Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Review: Here and Gone by Haylen Beck


Title: Here and Gone

Series: Stand-Alone

Author: Haylen Beck

Genre: Adult, Suspense, Thriller, Mystery

Publication Date: June 20th 2017 by Crown Publishing Group

Format: Hardback

Source: I received this book from the Blogging for Books program in exchange for an honest review.


Rating:









Here and Gone is a gripping, wonderfully tense suspense thriller about a mother's desperate fight to recover her stolen children from corrupt authorities.

It begins with a woman fleeing through Arizona with her kids in tow, trying to escape an abusive marriage. When she's pulled over by an unsettling local sheriff, things soon go awry and she is taken into custody. Only when she gets to the station, her kids are gone. And then the cops start saying they never saw any kids with her, that if they're gone than she must have done something with them...

Meanwhile, halfway across the country a man hears the frenzied news reports about the missing kids, which are eerily similar to events in his own past. As the clock ticks down on the search for the lost children, he too is drawn into the desperate fight for their return.








Omgosh I absolutely and totally loved and enjoyed Here and Gone, it was just a perfect suspenseful thriller book for me. I tell you from the first chapter I know I was going to really love this amazing book, because it start off really good from the start. And than I was on my toes while reading through this whole book and cheering on Audra to never give up hope and stay strong. And I really hope she never break under pressure and on everything she was going through with the horrible and cold hearted villains in this book which I will not name them because, I so despise them plus it would be spoiler. I was really hoping that something really bad and ugly happen to the villains and something big does happen at the end with the horrible and cold blooded villains. That had me bouncing on my chair to read more. But I will tell you I was really satisfied on how everything went down at the end you all just have too read and find out what I am talking about. Because the ending will leave you with an amazing and glorify feeling that justice was done right. And Audra is really a very strong and kickass mom that she will tear you from limb to limb to get her kids back. Audra was absolutely a strong fighter and proudly showed everybody that she was not a bad mom or killer at the end of the book. I tell you I could of done a victory dance in my living room reading that scene I just love every min of it! All and all Here and Gone was a fantastic book for me that I will most definitely want to read more books by Haylen Beck in the near future!

*** I received this book through Blogging For Books Program in exchanged for an honest review, thank you so much to Crown Publishing Group for the opportunity to read and review Here and Gone! ***















I have been a musician, a composer, a teacher, a salesman, a film extra, a baker and a hand double for a well known Irish comedian, but I'm currently a partner in a successful multimedia design business in the wilds of Northern Ireland.

I have published short stories in Thuglit, Electric Spec and Every Day Fiction. THE TWELVE is my first novel, and will be published in the UK and Commonwealth by Harvill Secker, an imprint of Random House, on July 2nd 2009. It will be published in the USA as THE GHOSTS OF BELFAST by Soho Press, New York, and by Random House Kodansha in Japan.


















Read more »

Waiting On" Wednesday #72: Wires and Nerve, Volume 2: Gone Rogue (Wires and Nerve #2) by Marissa Meyer (Author), Stephen Gilpin (Illustrations), Douglas Holgate (Illustrator)










"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill At Breaking The Spine , that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating





 

What too participate? Grab the logo post your own WOW entry on your blog and leave your link below. 





Here Is My WOW  Pick For This Week:


Wires and Nerve, Volume 2: Gone Rogue (Wires and Nerve #2)

By Marissa Meyer (Author), Stephen Gilpin (Illustrations), Douglas Holgate (Illustrator)

Publication Date: January 30th 2018 by Feiwel & Friends







Iko – an audacious android and best friend to the Lunar Queen Cinder – has been tasked with hunting down Alpha Lysander Steele, the leader of a rogue band of bioengineered wolf-soldiers who threaten to undo the tenuous peace agreement between Earth and Luna. Unless Cinder can reverse the mutations that were forced on them years before, Steele and his soldiers plan to satisfy their monstrous appetites with a massacre of the innocent people of Earth.

And to show he’s serious, Steele is taking hostages.

Cinder and Kai, Scarlet and Wolf, Cress and Thorne, and Winter and Jacin all feature in this epic new battle. But it is Iko who must face her deepest fears when she uncovers the truth about her own unusual programming.







