Book Blitz & Giveaway: Where We Belong by Shann McPherson

Wednesday, February 26, 2020


Where We Belong
Shann McPherson
Published by: HQ Digital
Publication date: February 21st 2020
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
An emotional, compelling page-turner from your next romance obsession, Shann McPherson, about the power of friendship and finding love where you least expect it.
When Alice ‘Murph’ Murphy’s beloved mother died, she promised to keep the family bakery in Graceville, Georgia afloat—even if it meant letting her high-school sweetheart, Nash Harris, go. For years, Murph has been biding her time, waiting for Nash to come back for her.
So when he strolls into Piece O’ Cake, Murph’s heart skips a beat—until he hands her an invitation to his wedding… There are painful secrets in both their pasts that only the two of them share, and Murph can’t bear the thought of Nash belonging to someone else.
There’s only one thing Murph can think of to do: fake a relationship with local bar owner and old friend Harley Shaw to remind Nash of what he’s losing, and win him back for good.
Nash is Murph’s best friend, a vivid reminder of her childhood and all the things she’s lost—but the more time Murph and Harley spend together, the more the lines between real and pretend begin to blur. Can Murph choose between the one who got away and the one who never left—and heal her aching heart?
EXCERPT:
I push my glasses up my nose for the millionth time, and while holding my breath and with one eye narrowed, I wipe a tiny smudge of frosting from the silver turntable holding Mr. and Mrs. Robertson’s fiftieth wedding anniversary cake. It may have taken me two full days and most of last night, but I’ve finally finished. Exhaling the breath I’ve been holding for a beat too long, I take a step back to really appreciate my craftsmanship. Four layers of lemon and blueberry perfection, covered in a fluffy whipped buttercream frosting, decorated with beautiful red roses, delicate peonies, and a smattering of baby’s breath, all of which have been hand-piped by yours truly.
I place a hand on my hip, smiling proudly. “Alice Murphy, once again you’ve outdone yourself,” I whisper under my breath, mentally high-fiving myself.
The bell above the door to the shop jingles, pulling me from my musings, and I walk through from the kitchen to the front of the store, still smiling at the thought of my latest masterpiece.
“Welcome to Piece O’ Cake,” I sing in a cheerful customer service voice. “How can I help yo—” Stopping dead in my tracks, my eyes go wide as I gawp at the unexpected figure standing in the middle of the shop. He’s shadowed by the afternoon sun shining in through the windows, backlighting him to nothing more than a darkened silhouette, and I blink hard, unsure whether or not I’m imagining things. But then he speaks. And I would know that voice anywhere. This is definitely not my imagination playing tricks on me.
“Hey, Murph.” The shadow takes a step forward, coming in to the glow of the overhead lights, and I’m immediately enamored by that all too familiar grin.
“N-Nash?” I gasp.
His smile is bright and those eyes. I’d remember those eyes anywhere after spending such a big part of my life dreaming about them.
“Oh my God!” I scream, covering my mouth with trembling hands until I finally come to, ripping off my apron before practically throwing myself over the counter. Jumping up, I wrap my arms around his neck, and emotion gets the better of me as I stand there in the familiarity of his warm embrace with tears of happiness streaming down my cheeks.
He’s here.
The love of my life.
He’s home.

Author Bio:
With big dreams of being a published author since she was an eleven-year-old girl writing Beverly Hills 90210 fan fiction before fan fiction was even a thing, Shann McPherson has been writing angsty, contemporary romances for most of her thirty-something years.
Living in sunny Queensland, Australia, when she’s not writing Shann enjoys making memories with her husband and cheeky toddler son, drinking wine, and singing completely off-key to One Direction’s entire discography.

XBTBanner1
Read more »

Release Day Blitz: Fragmented Loyalty (HORNET: Class Alpha) by Tonya Burrows

FragmentedLoyalty_releaseblitz

Today we have the release blitz for FRAGMENTED LOYALTY by Tonya Burrows! Check it out and be sure to order your copy today!

FragmentedLoyalty_500

Title: Fragmented Loyalty

Author: Tonya Burrows

Genre: Contemporary Romance

About FRAGMENTED LOYALTY:

All I want is to leave my past of criminal hacking behind. Oh, and ditch the blackmailer who has been dogging my every move for the last three years. The plan: Hack my way into being part of Class Alpha, a training program for a secretive organization that rescues hostages the government can’t or won’t go after. Save the world and make enough money to pay back my blackmailer—solves all my problems, right? The complication: Sweet, nerdy, and unbearably sexy Eric “Harvard” Physick. Harvard is my ideal man, but he’s also my instructor. Seriously a no-go, except we can’t seem to keep our hands off each other. My blackmailer isn’t willing to let me off the hook, though, and a series of freak accidents—deadly accidents—sends Class Alpha into a tailspin. And the more I get to know Harvard, I start to realize his past is just as troubled as mine. Am I the cause of this chaos...or is he?

