace yourself.” He wrenched the wheel around, skidding into the turn and then they were on the busy road to the marina. Traffic forced him to slow down and when he looked in his mirror he saw the other vehicle had turned off the other way. Smart. They didn’t want people around for what they had to do. He had to tell Avery so they could revisit the security needs. A high-end system might not be enough. He had to give Devyn a lot of credit. When the SUV pulled out behind them she hadn’t freaked, or panicked or done anything he might have expected. She just did what he told her and left him to take care of business. He was afraid that wouldn’t work at the marina.  

About Desiree Holt:

Referred to by USA Today as the Nora Roberts of erotic romance, Desiree Holt is the world’s oldest living published author of erotic and spicy romance. A graduate of the University of Michigan with double majors in English and History, her earlier careers include agent and manager in the music industry, public television, associate vice president of university advancement, public relations, and economic development. She is three times a finalist for an EPIC E-Book Award (and a winner in 2014), a nominee for a Romantic Times Reviewers Choice Award, winner of the first 5 Heart Sweetheart of the Year Award at The Romance Studio as well as twice a CAPA Award winner for best BDSM book of the year, a USA Today Bestselling author and winner of the Holt Medallion for Excellence in Romance Literature. She has been featured on CBS Sunday Morning and in The Village Voice, The Daily Beast, USA Today, The (London) Daily Mail, The New Delhi Times, The Huffington Post and numerous other national and international publications. She is also the Authors After Dark 2014 Author of the Year. “Desiree Holt is the most amazing erotica author of our time and each story is more fulfilling then the last.” (Romance Junkies)

Connect with Desiree:

Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest | Website | Facebook | Website | Google

Enter Desiree’s Giveaway:

Read more »

Surprise Release Day Blitz: WOOD by Lauren Hawkey & Cathryn Fox

Lauren Hawkeye and Cathryn Fox have a surprise for you ... WOOD is available today! Find out more about it below and pick up your copy now!

 

About WOOD

I was on an archeological dig in the Cape Breton Highlands, until betrayal sent me running. A severe lightning storm crashed over me, and I found myself swallowed by the dark, angry Bras D’or Lake, only to surface in a different place, a different…time? Thrust into an unknown world—a threat at every turn—my chances of making it out alive were slim, until an impressive, big beast of a man came to my rescue. The tense, axe-wielding lumberjack named Wood—a danger to me in so many ways—tossed me over his shoulder and took me to his remote cabin. His lodging was hidden amongst the trees, his existence a quiet one—until I arrived. I needed to get back to my time. He needed me gone. I confused him. He confused me. We were different people with different secrets, but we had one thing in common, an attraction that spanned time and had me wondering if I could ever trust another man, and if he could ever love another woman?

Get your hands on WOOD now!

 
 

About Lauren Hawkeye

Lauren Hawkeye/ Lauren Jameson never imagined that she’d wind up telling stories for a living… though when she looks back, it’s easy to see that she’s the only one who is surprised. Always “the kid who read all the time”, Lauren made up stories about her favorite characters once she’d finished a book… and once spent an entire year narrating her own life internally. No, really. But where she was just plain odd before publication, now she can at least claim to have an artistic temperament.

Lauren lives in the Rocky Mountains of Alberta, Canada with her husband, toddler, pit bull and idiot cat, though they do not live in an igloo, nor do they drive a dogsled. In her nonexistent spare time Lauren can be found knitting (her husband claims that her snobby yarn collection is exorbitant), reading anything she can get her hands on, or sweating her way through spin class. She loves to hear from her readers!

 

About Cathryn Fox

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Cathryn Fox is a wife, mom, sister, daughter, and friend. She loves dogs, sunny weather, anything chocolate (she never says no to a brownie) pizza and red wine. Cathryn has two teenagers who keep her busy and a husband who is convinced he can turn her into a mixed martial arts fan. When not writing, Cathryn can be found laughing over lunch with friends, hanging out with her kids, or watching a big action flick with her husband.

Read more »