Ohh I absolutely love graphic novels and I loved and enjoyed the first volume of Wires and Nerves, that I so can't wait to read this book when it comes out in January 2018!






     



Read more »

Tuesday, September 19, 2017

Release Day Celebration & Giveaway: The Missing by Jerico Lenk

 
Welcome to the Release Day Celebration for
The Missing by Jerico Lenk
presented by Month9Books!
Make sure you grab your copy today!
 
Happy Book Birthday, Jerico!
 
 
Dark proclivities, excess, and outlandish curiosities prevail in 1890's London. Around the city, a battle rages between the living and the dead. The Black Cross, tasked to keep the peace, are quickly losing ground. 

Sixteen-year-old Willow Winchester, lives life as a boy called "Will" in his father's house of distinguished ladies, all but invisible to the wealthy Londoners who frequent. It's an easy ruse since his mother's death left his father's attention to fall upon business matters. But this isn't his only secret. 

When Will unwittingly becomes involved in a Black Cross ghost hunt, his uncanny ability to sense supernatural beings comes to light and the Black Cross wants him in their service. Suddenly, Will's free to be himself. 

But such freedom will come with a price, as Will fights for the acceptance of the only father he's ever known.

Now, part of a team of misfits and unlikely allies, Will finds he isn't the only one keeping secrets. Someone does not want him to uncover the truth about those who aren’t just missing from the world of the living, but missing from history itself.
Can he find the Missing before he ends up becoming one of them?

The Missing by Jerico Lenk Publication Date: October 10, 2017 Publisher: Month9Books
| Amazon |

 
 
Undergraduate studying Creative Writing, Classics, Russian and Western European History. Unabashed weeb probably burning incense and drinking too much coffee at this very moment. Out for queer representation and great sex hair. Beyond ready for the upcoming Vampire Chronicles TV series.
Lenk writes Young Adult/New Adult, spec fiction, poetry, and screenplays. He is currently unagented.
His poems have appeared at/in USF Tampa’s Thread Literary Inquiry, biannual 6x6 creative writing showcase, and placed second in National Poetry Month 2015; Tethered By Letters’ F(r)iction Spring 2016 poetry contest finalist; winner of the 2017 Bettye Newman Poetry award.
 
 
Complete the Rafflecopter below for a chance to win!
Read more »

Release Day Blitz: My Image of You by Melanie Moreland

Today we are sharing the release of MY IMAGE OF YOU by Melanie Moreland. This is a contemporary romance title from Loveswept. Check out the links below to purchase it on all platforms.

 

Purchase Now

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | Kobo | GooglePlay | BAM

--------------------------

My Image of You by Melanie Moreland

Available Now!

Blurb:

A globe-trotting bad boy chases the one that got away in this addictive novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Contract.
My name is Adam Kincaid, and I’m the best at what I do. After losing my parents, I decided to follow in their footsteps, and now I’m the most daring freelance photographer in the world. Maybe some think I’m a loner, but I don’t care. All that matters is the shot: braving danger and devastation in search of a single image with the power to tell someone’s story. But as good as I am, accidents happen—and thank god for that, because it’s what leads me to her. . . . Alexandra Robbins. My nurse. My savior. With her fiery red hair and crystal-clear blue eyes, the camera loves her . . . and I have to have her. We soon find that we’re perfect together. We just fit, physically and emotionally. And yet something isn’t right. Something from her past is haunting her, and no matter what I do to help her break free, I lose her. Today is the day I try to win her back. Not only do I need an explanation, I need her in my bed once again. I don’t just want a damn picture—I want her. Because what we have is a love that never fades away. . . . This sexy standalone novel has no cheating, no cliffhangers, and a guaranteed HEA—but Adam works hard to get it! Includes an excerpt from another Loveswept title.