Order Your Copy Today:

Universal Buy Link

Amazon | Apple US | Apple CA | Apple UK | Apple AU | Kobo US | Kobo CA | Kobo UK | B&N US | Google Play


Exclusive Excerpt:

A finger poked my ribs from the table behind me, and, face blazing, I refocused on Jean-Luc at the front of the room. I’d been so caught up in fantasizing about Harvard, I’d completely missed the last ten minutes of the lesson. Even worse, it had been obvious enough that Wolfe felt he had to intervene. Excuse me while I melt into a puddle of red-hot embarrassment. My only saving grace was that Harvard hadn’t noticed. Everyone else had, and I’d get major flak from all of the guys later, but Harvard had been too absorbed in the lesson. Yay for hyper-focused nerd boys! “Hey,” Wolfe whispered and nudged me again. He pretended to wipe drool from his mouth. “You got a little something…” I shot him the bird. “Keep it up, Wolfey. I’ll send your browser history to your mother.” “Go ahead.” He flashed a grin. “I erased everything incriminating.” Thoroughly amused, I raised a brow. “You think I can’t find erased data? Oh, you poor, naive luddite.” His grin dropped away. I returned my attention to the front of the room, but by that point, the lesson was completely lost on me. I was just biding time until class ended—but then I noticed Jean-Luc had stopped speaking. The room had gone completely silent, save for an evil villain laugh that started soft and grew in volume. I looked up at the whiteboard. The projection screen had gone black. An 8-bit video game character with blinking red eyes filled the screen. Underneath it flashed the words LET’S START THE GAME.

About the Author:

tonyab-300x200 Tonya Burrows wrote her first romance at age 13 and hasn't put down her pen since. Originally from a small town in Western New York, she suffers from a bad case of wanderlust and usually ends up moving someplace new every few years. As of now, she lives in the Pacific Northwest with The Boyfriend, a diva schnoodle, a plucky pug-mix, and #writercat. When she's not writing about hunky military heroes, Tonya can usually be found kayaking, hiking, or road tripping across the country. She also enjoys painting and B grade disaster movies.

Connect with Tonya:

Facebook | Facebook Group | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Bookbub | Amazon | Goodreads | Newsletter

Read more »

Book Blitz & Giveaway: To Plant a Single Seed (A Short Story) by Kelsey Ketch

Read more »

Book Blitz & Giveaway: Forever Summer by Nicole Bea

Monday, February 17, 2020


Forever Summer
Nicole Bea
Published by: The Wild Rose Press
Publication date: February 24th 2020
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Morrigan Westhaver isn’t convinced anything could make her forget her abusive ex-boyfriend—not even if she travels all the way from her home in Michigan to her father’s ranch in Alabama. Saved text messages and voicemails haunt her life with poisonous words and crippling self-doubt, but she can’t seem to let them go. On the ranch, much to her surprise, she immediately takes to a rescued horse, Stormy, as well as Levy, an attractive ranch hand. Will their understanding and gentle support help her heal, or is the damage too deep?
EXCERPT:
“We could have texted if you wanted to talk,” I remind him, patting the spot on the bed where my phone has slipped down to.
He pulls an elastic band from his wrist and snaps it into place around his hair, making a perfectly small bun before taking the towel, squeezing the excess water from the style, and taking a seat at the edge of my bed.
“You’re trying to make it sound like you don’t want me here, but I know you do. You wouldn’t have let me in otherwise, and you wouldn’t have kissed me this afternoon.” There’s a pause, the night dripping in and our faces drawing closer. “Do you believe in love at first sight, Morrigan?” His voice hangs heavy and warm in the bedroom air.
The question might be a rhetorical one, but I feel compelled to answer because I think I gave a shit answer the first time he asked me the question.
“I used to,” I reply softly, a whispered lilt to my voice that matches his own. “You know, before.” I tuck a loose strand of hair behind my ear.
“That’s interesting.” He clasps his hands together and rests them between his thighs. His eyes tell me that isn’t the answer he wanted. “You stopped believing in love at first sight when I finally started.”