Purchase Now

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | Kobo | GooglePlay | BAM

Advance praise for My Image of You

My Image of You is a sweet, soulful romance. Beauty, heart and breathtaking passion all come together to deliver a brilliant read.”—Lauren Rowe, USA Today bestselling author of The Club Series “Epic tale of soulmates fighting for their HEA. You will cheer for Adam and Alex, you will pray for their happy ending and you will allow their love story to consume you. A gripping and emotional story of two lovers whose broken halves make each other whole.”—E. S. Carter, author of the Love by Numbers series “Melanie Moreland delivers an enchanting story that is also complex, surprising and deeply heartfelt. Five stars.”—Claudia Burgoa, author of Until I Fall “I devoured this book in one satisfying sitting. Five stars!”—Suzanne Carroll, author of Over the Edge “Simply put, My Image of You is a book that says so much, so beautifully, it’s near impossible not to be moved by it.” - B. Cranford, author of The Brightest Star. "My Image Of You is such a heartfelt, captivating story. The characters - Adam and Ally - have such deep love that you feel as you read and the story keeps you glued to your Kindle. I found myself reading into the wee hours. My Image of You is another addicting and wonderful story by Moreland.” - SL Scott, author of Savior

---------------------

AUTHOR INFORMATION:

Melanie Moreland - Bio:


New York Times/USA Today bestselling author Melanie Moreland, lives a happy and content life in a quiet area of Ontario with her beloved husband of twenty-seven-plus years and their rescue cat Amber. Nothing means more to her than her friends and family, and she cherishes every moment spent with them. While seriously addicted to coffee, and highly challenged with all things computer-related and technical, she relishes baking, cooking, and trying new recipes for people to sample. She loves to throw dinner parties, and also enjoys travelling, here and abroad, but finds coming home is always the best part of any trip. Melanie delights in a good romance story with some bumps along the way, but is a true believer in happily ever after. When her head isn’t buried in a book, it is bent over a keyboard, furiously typing away as her characters dictate their creative storylines to her, often with a large glass of wine keeping her company.
AUTHOR LINKS:

Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Newsletter

  InkSlinger PR Blogger Banner - New
Read more »

Teaser Reveal: Reveal Me (Steele Brothers #5) by Jennifer Probst

 

Today we are sharing some teasers for Reveal Me by Jennifer Probst. The book is part of her Steele Brothers series and will be released on September 26! This series also includes the titles Catch Me, Play Me, Dare Me, and Beg Me. Below are links for each title in the series.

 

REVEAL ME (Steele Brothers, #5)

Releasing September 26, 2017

PRE-ORDER ON AMAZON

 
What’s your secret desire for one perfect night?
Welcome to the mysterious FANTA-C agency where everything, and anything goes…
REVEAL ME: One Masquerade Ball. One Chance to Reveal Secret Desires. One Fiery Encounter. One Shot at Love. Are you ready to reveal all? A Man Who Knows What He Wants… Leonardo Sinclair never expects to fall for the fierce yet vulnerable woman he meets at his friend’s masquerade party, or for her to disappear without a trace. When his cousins sign him up with the mysterious FANTA-C agency and he finds her back in his bed, this time Leo’s not about to let her go. But can he convince her she’s safe to reveal every hidden part of her soul before he loses her again? A Woman Ready to Explore her Desires… Scarlett Rose has never been tempted to explore her wilder side, but after years of being humiliated and emotionally abused by her ex, she’s finally ready to embrace her true self. Safely hidden behind a mask, she attends a ball held in the famous Blasphemy club and meets a man who not only embraces, but demands her complete surrender. Once the mask is stripped away, will she be brave enough to trust him? Or will fear of reliving the past keep her from a whole new future? A Special Crossover Release with Laura Kaye’s Theirs to Take. A New Book in Blasphemy Series: Two Hot Fantasies. One Night at Blasphemy. Coming September 26, 2017

 

THE PREVIOUS BOOKS IN THE SERIES

Catch Me (Steele Brothers, #1)

Purchase on Amazon

CATCH ME Synopsis:

Rick Steele has avoided relationships since he caught his fiancée cheating, but when his friend refers him to the exclusive agency, FANTA-C to experience the night of his dreams, he's not prepared for his emotional and physical reaction to his date. Tara shows him a raw passion and honesty he’s never encountered. For the first time, Rick wants more than one night, but he needs to catch her first...

Tara Denton escaped a brutal past and needs one night with a stranger to get beyond her sexual and emotional limitations. On the brink of recovering her strength and independence, she wants nothing to do with a relationship. But Rick Steele does more than rock her body…he rocks her heart. Tara has to make a choice, but is she ready to get caught?

Play Me (Steele Brothers, #2)

Purchase on Amazon

PLAY ME Synopsis:

Professional gambler Sloane Keller is tired of dating weak willed men and longs to meet a man who challenges her dominant personality and forces her to submit. As the Queen of Cards, she’s used to making her own rules and craves the excitement of Vegas. But her inner heart cries out for someone who can be her match, both inside the casino and in the bedroom.

As the new dealer in town, Roman Steele is burnt out on women looking for a quick penny and a man to follow. He craves a woman with fire in her soul and a keen intellect who can challenge him. When his brother recommends the exclusive agency, FANTA-C to give him one perfect night, Rome is amazed at the complicated woman who challenges both his body and soul. But when the evening is over, will she be gutsy enough to offer him forever?

Dare Me (Steele Brothers, #3)

Purchase on Amazon

DARE ME Synopsis:

As a military leader back from the war, and the youngest of his two dominant older brothers, Rafe Steele struggles with a secret. He craves surrender in the bedroom under the controlled hands of a Dominatrix. When his brothers offer him an experience through the exclusive agency, FANTA-C, he jumps at the chance to experience one perfect night. After one experiment, he’s sure he’ll be able to move on. But he never counted on Summer Preston to strip down his walls and make him want more so much more...

An elementary school teacher with a girl next door, fresh face, Summer is constantly barraged by men who want to take care of her, but she longs to meet a strong man who can handle her dominant ways in the bedroom. Trapped in her own storybook life, she books a one-night stand to finally experience her fantasy. But she never counted on Rafe Steele to push her boundaries in both the bedroom...and her heart.

 

Beg Me (Steele Brothers, #4)

Purchase on Amazon

BEG ME Synopsis:

Remington Steele comes to Vegas to be with his brothers and try to get over the one woman he's never been able to forget. As childhood sweethearts, she hadn't been able to handle his Dominant tendencies, choosing to run away without a good-bye. But when he's suddenly face to face with Cara Winters, all grown up and finally ready to be his, Remington needs to make his own choice. To leave the past behind forever, or forgive and be with the woman he's always loved?

Cara wasn't ready to be the type of woman Remington needed in his life, so she disappeared and broke his heart. But she's changed, and is ready to embrace the woman she always craved to be. She begs him to take her for one night, and Remington finally agrees. Will they get a second chance at love, or are the scars from their past too deep to heal?

   

AUTHOR INFORMATION:

Jennifer Probst Jennifer Probst - Bio: Jennifer Probst wrote her first book at twelve years old. She bound it in a folder, read it to her classmates, and hasn’t stopped writing since. She took a short hiatus to get married, get pregnant, buy a house, get pregnant again, pursue a master’s in English Literature, and rescue two shelter dogs. Now she is writing again. She makes her home in Upstate New York with the whole crew. Her sons keep her active, stressed, joyous, and sad her house will never be truly clean. She is the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of sexy and erotic contemporary romance. She was thrilled her book, The Marriage Bargain, was ranked #6 on Amazon's Best Books for 2012. She loves hearing from readers. Visit her website for updates on new releases and her street team at www.jenniferprobst.com.

AUTHOR LINKS:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Newsletter

InkSlinger PR Blogger Banner - New
Read more »

Monday, September 18, 2017

Review: Saga, Vol. 1 (Saga #1) by Brian K. Vaughan (Writer), Fiona Staples (Artist)


Title: Saga, Vol. 1

Series: Saga #1

Author: Brian K. Vaughan (Writer), Fiona Staples (Artist)

Genre: Adult Graphic Novel,  Science Fiction & Fantasy

Publication Date: October 23rd 2012 by Image Comics

Format: Paperback

Source: Library


Rating:







When two soldiers from opposite sides of a never-ending galactic war fall in love, they risk everything to bring a fragile new life into a dangerous old universe.