Author Bio:
NICOLE BEA is a short story author and novelist who primarily focuses on contemporary teen fiction. An avid storyteller since childhood, she has honed her skills through a variety of educational programs including management, sociology, legal studies, and cultural diversity in the workplace, most recently engaging in coursework about communication for technologists. In addition to writing for young adults, Nicole is also a technical writer for a global manufacturer of CPAP masks, machines, and other products that manage sleep-disordered breathing.
When she isn't busy updating her manuscript portfolio or catching up on her To Be Read pile, Nicole can usually be found gardening, horseback riding, or pursuing her new hobby of learning to cook. She and her husband share their home in Eastern Canada with a collection of multi-colored cats and a lifetime's worth of books.

XBTBanner1
Read more »

Book Blitz & Giveaway: Dingo (Devil's Fury MC, #1) by Harley Wylde


Dingo
Harley Wylde
(Devil’s Fury MC)
Published by: Changeling Press
Publication date: February 14th 2020
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance
Meiling – All I’ve ever known was pain. My life has been far from a fairytale. No parents. No friends. Just an endless nightmare that I can’t wake from. Until the day a man offered me his hand and promised to keep me safe. I’ve never trusted anyone before, but there’s something about him. Maybe it’s insane, but I know he won’t hurt me, and when he puts his arms around me, for the first time in my life I feel loved.
Dingo – I’ve always had a soft spot for women and kids in trouble. One look at Meiling, and I knew I had to protect her at any cost. The beautiful girl with the wounded soul. After all she’s suffered, all I want is to make her smile, make her feel secure, and give her a chance to find happiness. But first, I need to take out the men and women responsible for hurting her. It might get ugly, and messy, but they don’t call me Dingo for nothing. I’m a crazy bastard and I won’t stop until she’s safe. I just didn’t count on falling for her along the way.
Warning: Meiling’s past isn’t pretty. Dingo and Meiling’s story deals with issues of human trafficking, bureaucratic corruption, and vigilante justice. This book contains darker themes that may trigger some readers.
EXCERPT:
“Sit right here, sugar. I’ll get Beau to make you something to eat.”
Once I made sure she would stay put, and the others would remain at their table, I went to the bar and spoke to Beau. He kept watching Mei, concern for her evident by the haunted look in his eyes and his jerky motions. It was like he wanted to go to her, but wasn’t sure how she’d take it. I’d never seen him like this before, and I wondered if there was something more between them. My stomach churned at the thought, which was ridiculous. I’d only laid eyes on her today. It wasn’t like she was mine.
“Is she… will she be all right?” Beau asked. “I didn’t know she was in that place.”
“She’s important to you,” I said, hoping he’d offer up more information. All I knew was that he’d known Mei when he was younger. He hadn’t given us much more when he’d asked the club for help getting her away from the Ruby Slipper.
“Mei’s a part of my past, but I never should have left her. Maybe if I’d found a way to go back for her, then she wouldn’t have ended up…” He clamped his mouth shut, but I heard the unspoken words just the same. She wouldn’t have become a prostitute.
“Beau, you can’t blame yourself. When you came here, you were just a kid. Hell, you’re still a kid. If you’d gone after her, who’s to say you wouldn’t be the one whoring yourself out?” I said what I thought he needed to hear, but it made me wonder if he was right. Had Mei ended up where she did because he’d left her behind? What exactly had he been running from?
He winced and looked away, but it made me wonder about his life before he found the club. Or rather, before Grizzly found him. The old man did have a habit of bringing home strays. It’s how he’d ended up with his daughters, and I had no doubt that when he ran across another kid who needed help, he’d bring them home too. It was just his way. It was part of what pissed me off so much about how they’d handled Mei when she’d arrived today, and why I’d intervened when I did. I still didn’t know what the fuck was going on. I’d have never thought Demon or Grizzly would be like that with a woman in need.
“She needs food and clothes,” I said. “You handle the food, and I’ll send someone after some clothing for her.”
“I don’t think she has money for that kind of thing.”
I narrowed my gaze at him. As if I’d expected her to pay? It was obvious she’d been struggling, and had taken a trip through hell along the way. I wasn’t a big enough asshole to make her pay for stuff she hadn’t even asked for, and the fact Beau thought that made me want to put my fist through his face, but I refrained — for Mei’s sake. I still didn’t know how close the two of them had been, and I didn’t want to upset her.
“Just make the fucking food, Prospect.”
He dropped his gaze and gave a nod before heading into the kitchen. I motioned over another Prospect and reached for a piece of paper and pen from behind the bar. I scribbled Mei’s sizes and made a few notes of specifically what I wanted him to purchase, then pulled out a wad of cash from my wallet.
“Henry, I want you to take this and buy what’s on the list. Not a damn thing that isn’t on there, understood?” I asked, handing him the money and paper.
“Got it, Dingo.” He shifted from foot to foot. “Where do I take it once I get back?”
I looked over at Mei and then the officers at the table. The way Demon watched her had me clenching my teeth. No fucking way I was letting her out of my sight. Well, not unless they ordered me to hand her over, and even then, I wasn’t sure I’d be able to. She was young and defenseless. Some caveman piece of me demanded that I beat my chest and warn the others off, let them know she was mine. Except she wasn’t.
“Bring it to my place,” I said.
“You got it.”