From bestselling writer Brian K. Vaughan, Saga is the sweeping tale of one young family fighting to find their place in the worlds. Fantasy and science fiction are wed like never before in this sexy, subversive drama for adults.

Collecting: Saga 1-6







Holy Crap this was absolutely, utterly and totally freaking fantastic, that I can just kick myself for waiting so long to read this amazing graphic novel. It really does deserves all the hype it gets. Now since I've been getting into more graphic novel this year. I wanted to check out Saga I have always wanted to try this graphic novel for a very long time now. But I was really scared I would not love or enjoy it that much because of all the hype it was getting. Because there was one book I read that had been overhype on it and when I read it I was really disappointed about that book after I finish reading it. And I really dislike when an overly hype books does that to me. So I decided to wait until the hype died down on Saga too start reading it. And O-M-Gosh I am so glad and happy I check this graphic novel out from my library because I thoroughly love and enjoyed everything about it. Now I won't go into any details about Saga, because I think everybody knows what it is about. Plus I just don't now what too write down on my review without spoiling it for everybody. All I can say is please read this book it just pure brilliant! I absolutely love the writing style and the amazing graphics. Plus the plotline was really easy for me too follow it did not confuse me at all. All and all this will be one of my top favorite graphic novels that I absolutely love and enjoy. That I can not wait to read and continue on reading the rest of the volumes in the Saga series!
















Brian K. Vaughan (Writer)


Born in Cleveland in 1976, Brian K. Vaughan is the Eisner, Harvey, and Shuster Award-winning writer and co-creator of the critically acclaimed comics series Y: The Last Man, Runaways, and Ex Machina (picked as one of the ten best works of fiction of 2005 by Entertainment Weekly).

Recently named "Writer of the Year" by Wizard Magazine, and one of the “top ten comic writers of all time” by Comic Book Resources, Vaughan’s work has been featured and/or reviewed in countless mainstream media outlets, including The New York Times, MTV, National Public Radio, and feminist magazine Bust, which photographed him for their “Men We Love” issue (don’t ask).

As an undergraduate film student at New York University, Vaughan got his big break as part of Marvel’s Stanhattan Project, a workshop for aspiring comic book writers. In the ten years since, he has written nearly all of the major DC and Marvel characters, everyone from Batman to the X-Men.

In September of 2006, Vertigo released Vaughan’s first original graphic novel, Pride of Baghdad, lavishly illustrated by artist Niko Henrichon. Inspired by an unbelievable true story of four lions who escaped the Baghdad Zoo during Operation Iraqi Freedom, Pride is equal parts anthropomorphic adventure and Animal Farm-like parable about the ongoing conflict in Iraq, and was described as "the best novel so far" about the war by the UK's Telegraph.

Along with his creator-owned work, Vaughan is currently writing The Escapists, a Dark Horse miniseries inspired by Michael Chabon’s Pulitzer Prize-winning novel The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay, as well as a new Doctor Strange limited series for Marvel with artist Marcos Martin.

This summer, the new WGA member/CAA client transplanted his poor playwright wife to Los Angeles, where Vaughan is currently working on the screenplay adaptations of Y and Ex Machina for New Line Cinema, as well as other new creations in film and television.

His home on the web is www.bkvcomics.com, and he’s become the last aging hipster to get a MySpace page: www.myspace.com/briankvaughan



Fiona Staples (Artist)


Fiona Staples is a Canadian comic book artist known for her work on books such as North 40, DV8: Gods and Monsters, T.H.U.N.D.E.R. Agents and Saga. She has been cited as one of the best female artists working in the industry, and one of the best artists overall

















                       



Read more »

Review: Hawkeye, Volume 2: Little Hits (Hawkeye, Volume IV #2) by Matt Fraction (Writer), David Aja (Artist, #6 & #8-11), Francesco Francavilla (Art & Color, #10), Steve Lieber (Artist, #7), Jesse Hamm (Artist, #7), Annie Wu (Cover Art, #8), Matt Hollingsworth (Color Artist, #6-9 & #11), Chris Eliopoulos (Letterer)


Title: Hawkeye, Volume 2: Little Hits

Series: Hawkeye, Volume IV #2

Author: Matt Fraction (Writer), David Aja (Artist, #6 & #8-11), Francesco Francavilla (Art & Color, #10), Steve Lieber (Artist, #7), Jesse Hamm (Artist, #7), Annie Wu (Cover Art, #8), Matt Hollingsworth (Color Artist, #6-9 & #11), Chris Eliopoulos (Letterer)

Genre: Adult,  Graphic Novels Comics, Superheroes > Marvel 

Publication Date: July 10th 2013 by Marvel

Format: Paperback

Source: Library


Rating:








Writer Matt Fraction and artist David Aja returns to the most critically acclaimed comic of 2012, as ace archer Clint Barton faces the digital doomsday of - DVR-Mageddon! Then: Cherry's got a gun. And she looks good in it. And Hawkeye gets very, very distracted. Plus: Valentine's Day with the heartthrob of the Marvel Universe? This will be... confusing.

Marvel architect Matt Fraction continues his exciting, adventurous reinvention of the arrowed Avenger.

Collecting: Hawkeye 6-11
 






Ok this one was a little bit more better than the first volume for me, I really did love and enjoyed it much more better. I absolutely love Kate Bishop she is so badass, kickass and I totally love her sarcastic humor she has with Clint Barton aka Hawkeye. I really love the banter she has with him as well. Now I don't know how I feel about Clint Barton yet he is still a new to me super hero that I haven't read before. But there is one thing I can say that he is such a bad boy and womanizer, he has different females on his back all the time. I do not know why he is that way because I really haven't read his background before, which I should probably read more about him. I don't know which comic or graphic novel I should read first to learn more about Hawkeye's background. But I will most definitely will investigate more further about Hawkeye background, because Clint Barton is really an intriguing super hero that he is actually the first supper hero that I see that does not have any super powers that joined the avengers. Well there is Batman who doesn't have super powers either and I know there is a couple more heroes that doesn't have powers as well, but I just don't remember the other heroes yet. Like I said before I don't know a lot about the marvel universe so I really don't know or don't remember all of the heroes that are in the avengers team. But All and all I can't wait to read Hawkeye, Volume 3: L.A. Woman next and continue reading and learning more about both Hawkeye's life's and adventures!














Matt Fraction (Writer)

Before joining Marvel Comics, writer Matt Fraction had already established his reputation as an emerging new talent with his work on Last of the Independents. Fraction’s tale of a bank robbery gone wrong earned him a coveted “A” grade from Entertainment Weekly, as well as interest from Marvel. After taking on a short story assignment in the anthology title X-Men Unlimited, Fraction was handpicked to launch two of Marvel’s biggest projects for 2006: Punisher War Journal with artist Ariel Olivetti, and Immortal Iron Fist, with co-writer Ed Brubaker and artist David Aja. Both series met with overwhelming critical and fan acclaim, selling out their respective first issues within days of release. This led to two even bigger projects: The launching of Invincible Iron Man, a high-profile first issue premiering the same month as the blockbuster film; and Uncanny X-Men, written in tandem with Immortal Iron Fist partner Brubaker. In addition to his Marvel work, Fraction writes Casanova, an off-beat series illustrated by Gabriel Bá which recently moved to Marvel’s Icon imprint. He is also a talented filmmaker and graphic designer, heading up the MK12 firm with a worldwide client base that includes Adidas, MTV and Cartoon Network’s Adult Swim. Fraction remains one of Marvel’s most popular writers; other credits include The Order and Thor: Ages of Thunder.


 David Aja (Artist, #6 & #8-11

      David Aja (1977) is a Spanish comic book creator and illustrator, best known for his work on The Immortal Iron Fist and Hawkeye for Marvel comics.

He earned a five-year degree in Fine Arts (Design and Audiovisuals specialty). He has worked as an illustrator in press, magazines, books, design, publicity..., on many other series for Marvel such as Daredevil or Wolverine and he has produced covers for several titles across all major publishers.

He has won Eisner, Eagle, and Harvey Awards for his work.










   
     

Read more »