Author Bio:
Harley is the international bestselling author of the Dixie Reapers and Devil's Boneyard series.
When Harley is writing, her motto is the hotter the better. Off the charts sex, commanding men, and the women who can't deny them. If you want men who talk dirty, are sexy as hell, and take what they want, then you've come to the right place.
Harley Wylde is the "wilder" side of award-winning science fiction/paranormal romance author Jessica Coulter Smith. For fans of Gay Erotic Fantasy Romance, Harley/Jessica also writes as Dulce Dennison.
Check out Harley's other books, and read some random facts about the author, at harleywylde.com.
Follow Harley on Amazon to be notified of new releases, or sign up for her newsletter.

XBTBanner1
Read more »

Blog Tour, Giveaway & Review: The Seventh Sun (The Age of the Seventh Sun, #1) by Lani Forbes

Saturday, February 15, 2020




Title: The Seventh Sun 

Series: The Age of the Seventh Sun, #1

Author: Lani Forbes 

Genre: Young-Adult, Fantasy

Publication Date: February 18th, 2020 by Blackstone Publishing 

Format: Hardcover

Source: I received this book by FFBC Blog Tour in exchange for an honest review.


Rating:



Map







Thrust into leadership upon the death of his emperor father, young Prince Ahkin feels completely unready for his new position. Though his royal blood controls the power of the sun, he's now responsible for the lives of all the Chicome people. And despite all Ahkin's efforts, the sun is fading--and the end of the world may be at hand.

For Mayana, the only daughter of the Chicome family whose blood controls the power of water, the old emperor's death may mean that she is next. Prince Ahkin must be married before he can ascend the throne, and Mayana is one of six noble daughters presented to him as a possible wife. Those who are not chosen will be sacrificed to the gods.

Only one girl can become Ahkin's bride. Mayana and Ahkin feel an immediate connection, but the gods themselves may be against them. Both recognize that the ancient rites of blood that keep the gods appeased may be harming the Chicome more than they help. As a bloodred comet and the fading sun bring a growing sense of dread, only two young people may hope to change their world.

Rich in imagination and romance, and based on the legends and history of the Aztec and Maya people, The Seventh Sun brings to vivid life a world on the edge of apocalyptic disaster






***  I received this book by FFBC Blog Tour in exchange for an honest review, thank you to FFBC Blog Tour and  Blackstone Publishing for allowing me to read and review The Seventh Sun! ***


What can I say about this fantastic and amazing book when I first saw The Seventh Son on the blog tour and read the synopsis I had to join the FFBC Blog Tour. I just love the sound about this book and it checks every mark on what I love in books, plus the cover is gorgeous as well. As you can tell I love and enjoyed everything about The Seventh Sun, I don't want to go into too much detail about this fantastic book without being too spoiled. But I will tell you that I loved everything about The Seventh Sun, this book is set in a post-apocalyptic fantasy world that is base off of the legends and history of Aztec and Maya people. 


And Oh boy what a deeply rich and complex fantasy world that The Seventh Sun is built-in, especially the complex, amazing and very diverse characters that were in The Seventh Sun. I don't know the history or legends of the Aztec and Maya people but I have a feeling that Mrs. Lani Forbes did a piece of great background information about the history and legends history of the Aztec and Mayan people. The writing style was very detailed and amazingly captivating that I just couldn't put this book down. I tell you the description of the city, the characters especially the food in The Seventh Sun was beautifully described. I felt every emotion that each character was feeling like I was there beside them and I tell you my emotions where everywhere's.


 Especially what Mayana was going through on what she believes in and what she thought was right but her people and her father judge her for not doing the sacrifice rituals. I won't tell you what the sacrifice rituals are about because that is a spoiler, but I will tell you if you want to know what the sacrifice rituals are about you can always check out the history of Aztec and Maya people legends online. But I was totally on the Mayana side and was rooted for her until the very end of the book. I tell you after reading the last page that I wanted the next book already.


 Now there is a cliffhanger at the end of The Seventh Sun which I can't wait to get the next book of The Age of the Seventh Sun series next year, but I also I am ready to read the next journey and test that Mayana and Ahkin will have in the next book. All and all I loved and enjoyed The Seventh Sun so much I can't wait to continue reading the next books of The Age of the Seventh Sun series.














Giveaway

Prize: Win (1) of (2) signed hardcover of THE SEVENTH SUN by Lani Forbes, a Worry Doll, a button and a bookmark (US/CAN Only)

 Starts: 12th, February 2020
Ends: 26th, February 2020





Tour Schedule








Lani Forbes (Author)



Lani Forbes is the daughter of a librarian and an ex-drug smuggling surfer, which explains her passionate love of the ocean and books. A California native whose parents live in Mexico, she now resides in the Pacific Northwest where she stubbornly wears flip flops no matter how cold it gets. She teaches middle school math and science and proudly calls herself a nerd and Gryffindor. She is also an award-winning member of Romance Writers of America and the Society for Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators.

Author's Sites









Read more »

Book Blitz & Giveaway: Finding Forever (Missing Pieces, #4) by R.J. Gray, Rachel Blake & Stella Moore

Friday, February 14, 2020


Finding Forever
Rachel Blake, RJ Gray, Stella Moore
(Blushing Books Publications)
Publication date: February 10th 2020
Genres: Adult, Mystery, Romance
Three sisters, separated at birth, identical down to their DNA. For over thirty years, they lived without knowledge of the each other’s existence until one fateful night changed everything.
Now, a new revelation is testing the bonds of their relationships. Hidden family secrets and broken promises threaten to tear them apart and destroy the family they’ve just begun to build. And it’s not just their relationships with each other on the line.
Can they work past their differences and face these trials together? Or will these three sisters become nothing more than strangers who happen to look alike once again?
Publisher’s Note: The conclusion of the Missing Pieces saga contains mystery, secrets, and a theme of power exchange.
Previous books in the series:
EXCERPT:
Rowena turned back, resting her chin on the duvet. “I need this. We need this connection.” Hiding her smirk in the blanket, she let the next words fall from her lips, “Do your worst.”
His first spank connected as his chuckle bounced around the room. “Be careful what you wish for.” He focused first on her right cheek, smacking the same spot until she started to squirm and whine before moving to the left to give that cheek the same treatment.
When he paused, she clenched her cheeks. She knew her sit spot were about to receive the same treatment only to be followed by her thighs. “Bear?”
“Yeah, sunshine?” Without words, she held the hand that wasn’t pinned to the side of her body back. “Need some help, baby?”
“Please.” She relaxed as soon as his long fingers wrapped around her wrist securing it to the small of her back. “Okay, I’m ready now.”
Octavius continued his assault as she knew he would. It didn’t take nearly as many smacks on her sit spots to get her squirming this time, but he didn’t stop. Instead, he gave them the same treatment as he did her full ass.
It was when he moved to her thighs that the struggle to stay still became all too real. Gone, was the good girl who wanted him to hold her hand for comfort; in her place, was the wife who suddenly wasn’t so sure she wanted or needed this spanking.
“You have your safeword. Use it or settle down, baby.”
The final word he spoke broke her. Tears she had previously thought all cried out raced down her face. “Stop calling me that. Fucking stop.” A bitter laugh left her lips as a particularly hard swat connected, her reprimand for the curse. “I can’t give you a family, I sure as hell don’t deserve the pet name.”

Author Bio:
Rachel Blake:
I have been writing since high school, but truthfully never thought it would go any further than a few short stories hidden deep within my laptop. It wasn't until my family moved away from everything we knew that I started writing stuff worth sharing. Now, my husband, three kids, our plethora of animals, and I live in the Midwest. When I'm not running around like your stereotypical soccer mom (sans the minivan) I am writing the type of stories I have always secretly treasured. Love stories with a sexy alpha male and a strong submissive female.
RJ Gray:
RJ Gray romanticizes life with a slightly kinky mind. She resides in Virginia with her husband, two young sons and naughty beagle lab puppy. Her hobbies include whipping up delicious meals, capturing life's beauty with her camera and spending time in the strong arms of her husband of fifteen years, Bomb Dom.
RJ brings her over two decades of experience in BDSM and domestic discipline to the page, writing books with dominant alpha males and feisty, stubborn females. RJ holds college degrees in both social work and criminology, topics that can often be found in her novels. Having spent the past fifteen years married to a military bomb technician, RJ has a passion for military and veteran causes.
Stella Moore:
Stella has been writing spanking fiction off and on for years, but she's just recently taken the plunge into writing full on novels. She is from the school of "write what you know", and her husband is always willing (sometimes too willing!) to assist with any research she needs.

XBTBanner1
Read more »